Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Sussex

Good hotel. Very convenient for the main station.

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Good quality hotel, which is let down by breakfast arrangements. We paid for breakfast as part of our booking. We wouldn't have, if we had known that we would be eating it in the bar, which mainly had tables at shin level. Fine for a croissant, but not so easy for a cooked breakfast. There didn't appear to be serviettes on both the mornings we were there. The restaurant was only for those paying on the day- which was extremely busy and zoo like, so not a great experience either.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ecuador

Lower quality than expected

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Only the location
Cons: Service is Bad and the heating is not working. WIth below cero temp. it is not acceptable
Location: Central Station and Cologne Cathedral are just steps away.
Service: BAD no help at all. Room: First room the heating was not working correctly. Changed room, same thing. Food at the "French" restaurant: Do not waste your money. Plenty of restaurants around way better than it. Only good thing is Location, close to the central station and Cologne Cathedral.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2014 by The Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Ricardo, Thank you very much for choosing the Cologne Marriott Hotel as your home away from home and posting a review. We highly appreciate your feedback and do take your concerns very seriously. Herewith, we can assure you that these were one off experiences and this is not Marriott standard. The Chief Engineer has checked the heating system himself to ensure all guests’ satisfaction and we are pleased to confirm that the heating system works properly. So far, all our guests were very pleased with the Brasserie menu, quality of food and service, but we can assure you that the Head Chef and Restaurant Manager will investigate and look into this to meet all guests’ taste and expectations. We wish you very happy Holidays and a wonderful 2015 and hope to welcome you back again soon to show you that we are able to provide a first class service at all times. Kind regards, The Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Fremont, CA

Not worth the money

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Staff and services are as good as any other luxury hotels, but the facility is really lacking.
Cons: Change the management or business plan? That may work.
Location: Location is very convenient.
It is disappointing to be charged for 5 star hotel by a 3 star hotel. Marriott is a name brand hotel. The chain has good hotels around the world, but not at this location. The room is really basic. I am not saying "small". Most hotel rooms in Europe are small. The room has zero amenity in it. There was no robes, no complimentary bottled water, an empty minibar and an empty refrigerator. The rate is higher than the nearby Hilton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2014 by Guest Relation Supervisor, Hotel Management
Dear Million-Miler, thank you very much for choosing the Cologne Marriott Hotel as your home in Cologne and for taking the time to review our property on expedia.com. I am very delighted that you point out the positives you experienced as the central and convenient location, the great staff and our exceptional service. For any inconveniences you may have experienced I would like to apologize; please be assured that we take your feedback very serious and the General Manager in person is fully aware of it. The Executive team will discuss about your review and think about possible modifications. I look forward to welcoming you again soon! Kind regards, The Cologne Marriott Hotel Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Schwalmtal

100m vom HBF

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Zimmer sehr schön eingerichtet, Abendessen im gemütlichen Restaurant war sehr gut!!! Frühstück war noch besser. Fazit, immer wieder!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tilburg

Hotel bij het station met een superontbijt

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Hotel ligt vlakbij het centraal station en op loopafstand van het centrum. Ontbijt is erg goed. Slaapcomfort is zeer goed met goede matrassen en geen geluiden van andere kamers of de straat. Hotel zorgt voor extra tafels bij ontbijt zodat er geen wachttijd was. Enig klein nadeel is dat wifi erg duur is. Dat hebben we niet gebruikt, maar ook niet gemist.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Zaanstad

Net hotel in rustig gedeelte bij centrum

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: De locatie is zeer goed. Op korte loopafstand van het Koln Hauptbahnhof en dichtbij de Dom. Ideaal voor personen die met de trein naar Koln reizen.
Net hotel met beleefd personeel. De standaard kamer is netjes en schoon met een comfortabel bed en schone badkamer. Het ontbijt bufet heeft een ruime keuze uit warm en koud eten en is van goede kwaliteit. De mogelijkheid om bagage na het uitchecken tijdelijk nog in het hotel te mogen laten was erg prettig. Overall goede prijs \ kwaliteit verhouding en een aangenaam verblijf gehad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2014 by Guest Relation Supervisor, Hotel Management
Dear Jasper, thank you very much for choosing the Cologne Marriott Hotel as your home in Cologne . I am very delighted about your great review and that your stay with us was satisfactory. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an exceptional hotel experience and we take great pride about that. I look forward to welcoming you again soon! Best regards, The Cologne Marriott Hotel Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg

