Ratings based on 335 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Beautiful place placed in its own little "city".

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Convenience to the convention I was attending.
Wonderful! Excellent restaurant in the hotel and also in the immediate area. Very attractive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cordova, TN

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The amenities, cleanliness and staff
The check in was excellent. Staff most helpful. Room HVAC loud sometimes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Keeps getting worse

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: The views are nice and the property offers a lot on site.
Cons: Add mini-bars and basic amenities.
Location: Lots of restaurants at the harbor.
They upgraded me to a "suite" for an extra $75. The bed would creak and make noise with any movement. For the price, it was missing some basics like mini-bar, bath robes, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom washington d.c.

great the way the unmade the hotel.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: there is plenty to do. loved the way everything is in walking distant.
fantastic, the convention hall was beautiful the setup was great and the atmosphere was great .the restaurants were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Week long business trip

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Virtually everything. Excellent internet speeds, which was very important to me.
Cons: Pool hours too short. Hot tub should be 24 hours, sometimes I dont have a chance to unwind until late at night. Spa prices were much too high.
Location: Near Washington DC. Ride the Capital Wheel. Take a water taxi to Alexandria. Check out the bar/lounge on the 18th floor.
This was my first time at a Gaylord Resort. Huge, awesome staff, everything was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Atlantic City

Safe for children and family

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The whole area feels new and clean and safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Cindyfrom MD

Great stay, close to everything

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful stay. It was nice to be able to just walk to everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Visit was just OK!

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband & I spent one nite at the Gaylord for our 14th yr anniversary! We booked our reservations via the hotels.com website! The rm rate online was $289/nite, however when we arrived, the desk clerk asked if we wanted an upgrade to a kingbed w/balcony for $40 more, we agreed! The room decor was okay, the view from our 17th floor balcony was great, although a little scary! I guess we just expected the room to be a little bit more extravagant for the price! But it was just OK. Nothing to "write home about"! For the price, we thought we should've at least had some complimentary chocolate mints placed on our pillows, but we were at least able to drink the "complimentary" bottles of water without being charged $3.00/bottle! :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nikkifrom Maryland

Underwhelming

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
From the exterior, lobby, atrium, and courtyard, the Gaylord appears to be a very grand venue. However, the rooms were quite underwhelming compared to the grandeur you will find in every other part of the hotel, except for the pool. The hallways were a dated gold and red, and we had to walk through a maze and pass at least 80 rooms as there is only one central hub of elevators that accesses all 20+ floors of the hotel. The room decor was bland, and it was a bit small, so was the bathroom. The shower head was rusty and the tiles had some mold on them. Compared to other Marriotts, it definitely is not one of the better ones in terms of lodging accommodations and room amenities. Unless you guarantee an atrium view, I do not think this hotel is worth the trip. You are better off at the Westin which is still in the same great location, has great views of the Potomac River, looks and feels a bit more updated, and for a better nightly rate.