Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

First rate hotel right next to the Cologne Cathedr

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Location, service, decor, facilities
Cons: Nothing!
From the minute you enter the hotel, you are transported to Old World luxury, surrounded by First World comfort and 21 Century amenities. Excellent accommodations, friendly, knowledgeable stafff, next door to one of the most impressive Gothic cathedrals ever built...What else could anyone ever want in Cologne !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Well located, classy hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Location and class.
Cons: The A/C wasn't as strong as it could be.
This hotel is a great option if you're in town to sightsee for a short stay. It's a bit on the pricey side, but not unaffordable, and *right next to* the train station and cathedral. Also an easy walk to lots of restaurants and breweries. Definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Gorgeous rooms and perfect location - stayed in some amazing hotels in my life, but the staff at excelsior are some of the best in the world. Front desk had both junior and senior staff, so a bit mixed, but rest of staff amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shanghai

Really great hotel for stay at Cologne

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Just one night in Cologne so I chose EHE,single room, quite large, quite clean, double doors to keep quiet. A key instead of card was offered for room entrance, very special and elegant. The hotel location is great, very close to the train station, and the Dom is just on the other side if the street! Lovely!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shelley from Hudson Valley, New York

Old-world service & new world comforts

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Elegant rooms, fabulous service
Cons: More dining options at more reasonable (i.e, not just for expense accounts) price levels.
Location: Cathedral right across the street as is the U-Bahn station, Cologne's excellent transportation system.
You can't get any closer to the awesome Cologne Cathedral (Dom) than this, as in right outside your door/window, and the hotel is perhaps 150 meters from the main train station. This is a first-class hotel, with extraordinary front-desk and staff service, for which you pay top dollar/euro. The rooms are elegant, dead quiet, and spacious. We splurged and ate the buffet breakfast in the dining room which, will also elegant, is over-priced and then some. We also ate at Tazu, the downstairs Asian fusion restaurant which, while also beautiful and elegant, is also over-priced. There are lots of restaurant options in the old town and around, with a special shout-out to the brewery next door. But, we thought Excelsior Hotel Ernst charming and definitely worthy of its 5 star status.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Janine from England

Excellent Hotel with Top Class Service

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Location and friendliness of the staff
Location: The hotel is well situated with Cologne Cathedral immediately opposite along with the shopping district and many bars and restaurants.
We spent three nights at the Excelsior for our anniversary. From the moment we arrived, we were looked after by the staff who were very professional, welcoming and friendly. We were shown to our room personally by one of the reception staff and our luggage was brought up separately as part of the concierge service. Our room was on the fourth floor and was excellent, you are supplied with bath robes, slippers, free mini bar, a choice of pillows but ultimately the housekeeping was first class with fresh towels every day. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The concierge had arranged our transfer to and from the hotel from the airport and this was also faultless. We were here for our wedding anniversary and the hotel arranged for some fresh chocolate covered strawberries and a card to be delivered to our room on the day, which was a lovely touch. We did not eat here as we found the prices a little too expensive, however, we did have a drink in the piano bar, which was excellent. All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel and will be stopping here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by MplsMark from Minneapolis

Great Service and Location

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was fine. Front desk staff were great - helpful, thoughtful and remembered me from day to day. The Easter Bunny even brought me chocolates in my room (on Easter)! What a great touch!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AirBecks from Medina, OH

Cologne's Finest

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Location & charm
Cons: Free internet
This old world gem is wonderfully located near the train station and the Cathedral, It has great charm and excellent staff. Food choices are very good. Funny, but my only complaint is not having free internet, and that I couldn't get the shower water hot enough for my taste.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Luis from Oxford

Fantastic

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Great location by the Cathedral and the main attractions in Cologne. The reception staff were first class, very helpful, the room was wonderful (although it should be said, we got a free upgrade) and the bar served a good Grashhopper cocktail.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel Ernst is one of those amazing "old" hotels with all amenities you need. The rooms are spacious, clean and beautiful. Location of hotel could not be better. The staff is unbelievably helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back.