Ratings based on 1,132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Complaints!!!!

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Parking horrific!!! People were complaining due to the parking because of the club that's in the hotel and the additional space that they rent for banquets and it's not fair to the people that's staying there. The inside and the grounds is horrible for the price of 160 dollars for one night was absolutely not worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Niagara

Friendly staff made the rush of the big city okay.

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Close to restaurants, far from the hustle and bustle of DC. Good group of clients made for a comfortable stay.
Cons: Since we don't carry a cellphone, we couldn't call for a shuttle from the metro. Having a shuttle at ten after every hour would have been reassuring.
Location: From the (free) Smithsonian and monuments, the amazing variety of restaurants, the bus tours of the local points of interest, food trucks. So much!
After a hard day's riding, it was a real welcome sight to see the BW sign. A quick and efficient check-in had us in our room quickly. Quiet nights, great breakfasts and accommodating staff made the frenetic pace of the Metro and DC easier to navigate and the shuttle to and from the Metro station was a convenient touch. The hotel was under renovation and while some of the hallways were looking rough, the place was kept running smoothly by the vigilant manager and staff. A false alarm brought the firefighters and had us outside for a bit with the rest of the customers but the stairwells were immaculate right after that incident. Having the room tidied up every day was a treat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel was mediocre at best.

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Clean rooms and great breakfast. Also liked the pool.
Cons: If you advertise a service, make sure it works.
Location: There's a shopping center and fast food places plus a red lobster right down the road. The place also has a night club downstairs apparently.
Pros: Rooms are comfortable and clean. Indoor pool and shuttle service to the metro is a plus. Cons: We were supposed to have a small fridge in our room. It wasn't there. Also the free internet was completely defective and I was never able to connect once during my three night stay, even after calling a few times about it. The shuttle service was late picking us up from the metro every time. Every hour on the hour actually equates to every hour and 10-25 minutes after the hour starts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Great way to visit D.C.

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Breakfast and the shuttle were great.
Cons: The room was a bit noisy at night as it is near a busy highway that seems to have heavy traffic all night.
Location: Subway to D.C. There are a few but limited restaurants nearby. We walked across the street to Red Lobster and it was impressive.
The staff at the front desk was very helpful checking in. They have a nice breakfast and are about a mile from the subway. They have a shuttle that leaves every hour to take you to the subway which worked perfectly for us. You can call to get picked up from the subway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chesapeake, VA

Okay for convenience and price

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Room rate is reasonable for the proximity to DC. Complementary breakfast had a great selection and was well managed. Fitness room was above average.
Chose this hotel because of its affordable daily rate and it was near a Metro stop. Short drive to New Carrollton Metro / orange line which is about 30 min to the Smithsonian stop. We stayed one night to attend the Taylor Swift concert at Nationals Park. The room had two double beds. Occupants were two adults and two middle school children. Hotel is currently under renovation so work is ongoing during the day and there is a lingering scent of paint. Was never able to connect to in-room WiFi. Hotel staff referred us to a central IT call center which determined that our room's wireless router was inoperable. Hotel staff reported that it was due to the renovation and offered us use of the public business center. Based on our trip agenda, we were extremely disappointed in very limited pool hours. Pool is only open 6-10pm weekdays. Girls wanted to swim between check-in and concert, but couldn't.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Breakfast. The shuttle when running timely.
Cons: Larger bathrooms. Larger elevators. Revamped shuttle program.
Bathroom is very small and hard to get around in. The elevators are very small too and you can barely pry the luggage carts into one. Work was being done around the hotel so some things were torn up but it didn't detract from our stay. The shuttle was the most disappointing part. It is nice to have that option but some things you should know: 1) we were not told that you have to call the hotel when you're at the metro station waiting to return; we found out the hard way 2) a sign at the desk says it runs every hour on the hour but you have to call to return as mentioned and the station is a 5-10 minute drive from the hotel but the shuttle generally shows up about 20 minutes after the hour. You should also add your names/room # to the list for the ride from the hotel to the station but we were not officially told that either. The station is only like a mile from the hotel but we didn't feel comfortable walking through the area. It costs $5 a day to park your vehicle at the metro station and that may be a better option for some. Also the hotel is at the last metro stop on the orange line so calculate a long metro ride into your plans. The breakfast is a great option.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Emergency stay only

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Mitta the receptionist is very unprofessional. He gave us the wrong room key which was occupied. Upon return of the key he didn't even apologized. Several times I went to asked information it happened to be him working. The reception given by him was very turned off. The bathroom ceiling leaks the bath dirty the plugs doesn't work properly as they are worn out. I made a complain no one even follow up. I was so upset since I had a very busy schedule while staying there and time was limited and I am sure I will not stay at anymore I had to deal with it. I will never ever recommended this place to no one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sometimes reviews can be deceiving .....

Posted Jul 13, 2015
We were a little scared based on the reviews we had read but were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is indeed under construction for renovation but they are very clean and considerate about how they go about it. Staff was friendly and rooms were clean and well stocked. Beds were awesome and internet service was reliable. There is indeed a night club in the hotel but we never heard a peep. It is only open on Friday and Saturday night. As the majority of the reviews will tell you, the breakfast spread was awesome! It was replenished often contrary to some other reviews. But they do end promptly at 10, so I recommend getting there by 9:30. Not sure this was the best part of town but we had no problems, didn't see any problems and it's a nice break from the downtown DC prices. Free shuttle to the metro every hour and all in all an extremely good deal for DC vacationers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Für Best Western nur Mittelmaß

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Cons: Empfang an der Rezeption und Schwimmbadöffnungszeiten!
Location: Hotel ist halteher außerhalb von Washington, aber dank Shuttle und Metro gut erreichbar.
Das Hotel wurde gerade renoviert, daher ein wenig unruhig, aber in Ordnung, da man nicht viel von gehört hat. Leider war der Service an der Rezeption sehr langsam und die Öffnungszeiten des Pools (abends ab 18:00 Uhr bis 22:00 Uhr) auch sehr entäuschend für ein Hotel der Best Western Gruppe. Frühstück sehr ordentlich, doch durch den großen Andrang sehr unruhig und etwas chaotisch. Gut ist der stündliche Shuttle zur Metro, die 20 Minuten zur National Mall braucht. In der Umgebung findet man alles, doch ist die Gegend am Highway eher mit etwas Vorsicht zu genießen, aber es ist keine deutlich unsichere Gegend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not cheap enough to be worth it

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: There are more options than this hotel to be close to RFK stadium/D.C.
First we had to change rooms because the air conditioner motor rattled. Then we were relocated to a room with a view of the roof and the staff waking us up early both days while he power washed the roof and windows. The tv reception was bad. The room was not serviced/cleaned for two out of the three days we were there and was barely cleaned when it was.They were renovating to there were saws and sanders going from 9am to 6pm and by the time we left there was no wallpaper on the walls and plaster pieces everywhere. The hotel had an odd smell all weekend. I would never recommend it and never stay there again. The cheap 4th of July rate was NOT worth it.