Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jason from Calgary

2 nights in the castle!!

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Awesome hotel, friendly staff, amazing experience. The food was great, try their beer they brew at the hotel, so good! You will not regret staying here. Only issue was no free wifi but you are in a castle so we did not really need it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Philip

Nice hotel, awesome view

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable modern room, owners work alongside staff, and the hotel and restaurant both reflect their care.
Cons: Place a sign to show where the reception is.
Location: Medival town of Rothenburg only 15 minutes away, golf course a base of hill from hotel.
Castle now serves as hotel, very comfortable stay, beautiful view of surrounding area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from Dallas, TX

Great Stay

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere and staff
Cons: Nothing as when I go on vacation the TV and wifi are the least of my concerns.
Location: Rothenburg is 15 minutes away. What a great town to visit!
I have no idea why the rating from some people is low. My wife, daughter and I enjoyed the stay immensely! The room was out of a medieval castle. The beds were comfortable, the deer cooperated and came out and the breakfast and dinner were very good. If we ever return to Europe, I promise we will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mary from Ricmond, TX

Isolated but then again, that made it special

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved our views of the German countryside. The castle is right out of a fairy tell. I could have spent days wandering the halls. It's set on a hill in a really small town but Rothenberg is just a short drive away and Nurenburg is close also. The castle guest rooms have been updated and were great. Big breakfast spread and I would reccomend the restaurant without hesitation. I'll be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Brendan from Canada

Uniquely Germany Experience

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stay here if you want an experience you can only get in Germany. A beautiful old castle situated by the famous Romantic Road. The room was small and had older German wood furniture, but was really clean and comfortable to stay in. Each floor hall was decorated differently and we had fun taking some cool pictures. Wi-fi is for purchase, but available if you want it. We chose to ignore the world for a night. Restaurant is pretty good - very classic German food. Try their homemade beer "Schwarzes Ritter" (Black Knight). Also, there's lots of areas for photos from windows and their castle area! Very cool for a night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Awesome!

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was so cool to stay in a castle so old and with so much history. It was very quiet and in a beautiful location. I would recommend to anyone traveling the romantic road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Karen from Jacksonville, FL

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful stay at the Castle!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Fairytale Burg

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfect! We had an amazing time and our children truly enjoyed it. It was like a fairytale vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rick from Ft Lauderdale FL

Stay in a Real Castle

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Pros: Castle, grounds, quality free breakfast, location.
I have always wanted to stay in a real hotel. I was not disappointed. This castle, grounds, view ,etc.surpassed my expectations. I would love to stay there again. Rooms have been beautifully updated and modern. Castle is gorgeous. Great location, about 15 minutes to Old Town Rothenburg on the Tauber.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com