Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location - but hugely overpriced

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Just about everything - except the location
Location: Close to the Dom, the river, and the centre of town.
More fool me to book a room so late for Gamescom when 300,000 people are due to descent on Cologne. Of course all prices are ramped up over these few days, but this was ridiculous. This apartment is in a good location but it is very, very basic and small - two people are really, really cramped. We got a small bar of soap and a towel (no shower mat or anything further). So to be charged the price of a top hotel, and arrive to find a tiny, pretty shabby, apartment was a shock. Shower didn't work well. The room wasn't cleaned. Perhaps the rest of the year this apartment is cheap - in which case it is worth considering.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian

Great for City Centre

Posted May 26, 2014
Location: The apartment is very close to the city centre, right opposite the Chocolate Museum and adjacent to the river, so well situated.
On arrival you get the key via a number coded box, very easy to use. The flat smelt of cigarettes in spite of no smoking signs in the apartment. The facilities are all there if required and essentials can be bought from the petrol station around the corner. The one spoiler was other guests in the building being very noisy , talking and shouting in the early hours, not the owners fault at all but 2 disturbed nights sleep because of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frances from London

Spacious apartment in central position.

Posted Apr 19, 2014
We had a family room (2 spacious rooms with kitchenette and bathroom). Central location near Rhine cruises, chocolate museum, tourist train and cathedral. We'd definitely recommend this place to families. Quiet location off the main road close to all facilities. Fantastic value for money. Thank you we had a great stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ryssee from Boston, MA

Roomy, comfortable 1-bedroom apartment

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: Convenient location. Spacious and comfortable. Next to the Chocolate Museum and close to city center.
Cons: The kitchenette was missing spoons for some reason. :)
Location: 20 min tourist-style stroll to cathedral. 10 min or less to shops, restaurants and bars. Easy to get in and out of with our rental car. Quiet area.
We rented Apt XVIII, a 1-bedroom apt with a small terrace. This place is not a traditional hotel, it's more like small apartments for rent. There is no office; it's self check-in where they send you a code by email to check in at 3, and a lock-box give you your key. We had no problems getting in. The building seemed like a small apartment complex. Ours was a third floor (or if you're not American you'd call it 2nd floor) 1-bedroom with a small terrace outside the window off the upstairs bedroom. We liked it, especially for the price and location and extra space. Our stay in February was very inexpensive and we always find that apartments beat hotels hands-down. Note that there is no lift so people with mobility or health issues would want to ask about ground-floor apartments. The double bed (twin mattresses together in the same bed frame) was very comfortable. This apartment was kind of kitchy-cute in the decor with fun feather lampshades and homey little signs, painted white with black & silver accents. The bathroom was small and had a tiny stand-up shower that was interesting to use but got us clean in the morning. Plenty of hot water. Soap was provided but not shampoo. We had extra towels. The wi-fi for our devices was good. The kitchenette had everything we needed except for spoons, but had tea and coffee that someone had left behind, which was nice. It was a short walk to the city center. Very easy to find and there are parking garages nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Alex from Manchester

Modern and clean

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was spotless on arrival, and had everything needed for a two night stay. Location was right outside Chocolate Museum and a Christmas Market, and ten minutes by taxi to the train station and Old Town.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David from Los Angeles

Great location, tiny room and bathroom

Posted Aug 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall, I was not really happy although the location was excellent. Tiny bathroom was really hard to work with...
3 out of 5
Recommended
by cmcdonnell from San Francisco

Posted Aug 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
IKEA showroom that is much smaller than conveyed by the pictures (which are in fact a mixture of photographs of several different and potentially larger apartments. Communication was good until we confirmed the booking, then he ceased to reply to emails or answer the phone. This was especially annoying as the advertised internet connection did not work, and since he had promised to send directions for parking via email. (The malfunctioning internet connection seems to be an ongoing issue, compare also previous reviews.) The location is good, half way between old town and S├╝dstadt. The noise levels - also at night - were quite high due to the busy cross street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jo Jo from England, UK

Conveniently located apartment.

Posted Dec 22, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Wi Fi not working
Location: Near Chocolate Museum, just off the bank of the Rhine.
Small but well equiped apartment conveniently situated for the City Centre, shops etc & just over the road from the Chocolate Museum. Only downside was the Wi Fi wasn't working for the majority of our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
Good location. Nice apartment. But we had booked for 2 adults and 2 children aged 3 and 1. The number and size of towels in apartment was far fewer than we needed. Wifi did not work. Bad smell in bathroom at time due to drains???
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anne

A great alternative to a hotel!

Posted Aug 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
This apartment is within walking distance of the Rhine cruises kiosk, the Gothic Cathedral, and the Chocolate Museum, all places we wanted to see, so it was great. We got the Penthouse suite, and it suited our family really well!