Ratings based on 279 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Cheap summer deal - great hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2014
I stayed for one night at a bargain price. The hotel room was super comfortable and the staff were incredibly helpful. I would totally recommend this hotel during their summer sale season.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

The Hilton is the Hilton...

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Wherever you go. It's a safe option. Fine if rather clinical (although the wooden floor near my bathroom was badly buckled and needed replacing). The Hilton's wifi policy is so 1990s - free wifi in the lobby allegedly (there wasn't) otherwise free wifi if you're a gold or silver frequent flyer with them. Everyone else has to pay an eyewatering fee for internet access. Way to breed resentment rather than loyalty amongst your customers, people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Location

Posted Jul 8, 2014
The location is perfect - easy access to train station, cathedral, museums, and restaurants. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Room great -- free internet from the business center -- everything was more than expected. Great!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janet from Australia

Close to main tourist areas

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Proximity to transport and central tourist sites
Cons: Readily available internet access
Location: Old city and the Dom which we visited over and over !
This was an excellent choice as it was within easy walking distance from the train and also from the centre of the old city. We could hear the wonderful tones of the bells from the Dom and see it from our window. Only area which was not so great was that internet access was expensive when a lot of the hotels we've booked in Europe have had free internet access. This access is pretty critical for planning, checking and keeping contact with family back home. However staff were very friendly and ever resdy to assist in finding things and accommodated our lack of German very politely... thanks for a lovely memory!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from new york

good quality hotel;excellent cooperative,helpful

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: as above,and almost everyone fluent in English
Cons: hotel should publicize major excavation of 12th c. jewish city at medieval city hall and Romam digs in that area.All within walking distance
Location: located in the heart of the city.Cathedral,main museums,Rhine river-all only yards away.Crowds in the area somewhat boisterous. Many pubs very close.
as above,dedicated staff,clean,soundproof,well operating air conditioning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marcus from London

Ticks all the boxes for a business trip

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Location and environment
Cons: Free wifi and a trouser press
Location: Business trip - But the city and cathedral is right on your doorstep should your trip be please or have time for sightseeing.
Pleasant hotel, good location and value for money - Only criticism would be paying 20 Euro for 24 hours of internet... Really? Come on Hilton - it's 2014!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Had a great experience here. Very close to the train station and the Cathedral.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tan from KL

Nice hotel near to main attraction.

Posted Apr 30, 2014
The hotel is very near to the central station and the Cologne cathedral. The only thing to improve is that there is no free wifi available. All the rest of the 6 hotels that I stayed in my recent trip have free wifi. Wifi is now a must.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelli from Seattle, WA

Very convenient to the train station.

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Cons: The size of the room was a bit small, but this is the standard in Europe.
I only stayed here for one night but was very pleased with the cleanliness and appearance of the room. It looked to be newly renovated and the bed was very comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack & Jill from England

Good for centre of Cologne visit

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Good city centre location. Nice staff.
Cons: If possible, to make clear that the standard room is small for two people and/or an extended stay.
Location: It is very near the famous Dom, and all the other museums and sights of Cologne.
The size of the hotel room was disappointingly small. The space to move around was very severely limited, with far too much space taken up with the mini-bar/fridge, which of course I must assume is profitable for the hotel. There was no place to open a suitcase. A desk blocked easy access to the curtains which in turn proved difficult to draw properly. The hanging space for 2 people was inadequate, particularly as much of it was blocked by an iron and ironing board. Much of the room seemed "down-sized", i.e. very small bed-side tables, kettle and mugs in very small recesses. The shower room was a good size with excellent lighting. The 20 euro per day in-room wi-fi charge also seemed high in comparison with other hotels we have stayed in.