Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Could be worse but could be much better

Posted Oct 10, 2014
The staff were largely unhelpful The pillows were awful (although we got them changed on the second night) The room spelled of smoke The room was dark and dull The bathroom flooded after showering It was clean Not too far from the cathedral
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Good location, terrible cleanliness and upkeep

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything. Starting with cleanliness and an entire renovation of the building.
Location: It was in a great location with lots of public transport options near by. Walking distance (25-30 minutes) from the main city attractions.
Even though the location is very good, it's not worth staying at this hotel, as the condition its in is deplorable. The carpet was old and dirty. Even the drapes had several dirty spots and were barely hanging. Air conditioning didn't work and was very noisy and the mini bar was broken and unavailable. The entire feel of the room was that it was filthy. Would not recommend anyone staying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, bc

Close to city centre

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Great hotel, with a great location. For the price we couldn't ask for anything better: hotel was very clean, beds were comfortable, and hotel was right next to city centre. Would stay here again and would recommend to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Basingstoke, UK

Great location; competitive price

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Convenient location.
Location: Easy access to the city and plenty of local bars and restaurants.
We were at the Barceló for four days. Without exception the staff on reception were excellent showing a high level of professionalism. The hotel is close to Rudolfplatz with convenient links both to the airport and the rest of the city. It's an easy, level walk to the main shopping area, the old town and the river. I'd say the river and Dom took about 20 minutes on foot. The room was a good size and well equipped. We were on the seventh floor with views over the city. There were external blinds and thick internal curtains, together with good internal insulation which gave a good night's sleep. The beds were large and comfortable with a suitable duvet but the pillows were flimsy. Sheets were changed after two days. The room had air conditioning, trouser press, flat screen tv, hairdryer and plenty of power sockets. There was air conditioning and free Wi-Fi (get a code from the reception). The safe was not wired in so we used a strong box at reception. This met our needs but was not as helpful as an in-room facility. There was a good power shower with plentiful hot water and shower gel and soap were provided. It was a very good place. We'd stay again. It was also close to many gay bars for those who are interested and there are plenty of places to eat. We used a local bakery for breakfast as we felt the hotel charge was high.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location!

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom, minibar/fridge, duvet and bed comfort.
Location: Great restaurants, sites and shops all walking distance. Also has a car park which isn't too expensive.
Good location, walking distance to the main square and main shopping roads. We got a good rate on the price and were only stopping for one night so the hotel was good value in this respect. The bathroom was quite old and dated, but it was clean. The minibar didn't work and the hotel staff were aware of this but until we checked with them they hadn't mentioned this. The bed was small and the duvet was tiny, to the point where it only covered half of your body!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Accommodation

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Centrally located and near many restaurants.
I had a good time at the hotel. It was fairly centrally located. It is near great restaurants and public places to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

great location

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Cons: the beds were very comfy, however the pillows were a let down.
Location: everything is nearby!!
not much to complain about... location was perfect, staff were great, room got cleaned everyday
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Robb from Phoenix

Hello, the 80's called, they want their hotel back

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not sure whether the room I got was a result of the "deal" I got through hotels.com, but the condition of the room at this hotel should be an embarrassment for the Barcelò company. I have stayed in many Barcelò hotels, (Hamburg) most recently, and the condition and design of those hotels rooms was exceptional. This hotel is stuck in the 1980-early 1990's. The beds are more of a box spring, than a mattress...I had to use one of the comforters underneath me. The room deco is a mish-mash of cheap brass-like fixtures, stainless steel, and chrome...ish. Light oak abounds in the room and has chunks missing out of it. The carpeting was filthy, large black stains as well as bleached out spots. Really nasty! I am a Barcelò rewards member, but would recommend any other 4-star hotel in Cologne but this one. It's definitely the black sheep of the Barcelò company.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uio

Nice hotel, perfect location near everything

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Really close to shopping area, walking distance to the cathedral, great breakfast buffet. Definitely would stay there again.