Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gary from San Francisco

Gaylord Resort Hotel, National Harbor, MD near D.C

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Massive open space, window walls, great views, marble floors, beautiful gardens indoors, musical dancing water fountains.
Cons: I was shocked by the number of add on taxes and fees -- a resort fee, state tax, occupancy tax, local tax adding up to $61.00 per day plus room fee.
Location: You are less than 20 minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. and Mt. Vernon. There are river taxi and floating restaurants, dozens of nearby museums.
The hotel look and feel is excellent. Room prices are very high, but service is great. They were short staffed during the March 16-17 snow storm, so rooms were not made up each day and wait staff was scarce in restaurants. I have to commend the concierge staff for what they did. After going to all of the Gaylord restaurants and not finding any cheesecake or pie -- especially apple pie -- on the menu (but they did have unusual sweets such as poached cumquats for whoever may like them) I mentioned it to two ladies at the concierge desk. Within an hour they appeared at my hotel room door with one-third of a warm and unique apple pie from McCormick's (a local bakery) with vanilla ice cream and six large assorted cookies -- without any charge! I was blown away that they would do this at all, much less in cold and snowy weather where they had to walk several blocks to get the desserts. The doorman was exceptional. He could answer everything I wanted to know about the town and even told me which was the best price for a hotel to DCA Reagan Airport shuttle. Unlike most hotels, the Gaylord charges $18.00 for a one-way trip to the airport. Limousine services are available for much less per person (about $10), while taxi cost $25 to $30 for a one-way trip. This is a fabulous place for conventions with large, spacious halls and meeting rooms and amenities that you would find only in the very best convention centers within inner cities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BM from San Francisco

Really nice hotel, but not worth the price

Posted Mar 12, 2014
The hotel is beautiful, it's huge! However, it's in a cute area filled with many great hotels that are less expensive and offer many of the same services. Generally speaking if your going out of town your plans aren't to stay in the hotel the entire time so why pay so much?! It's in a beautiful area filled with shops and restaurants all within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucks County, PA

No reason NOT to stay here.

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: It's beautiful and grandiose. You can be assured you're receiving quality service.
Location: National Harbor is an amazing little retail-filled village. Great restaurants and stores nearby, all within walking distance. I felt very safe too.
I visited for a work trip and I was very pleased with the staff. The few run-of-the-mill issues I ran into were quickly and painlessly resolved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Remington, VA

Stayed for Natsfest

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Family trip to the Gaylord was awesome. We went to Natsfest Saturday, enjoyed dinner at National Pasttime and breakfast at the Pienza. Very pleasant and helpful staff and beautiful hotel. This is the 3rd Gaylord we have stayed at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolann from maryland

nice hotel with holiday festivities

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: new years day brunch
Cons: more things for teenagers to do
Location: location was good, many restaurants and places to eat.
hotel was nice room was a little smaller than expected. description noted a chair with ottoman but there was no chair or ottoman
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Caroline from Richmond va

Thin walls, unorganized valet

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We mostly enjoyed our stay at Gaylord. It was very busy since they were throwing their New Years party which we attended. They had plenty of friendly staff at check in and everything went smoothly despite it being their busiest night of the year. The walls were very thin and we could hear the people partying hard in the next room very well. Comfy king bed, nice shower, double vanity. The worst part was check out though. I called early to have my car brought around. I was told it would take 10 minutes. I went down after about 20 minutes and it still wasn't ready. Then I heard it was taking 30 minutes. So we waited an additional 20 minutes outside in the cold for our car to be ready. It was VERY frustrating after spending so much on valet we felt held hostage at the hotel when we were ready to leave. And we could see our car in the parking lot but they wouldn't let us get it. I'm sure they're more organized other days but they should have at least given me a heads up when I called to have the car that it would be awhile.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim from Maryland

Beautiful at Christmas

Posted Dec 31, 2013
This hotel/resort was so beautiful during our post-Christmas stay. Great holiday feeling throughout the resort. The ICE show was good, but very expensive. It cost us over $182.00 for 4 adults and one child to walk through the show. We did attend during Peak Hours though. Any meal we ate at the resort was very good and worth it. We did question the resort fee because it was a charge above and beyond the room rate. We were told that it was for the pool, exercise room, Internet, 2 bottles of water per day and play areas for the kids. To us, these should have been included in the room rate. The kids' play area was just several electronic pinball type games and you have to pay to use them. So why the fee? The pool was nice, but extremely crowded. We didn't use the exercise facility, but it looked good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room had a super view of National Harbor, the Potomac and part of DC. It was clean and very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by williams family from va

kids loved it

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
We took the kids to christmas on the potomac. It was cold but they loved it,along with the lights and other things to do. Already planned next Christmas
2 out of 5
Recommended
by christopher from philadelphia

Nice place but very over priced

Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
The place was nice and clean - and the staff was very kind but overall I paid a lot more than I planned. The parking is very expensive, there are hotel fees ontop of the fees added to the booking and everything in the hotel (coffee, drinks, etc) are expensive. Overall, I think you'll get more value staying across in the Hampton Inn or another hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lisa from PA

nice facility

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Disappointed that because I booked through hotels.com I was not treated or considered a guest. "Free parking for guests" did not apply to me because I "booked through a third party." When I asked for comps that other guests were receiving I got the same response. Despite paying the same amount as their website charged.