Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatchewan

Family apartment

Posted Aug 19, 2014
We stayed in an apartment with our children. The location was an easy walk from the station. The hotel faces the Rhine and our apartment was the street behind. It's a lovely quaint part of the city. The room was great for us. Enough sleeping area for the five. Kitchen wasn't equipped with anything other than a kettle and mini fridge but we didn't need any more than that as we were only there one night. Breakfast was sufficient and the price was reasonable for the area. We felt this was a great place based on the price was paid to have one room for all of us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Noel from N.Z.

Very near the river and town centre

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The room was for 5 people and very spacious. The breakfast was also good.
Cons: The shower head was loose. If I had a phillips head screwdriver I could have fixed it in 2 mins.
Location: Very near the river and walking distance to almost everything in town. Including the Cologne Dom. Reasonably priced.
The room we got was not part of the Hotel itself but a short walk away. It was opposite an underground carpark entrance which is very handy if you are travelling by car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by marylander from washington dc

Nice apartment hotel close to center of Koln

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Close to restaurant, the river, nice walk along the river
Cons: Wish provide shampoo etc.
Location: Train bridge, chocolate museum, walk along river, restaurants,
Hotel is located close to central train station. It took us longer to get there because the construction around the cathedral. Need to walk around the cathedral to the othe side then walk towards to river. The street is the river front between the train bridge and the other bridge. Once we found it, it is easy to get to the center. It is tight in the middle of restaurants. We walked to the train bridge, chocolate museum, and along the river. The apartment is good place to stay for a family. Wish they provide shampoo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious Apartment, Close to the Christmas Market

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Location. Breakfast at the hotel was excellent.
Cons: More chairs or a sofa in the living room. Only place to sit is on the bed.
We had a two bedroom apartment over the holidays. The rooms were large. The "living room" had a large bed and no sofa. The bedroom also had a large bed. It was a bit noisy on the living room side with the Christmas market going on. Location was great - easy walk to the Cathedral, the river, etc. I would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from Brighton, UK

Lovely small hotel in the old part of Cologne

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Hotel Hayk is small, clean, comfortable and in a great location.
Location: Hotel Hayk is in the pedestrian area on the edge of the old town so its nice and quiet at night yet you are very close to all the best sights.
We stayed only one night but would stay longer on a longer visit to Cologne. Hayk is a small, family run hotel. The bed was very comfy and breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Spacey from Hertford

Nice and central

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff, great location, nice room.
Cons: The temperature of the shower could be easier to control, but other than that it was excellent for the price.
Location: Close to the river, most museums, the railway station and Dom cathedral. Chocolate museum is really good as is the old Gestapo headquarters museum
Had a wonderful stay in one of the apartments, which was huge. Staff speak little English and I speak little German, but they were so lovely and helpful we got there in the end. The hotel is very well placed for all the museums, the cathedral and railway station, which are all walking distance. It was also very quiet at night and with comfy beds, we slept really well. Would come back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from Philadelphia

Spacious choice for Cologne.

Posted Jul 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed in one of the apartments the hotel Hayk offers. The location is great - walking distance to the train station and the Dome, right on the river, and nestled in among many cafes and restaurants. The apartment offers some advantages, specifically it was huge and very clean and comfortable. Very nice to have a living room to congregate in. Its also right by the main hotel, so no worries there. There were downsides though. The elevator was broken for all 3 days I was there. There is no internet in the apartment but you can get it in the main hotel), the water is not potable, soap and shampoo are not provided. There was an iron, but no ironing board.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location but...

Posted May 6, 2013
Great location but the hotel itself is very mediocre. Beds aren't very comfortable. Towels a bit stale and hot water was very intermittent on both days of use and that was frustrating. The appearance did not match the pictures I saw online and I caught a look at most of the rooms while they were cleaning them. All looked pretty worn. I felt a bit mislead from the photos. Good Lebanese restaurant right behind hotel and the location is very nice. Easy enough walk from central station so you don't need a cab. If you get a good deal, it will definitely do, but don't expect it to look like it does online.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
One problem is that taxi drivers from the main train station do not know how to get down to that part of the waterfront. Subsequently, we were let out at least 3 blocks from the hotel & forced to walk with lots of baggage. Second, there is no elevator to the guest rooms & we were on the third floor. Third, we paid extra for breakfast (15 Euros total) & we wanted to do so with a 50 Euro note. Unfortuantely, they did not have change which I thought was strange. The hotel is very nice inside. However, the bathroom towels were just awful. I'm not sure if I would stay there again but I love that area because our favorite restaurant is in walking distance along the river.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
It would have been nice to know that the apartment was not waterfront where the hotel check in desk was.