Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uio

Nice hotel, perfect location near everything

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Really close to shopping area, walking distance to the cathedral, great breakfast buffet. Definitely would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frank from Roseville, CA.

Nice hotel ... Interesting city.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Hotel was nice, staff was great. Only complaint about the hotel was that the AC in our room did not work well - it worked great in the hallway outside and in the public areas. The outside temp wasn't hot... However the humidity was not expected making the temp feel higher. Regarding the city... We were there on a Saturday night in June, and the night life continued to the early hours of the morning. Touring the city Sunday morning, empty bottles were scattered and abundant. The hotel it's self was nice and felt safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roger from PJ Malaysia

Big and comfortable room. Good location.

Posted May 26, 2014
The room is spacious with free wifi. The location is closs to sub-way and tram. However we only hire taxi/van. Many good restaurant nearby. It takes about 30min. Walk to Mediapark.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tania from Southampton UK

Excellent location

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Ideal location right next to main restaurant and bar areas and a main tram stop. Just one stop from main shopping and two from river. Very quiet rooms, couldn't hear any road noise at all. Hotel is a little tatty in places but nothing too bad, and otherwise clean and tidy. I'd stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by E from Cambridge

Friendliest Staff!

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: The staff!
Cons: The bar food could be much better/broader variety
The location of this hotel is excellent if you need to be over the side of town of the University. The bar food was very average, but we did not try the restaurant. Breakfast was nice. But by far and away, this hotel stood out because of its incredibly friendly and helpful staff. We arrived earlier than check in time and were given rooms immediately, and the staff from the cleaners to the bar staff to the reception desk were all very nice indeed. They gave the hotel a calm and pleasant atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good city centre hotel at reasonable price

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Location, price, room size.
Cons: Rooms very dated, TV doesn't have many English channels, bathrooms very dated.
Hotel location pretty good for city centre. 10-15 min walk from main train station but tram stop directly outside. Rooms quite large but a bit dated now. Despite requesting a non-smoking room I was told on check-in only smoking rooms were left (or wheelchair accessible room).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gail from Manchester

Close to transport

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Good clean rooms however,our sink was blocked and due to the time we arrived it could not be fixed until the morning at which time we were leaving.I would still recommend a stay as good bar and nice staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cologne Traveller from Bahrain

Great Location, Avergae Hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stay was not very satisfactory, bed was very uncomfortable the linen was harsh on the skin. Although Reception and staff were very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vlada from Australia

Barcelo Cologne City Centre

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Location is the only drawback of this hotel but it makes up for it in quality and affordability. Service here was very good. We got to our room to discover that there were twin beds instead of one queen bed. We went back to ask for a room with a queen bed. Not only did they give us a room with the queen bed but they upgraded us to a bigger room as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steve from UK

Great for Christmas Markets

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
We chose this hotel for the convenience to treat our grown up family for 2 nights, and getting to see the Cologne Christmas markets. The Barcello is right on Rudolplatz, which has a small but lovely market. All other markets were within good walking reach. The hotel was clean and rooms very pleasant. We had 3 rooms on the 7th floor, which were great for the views over the city. Prices for coffee and drinks were very cheap, in comparison to local bars and cafes prices. But we didn't eat at the hotel as prices seemed higher. One point to note is that they are very strict on check-in times. We had to wait, although !smoking! rooms were available, and on the hour, on the dot, extra staff came on to reception to check in waiting guests. So my tip is, don't bother to arrive too soon, or expect to wait. There is a tea and coffee tray in the rooms, but we had to ask to have it replenished.