Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Keezletown, VA

Very nice hotel!

Posted Jul 10, 2014
The Gaylord is very nice. It feels like a little town within the resort. Everything was very clean and well kept. The staff all seemed to be friendly and helpful with "hello's" and "good mornings". We were on the sixth floor and we swore we were the only ones on that floor (Room 6006). The view out of our window was the Potomac and the Ferris wheel - very pretty at night! The pool area and fitness center looked very nice and clean. Lots of fountains and water features on the property. There are restaurants and shops in the harbor and this brings me to the only two drawbacks I can think of: the COST of staying in the harbor (food and entertainment) and DISTANCE from the downtown mall. Food is VERY expensive in the resort and surrounding restaurants. Plan to spend $100 or more for lunch or a meager dinner for four. It was $35 to get a "black car service" to the downtown mall. A taxi is a little cheaper and that's what we did on the way back from the Nats stadium that night. Just realize if you are going to stay here there will be a lot of added expense depending on what you want to do AND you are not really close to anything except the harbor and Tanger outlet mall which was underwhelming. The Gaylord is a really cool hotel and my family liked it there, all in all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waldorf, MD

Not worth the money

Posted Jul 6, 2014
When we walked into the room that was on the bayside I went straight to the window to see the view. There was not a view just grass and windows. There was a dirty cup under the night stand. That makes me question everything else in the room. Later that day I missed placed the room key and looked under the chair cushion only to find gold fish crackers and other snacks that I didn't have. I'm sure this is not the standard conditions through out the hotel but it was my first and last experience with the Gaylord.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Alice in the wonderland

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Value for money
Cons: Showers
Location: Quaint
It was a pleasant surprise to be in such large structure and feel quite cosy, in the middle of nowhere in swamp, I consider to be a visionary dream come true !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gary from San Francisco

Gaylord Resort Hotel, National Harbor, MD near D.C

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Massive open space, window walls, great views, marble floors, beautiful gardens indoors, musical dancing water fountains.
Cons: I was shocked by the number of add on taxes and fees -- a resort fee, state tax, occupancy tax, local tax adding up to $61.00 per day plus room fee.
Location: You are less than 20 minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. and Mt. Vernon. There are river taxi and floating restaurants, dozens of nearby museums.
The hotel look and feel is excellent. Room prices are very high, but service is great. They were short staffed during the March 16-17 snow storm, so rooms were not made up each day and wait staff was scarce in restaurants. I have to commend the concierge staff for what they did. After going to all of the Gaylord restaurants and not finding any cheesecake or pie -- especially apple pie -- on the menu (but they did have unusual sweets such as poached cumquats for whoever may like them) I mentioned it to two ladies at the concierge desk. Within an hour they appeared at my hotel room door with one-third of a warm and unique apple pie from McCormick's (a local bakery) with vanilla ice cream and six large assorted cookies -- without any charge! I was blown away that they would do this at all, much less in cold and snowy weather where they had to walk several blocks to get the desserts. The doorman was exceptional. He could answer everything I wanted to know about the town and even told me which was the best price for a hotel to DCA Reagan Airport shuttle. Unlike most hotels, the Gaylord charges $18.00 for a one-way trip to the airport. Limousine services are available for much less per person (about $10), while taxi cost $25 to $30 for a one-way trip. This is a fabulous place for conventions with large, spacious halls and meeting rooms and amenities that you would find only in the very best convention centers within inner cities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BM from San Francisco

Really nice hotel, but not worth the price

Posted Mar 12, 2014
The hotel is beautiful, it's huge! However, it's in a cute area filled with many great hotels that are less expensive and offer many of the same services. Generally speaking if your going out of town your plans aren't to stay in the hotel the entire time so why pay so much?! It's in a beautiful area filled with shops and restaurants all within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucks County, PA

No reason NOT to stay here.

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: It's beautiful and grandiose. You can be assured you're receiving quality service.
Location: National Harbor is an amazing little retail-filled village. Great restaurants and stores nearby, all within walking distance. I felt very safe too.
I visited for a work trip and I was very pleased with the staff. The few run-of-the-mill issues I ran into were quickly and painlessly resolved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Remington, VA

Stayed for Natsfest

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Family trip to the Gaylord was awesome. We went to Natsfest Saturday, enjoyed dinner at National Pasttime and breakfast at the Pienza. Very pleasant and helpful staff and beautiful hotel. This is the 3rd Gaylord we have stayed at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolann from maryland

nice hotel with holiday festivities

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: new years day brunch
Cons: more things for teenagers to do
Location: location was good, many restaurants and places to eat.
hotel was nice room was a little smaller than expected. description noted a chair with ottoman but there was no chair or ottoman
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by ANNC from Maryland

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was very professional and friendly. Great weekend getaway!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Caroline from Richmond va

Thin walls, unorganized valet

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We mostly enjoyed our stay at Gaylord. It was very busy since they were throwing their New Years party which we attended. They had plenty of friendly staff at check in and everything went smoothly despite it being their busiest night of the year. The walls were very thin and we could hear the people partying hard in the next room very well. Comfy king bed, nice shower, double vanity. The worst part was check out though. I called early to have my car brought around. I was told it would take 10 minutes. I went down after about 20 minutes and it still wasn't ready. Then I heard it was taking 30 minutes. So we waited an additional 20 minutes outside in the cold for our car to be ready. It was VERY frustrating after spending so much on valet we felt held hostage at the hotel when we were ready to leave. And we could see our car in the parking lot but they wouldn't let us get it. I'm sure they're more organized other days but they should have at least given me a heads up when I called to have the car that it would be awhile.