Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely - 5 min walk to station / cathedral

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Simply well executed. Rooms are an adequate size, all that you need for a couple of nights. Service brilliant, breakfast lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PhilCheese from Tamworth

Great Breakfast

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Breakfast.
Location: The hotel is close to the Hbf and the Cathedral, so you can easily get to everything in the city and outside it as well.
The hotel is a small town house type and has been renovated to high standards, but in a quite minimalist style. The room was quiet, and adequate in size, but the storage space would not really be adequate for long stays. The star attraction is the breakfast, which as well as all the stuff you expect has extra dainties such as prawns in mayonnaise and chocolate pudding. Service is excellent, but the hotel is unstaffed for part of the day. There is a lift.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from London

Nice quiet hotel close to the sights of Cologne

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Location: 5 minutes from the Cathedral and the main railway station.
A 5 minute walk from the main railway station in Cologne and the Cathedral, this was a comfortable and clean hotel in an attractive building. The street outside was quiet with no passing traffic. Breakfast was buffet-style, with a good selection of dishes - fruit, cereals, freshly cooked omelettes, cold meats and so on. The friendly staff (who spoke good English) were very helpful. The bedroom and bathroom were both very clean and the bed was comfortable, but the tv was positioned on top of a very high wardrobe (however as we were out for most of the day and evening, this did not really matter). We would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by noelia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kassy from Chesterfield

Fab!

Posted Dec 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, with fab food & service
1 out of 5
by Steve from Winchester

Don't bother

Posted Dec 13, 2013
Based on excellent reviews I booked my wife and I into this hotel 3 months in advance of our trip to Cologne. On arrival we were told the hotel was over booked and we were sent to another hotel with a lower rating than the Domstern. There was plenty of time to inform us of this change which would have enabled us to make our own minds up on whether or not we accept this change. I like to research where I stay and therefore found this totally unacceptable. I remember reading a similar review which I unfortunately choose to ignore. If you like to stay where you book then I'd suggest you don't bother with the Hotel Domstern...just in case you end up elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Anna Farley from Kent UK

Christmas markets in cologne

Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed overnight at hotel domstern whilst visiting the Xmas markets. It was very close to the station where we arrived and a few mins walk to the nearest market. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were incredibly friendly. Breakfast was a delight and the location though very central was also lovely and quiet. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kait from Toronto, Canada

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very much pleased with this hotel. The location was excellent, a five minute walk to anything-What impressed us the most was the staff; VERY helpful and friendly with lots of good advice. We were happy with the room-The room was small and basic but had everything we needed; Furnishings were a little worn and dated but room was clean. What made it was the fact it had a super high ceiling and large high windows; The room felt big and let in lots of light. Would stay there again. Only other downside was when driving to the hotel, it is located on a one way street; with LOTS of one way streets surrounding it! Make sure you have a good map when driving; The hotel had secured parking lot across the street we parked at; for a minor surcharge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by S. Thyagarajan from Albany, NY, USA

Nice boutique hotel close to train station

Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is managed by two very friendly men, who took care of all questions. The breakfast, included in the room rate was very good. On the downside, my room (303) was very small, with no room for even a bedside nightstand. Further, the bed was not very comfortable. I did mention these concerns to the host. Please note that the rooms do not have AC, could be rough going in hot weather. I recommend highly for quality of service in a personal service conscious boutique hotel.