Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by a bedigan from houston tx

in main plaza next to cathedral ,

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you want old world charm and you are willing to sacrifice a lot of comforts this is the place for you. make sure that the room that you requested is the one you are getting ,I had to argue with reception about my room ,they wanted to give me something totally different from what I paid for .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gerry from Dallas, Texas

Great hotel overlooking the main square in Colima.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Courteous wait-staff, old-world ambience of room, corridors, and lobby, and the new elevator put in since our last stay three years ago.
Hotel gave us a fine second floor corner room overlooking the main square and a side street, with a balcony. We loved it! Service was impeccable, room was super-clean. All-in-all a wonderful experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Joanna from Canada

A *lovely* experience, but not for everyone ...

Posted Mar 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is my second stay here -- this time, for 5 nights. I asked specifically for a room with a window (last time, I didn't have one) & ended up with a breezy room perpendicular to the Cathedral. Well, the bells in the Cathedral often ring to call locals to church & they ring *loudly*, starting at 6:30am. The hotel itself overlooks the Town Square, a lovely spot to people watch, the young & old, & particularly on weekend evenings. I loved it -- purposely eating my dinner out on the patio, so to watch it all -- but it's not for everyone. It can just get loud -- and somewhat overwhelming if there is a music concert w/ a bad sound system. The one thing I found particularly hard to take, was the bed itself -- it was really hard! -- and I am not one to complain about this sort of thing. The staff were all *really* lovely, very helpful. For some reason, "credit cards" were touch-and-go (??) on both my stays, but there are plenty of banks around for cash (ATM in hotel, doesn't have PLUS option). You can* feel isolated being in the center of the city like this -- as there are better restaurants outside the immediate center, that would require a taxi ride -- but -- I would most definitely stay there again, simply for the vibrancy. Just prepare yourself for these idiosyncrasies ... it's nostalgic, but not an overly relaxing place....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Haydee from San Diego

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
It had the best location and view. In front of the main plaza where everything is at. Employees were very nice and helpful. Service couldn't have been any better. I mentioned to them the time i had to be at the airport, and that morning they gave me a call and they already had a cab waiting for me with out me asking them to do so. The room was clean and very comfortable. Also I did not have any issue with the internet. I would definitely stay there again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Three friends from Chicago and Sooke

Traditional

Posted Feb 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had 2 rooms in the quiet corridor overlooking the interior plaza. The hotel accommodated our request to change from front rooms overlooking the plaza. Rooms were spacious, baths were clean and the walk in shower was great. We ate several meals at the hotel - breakfast was a good mix of Mexican and American/Canadian styles. Hotel staff was very accommodating and many spoke very good English as well as Spanish. The location in the plaza is vibrant with pedestrians, traffic, and the Cathedral bells.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terry from Vancouver, BC

Colima - Historic Traditional - Splendid

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Beautiful historic architecture and d├ęcor. Pleasant service.
Cons: Food was good, but could be improved.
Location: Excellent location by the central city park.
Charming Mexican traditional hotel in the center of the city by the 'Zocalo' park. Excellent rooms, good service, (2) good restaurants, one with buffets. Good place to watch people stroll in the evening around the park.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Humberto from monterrey

Mexico

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was/is a very nice hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Bring good ear plugs

Posted Aug 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was lovely, the staff extremely helpful, the location in town on the Plaza was central BUT the Cathedral next to the Hotel started VERY loud bell ringing at 5:30am and continued every 15 minutes until 8am!!!!! I would ask for a room at the opposite back corner from the Cathedral because otherwise it is a very lovely place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by KAnderson

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2013 on Hotels.com