Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethesda, MD

Great location, nice hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: big rooms, nice amenities
Cons: housekeeping tried to enter the room at 830 am on the weekend - too early and it woke us up! Parking is expensive - $24 for the night.
Very nice hotel, great location. Everything is within walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Nice Hotel - overpriced

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: I liked the lobby, location and landscaping.
Cons: Resort fee is ridiculous. Should be part of room rate. Beds were noisey (rickety). You should not hear both beds squeak for $600 for 2 nights.
Location: I did little shopping and loved the restaurants that we ate it. Night time was very nice & relaxing. Ferris Wheel is nice feature.
Weekend away a little Washington D.C tourism. Was not impressed with the beds in our room. Both beds were VERY noisey & made sounds as soon as you sat down much less move. Very surprised that the hotel automatically added the parking into my bill. I paid $24 for parking each day & never provided by room number to the parking lot clerk. I asked the desk attendant why is this automatically added she just stated that she would correct it. I offered to provide my receipt as proof of payment however she didn't care to look so obviously this is a common practice at this hotel. That's not good business to automatically add fees without ever presenting your room card.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Keezletown, VA

Very nice hotel!

Posted Jul 10, 2014
The Gaylord is very nice. It feels like a little town within the resort. Everything was very clean and well kept. The staff all seemed to be friendly and helpful with "hello's" and "good mornings". We were on the sixth floor and we swore we were the only ones on that floor (Room 6006). The view out of our window was the Potomac and the Ferris wheel - very pretty at night! The pool area and fitness center looked very nice and clean. Lots of fountains and water features on the property. There are restaurants and shops in the harbor and this brings me to the only two drawbacks I can think of: the COST of staying in the harbor (food and entertainment) and DISTANCE from the downtown mall. Food is VERY expensive in the resort and surrounding restaurants. Plan to spend $100 or more for lunch or a meager dinner for four. It was $35 to get a "black car service" to the downtown mall. A taxi is a little cheaper and that's what we did on the way back from the Nats stadium that night. Just realize if you are going to stay here there will be a lot of added expense depending on what you want to do AND you are not really close to anything except the harbor and Tanger outlet mall which was underwhelming. The Gaylord is a really cool hotel and my family liked it there, all in all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waldorf, MD

Not worth the money

Posted Jul 6, 2014
When we walked into the room that was on the bayside I went straight to the window to see the view. There was not a view just grass and windows. There was a dirty cup under the night stand. That makes me question everything else in the room. Later that day I missed placed the room key and looked under the chair cushion only to find gold fish crackers and other snacks that I didn't have. I'm sure this is not the standard conditions through out the hotel but it was my first and last experience with the Gaylord.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by TD from Maryland

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very clean and very friendly staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Alice in the wonderland

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Value for money
Cons: Showers
Location: Quaint
It was a pleasant surprise to be in such large structure and feel quite cosy, in the middle of nowhere in swamp, I consider to be a visionary dream come true !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

I likey

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by nancy branigan from alexandria, va

Washington, DC, Mt. Vernon must do

Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
We all enjoyed relaxing in our very comfortable room, taking 5 from our hectic lives/schedule and having a girls overnight (mother/daughter). We splurged on room service, pay per view movies, went shopping and enjoyed walking around the very lovely surroundings of the hotel and area. The game room was fun, pool is very nice, wish we had time for the spa. Enjoyed it so much she wants to come back and have her 13th birthday party there with friends for a sleepover. The staff is very friendly, helpful cheerful, professional, what a pleasant surprise to show up and be told we were being given a river view room. We can't wait to come back. Thanks to all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Claudia from Arlington, VA

Weekend getaway.

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is spectacular. Our room had a view of the atrium and it was very comfortable and clean. The noise level and the amount of events going on could feel overwhelming and not good for those who want a place to relax. The near by stores and restaurants are excellent.