Ratings based on 585 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Elycefrom CT

Hotel Nightmare!

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Came with a party of 6 so we rented two rooms, my counsin had to switch his room twice. Once because of it being so dirty and smelly so they moved him to a room where he discovered he had bed bugs! Me and my friends room had a refrigerator that smelled like old meat, therefore we kept all our food and drinks on the table to avoid our food picking up that horrible smell! We left the room for the day, returned from the club at 6 a.m just to be locked out of our room!! They sent the staff in our room while our items were still there, they ignored our do not disturb sign and left out curtains wide open. We felt invaded and uncomfortable. I went to the front desk and argued with the receptionist because he told me "I checked out" My check out time was Oct 19 at 12pm. It was 6am on Oct 19 so technically we still had 6 hours to be in the room. He ignored my request of letting me in the room so I could grab my receipt and said we aren't allowed to go in the room until I pay for another night! He found a copy of the receipt on file and realized he was wrong and they checked us out to soon, I will never ever stay here again, your better off sleeping in your car! The worst hotel I couldn't believe it. Be prepared to have drug dealers walking up to you asking you to buy from them as well, do yourself a favor and do not stay here!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2014 by Joe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We apologize for the inconvenience that you had during your stay. We have made a lot of updates and changes to the rooms based on your review. Thank you,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Days inn at silver spring

Posted Oct 18, 2014
I checked In And there was mouse poop on the bed behind the pillows... Stay away from this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2014 by Joe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We apologize for the inconvenience that you had during your stay. We want you to know that we have made adjustments and pest control through out the whole property, to clear out this problem that you had. Thank you,
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Alfrom boston

for smokers only

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
the room was nice enough and location was very good to Silver Spring and area, main roads etc. Neighborhood was good. Major problem was that although the room was non-smoking, we could smell smoke the moment we walked into the room. By day three we were spraying the curtains to overcome the odor. We did not see any elevators so we had to carry heavy luggage up one floor (outdoors in rain). Parking was so tight we had to park two lots down each night for lack of sufficient parking for quests. The employees were very nice and otherwise clean enough. The microwave and frig worked and were clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2014 by Joe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. Our goal is to satisfy all our guest needs and provide a comfortable and safe stay. Thank you,
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by DCfrom DC

Will never stay here again

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place had mice and the ac units did not work. Would not recommend and definitely would not stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2014 by Joe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we apologize for any inconvenience that you had during your last stay. We want you to know that we take your review very seriously and we are working on making changes and updates to all of our rooms, for a comfortable and a pleasant stay. Thank you
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This facility needs a lot of help!

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Upon arrival the outside appeared to be in decent shape. Checking seemed fine parking lot deffinetly could have used a push broom thru it but not that big of a deal. When we walked to are room it was uncomfortable and almost Erie. The halls are dirty and not well lit at all. the room the carpets walls and shelves where disgusting dirt and filth. I definetly would not take my shoe off in this facility the bed where clean enough to feel decent to sleep in but I would have rather slept in are car then this place. The door had been kicked in several times hinges were falling of the door, steal plates were one the doors where it had been cracke from being kicked in. And the door frame splintered wood. My father was so uncomfortable that he slept with the linen iron in his bed just incase I will not stay there again and would not recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2014 by Joe, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We extremely apologize for the inconvenience that you had during your recent stay. We have made some adjustments in our rooms and hallways. We have upgraded the lights in the hallways, to be brighter and also replaced a lot of our furniture in the rooms. Again I would like to apologize for the inconvenience. Thank You
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Rosefrom PA

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
I would not stay here again. It was a bit run down. But hotel staff was very nice and friendly. Location was the biggest plus in my opinion being close to the metro line for easy commute into D.C.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Joe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We apologize for any inconvenience that you may have had during your last stay. We try to make sure that our guests have a pleasant stay and are well satisfied. We are constantly making changes and updates to our hotel. We hope that you re-visit us and give us feedback to the updates. Thank You,
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Melissa Williams

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2014 by Joe, Hotel Management
Ms. Williams, I see that you didn't leave a comment for your star rating. We love to here from our guest. Just so that we might sharpen our skills and better service our guest. Thanks and have a great day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Took a chance on the book before you know option.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Room was packed with furniture hard to get around bed. It smelled like a smoking room when I asked for non smoking. While sleeping I was awaken but something scurrying and scratching around. Never did see what it was so I got up and left. Eww
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2015 by Joe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we do apologize for the inconvenience that you had during your stay. Based upon your review we have updated the rooms with new chairs and nightstands that are more suitable and gives the rooms a new look with more space. Thank You
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by Joe, Hotel Management
Thanks you for your rating
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Stay Away, Unless you are desperate

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a joke. The layout was horrendous and it took over 20 mins to find the room. The directions given to aforementioned room weren't even correct. Then we got into the room. Tried one light switch, no light. Tried another and then another. All not working. Had to use my phone to see to plug in one light only to realise none of them were plugged in. The most comical part was that we were missing a dresser drawer. Not even joking. Just three there. Then we tried to take a hot bath. APPARENTLY the pipes were reversed and " cold " meant hot and vise-versa. You see the great deals and honestly you might be thinking the same thing I did, to save the extra 100 bucks because they can be pricey ... learn from us - spend the extra 100 bucks and get a better room. They did let us have the paper, so that was nice of them ....
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by Joe, Hotel Management
We thank you for your comment. Yes our hotel has two court yards and I apologize if you had trouble finding your room. Our trained and willing staff are here to help. Thank again.