Verkehrsgünstig gelegenes erstklassiges Hotol

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Die ruhigen Zimmer und das Frühstück.
Cons: Eigentlich nicht.
Location: Unweit des Hauptbahnhofs und des Doms. Besichtigungen der Altstadt sind zu Fuß möglich. Zusätzlich befindet sich ein Taxistandplatz vor dem Haus.
Das Hotel ist in wenigen Minuten vom Hauptbahnhof zu erreichen und liegt dennoch sehr ruhig. Das Personal ist sehr aufmerksam und freundlich. Das einladend gestaltete und in angenehmer Atmosphäre einzunehmende Frühstück hat unsere Wünsche voll erfüllt; es war genügend Personal da und die Vorräte wurden ständig ergänzt. Alles in allem: Das Hotel kann nur empfohlen werden. Wir würden und werden es wieder aufsuchen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2014 by Guest Relation Supervisor, Hotel Management
Sehr geehrter Gast, herzliche Grüße aus Köln! Ich möchte mich vielmals bei Ihnen für Ihre großartige Bewertung bedanken. Ich freue mich sehr, dass Ihr Aufenthalt zu Ihrer vollsten Zufriedenheit war. Bitte seien Sie versichert, dass ich Ihr Feedback mit der Direktion und dem ganzen Team teilen werde. Wir sind stets darauf bedacht, den Aufenthalt unserer Gäste so angenehm wie möglich zu gestalten und Ihnen ein brillianter Gastgeber zu sein. Noch einmal möchte ich mich ganz herzlich bei Ihnen bedanken! Ich freue mich sehr, Sie bald wieder als Gast begrüßen zu dürfen! Mit den besten Grüßen, das Köln Marriott Hotel Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sehr schönes Hotel in zentraler Lage

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Für eine Tour durch Köln die optimale Ausgangslage. Sehr sauberes Hotel mit ausgesprochen nettem Service-Personal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2014 by Guest Relation Supervisor, Hotel Management
Sehr geehrter Gast, vielen herzlichen Dank, dass Sie sich während Ihres Aufenthaltes in Köln für das Köln Marriott Hotel entschieden haben und sich anschließend die Zeit genommen haben, um unser Hotel auf Expedia zu bewerten. Wir freuen uns sehr über Ihr tolles Feedback. Es ist großartig, dass wir Ihren Aufenthalt in Köln zu etwas Besonderem machen konnten. Wir sind Gastgeber aus Leidenschaft und freuen uns dass wir Sie davon überzeugen konnten. Bis zum nächsten Mal! Mit herzlichen Grüßen, das Köln Marriott Hotel Management Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ibbenbüren

Angenehmer Aufenthalt im Zentrum von Köln

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Cons: Die Nachtruhe war gestört, da bis 2 Uhr die Musik der Hotel-Veranstaltung deutlich in unserem Zimmer zu hören war.
Für einen Stadtbummel und anschliessenden Konzertbesuch benötigten wir ein schönes, zentral gelegenes Hotel. Sehr erfreulich fanden wir, dass uns die Anfrage nach einem Late-Check-out, direkt, unkompliziert und ohne Aufpreis, eingeräumt wurde.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hertfordshire, UK

Great hotel in a great location.

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, helpful staff.
Cons: Free wifi in rooms.
Location: Just the other side of the main station from the Cathedral but only about 5 to 10 minutes walk. Benefits of a central location without the noise.
Very good location, near to the main station but quieter than in the main shopping area, etc. Staff very polite and helpful. Whole hotel and room spotless and well maintained. Would highly recommend staying here especially if you can get a good rate including breakfast as to buy breakfast separately is rather expensive. Only tiny negative is Marriott policy, not the hotel itself. There really should be free wifi in all rooms in this standard of hotel and not just in the public areas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2014 by Guest Relation Supervisor, Hotel Management
Dear Geoff, Greetings from Cologne! Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property on Expedia. I am very delighted that your stay with us was satisfactory. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride exceeding your expectations. I am very glad to inform you that every Marriott Rewards member will benefit from free Wifi from January 2015 in every Marriott Hotel worldwide (under certain conditions). Thank you once again for your great feedback. I look forward to welcoming you again soon! Kind regards, The Cologne Marriott Hotel Management Team