Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Four star with free wi-fi and free breakfast

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Free wi-fi and breakfast.
Cons: Could have provided some tea bags along with coffee machine.
Location: Conveneient location, just only five to 7 minutes from the main rail station.
Bbetter than expected hotel with reasonably comfortable room and convenient location not far from the main rail station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by keith from Glasgow

Great Hotel Near the Cologne Railway Station

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Breakfast.
Cons: Please supply tea in the rooms rather than just coffee!
Location: Ideal location near the train station. Tip - to find the hotel on arrival at train station, don't take the exit to the Dom...go the opposite exit.
This hotel has everything you need for your city break. Helpful reception staff, great breakfast and nice room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Hotel Santo

Posted Nov 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good location, nice hotel. 5-10 minute walk to station. Cery good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Karen B. from USA

Top Notch Stay

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
We spent two very comfortable nights at Hotel Santo and would highly recommend it. The room was very modern and well thought out. The beds were some of the most comfortable we have encountered, and the breakfast buffet was outstanding. The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood about 6 blocks from the train station. A market and restaurant area is only about 2 blocks away. Our stay was excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Strangebru from MSP,Mn

Good hotel for the price near Cologne Alt Stadt

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: Close to the river and AltStadt/Cathedral
Cons: Construction across the street and noisy if windows left open. And they worked on Saturday.
Location: See above comments
Very Art Deco modern and functional hotel. Quirky room numbering...look for it lit up in the floor in front of the door!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Sep 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel Santo is a modern hotel in good condition and clean. Location is fine. Service is attentive but does not go the extra mile in terms of welcoming or offering help, at any stage. The room was on the first floor, relatively spacious and luminous. The bed is comfortable but the pillows aren't , even despite the 2 options, both equally uncomfortable. The worst issue is that there is no air con system so we slept with windows open for fresh air. We spent a Saturday and Sunday night. Saturday was great, not a single sound, except the occasional wheelie bag being carried down the pavement and the odd drunk singing or shouting, but Sunday after the early hours of dawn is seriously noisy. You have a guaranteed wake up call around 4.00am and it is non stop. The bathroom is very spacious, with a reasonably powerful shower in a shower cubicle which is not the biggest considering the size of the room. Towels are rough, they are not the best quality and on the small side, all ranges. Toiletries are on the economic side of quality. Hair dryer is powerful but they are the ones where you have to keep your finger pressing for blow. Not the most practical. Breakfast is ok, having to pay extra for espressos. All in all it was ok, i just feel it is overpriced. It is not good value for money. I would expect to pay more in the region of £100-£120 than £175p/n which is what I paid the previous year in the same city staying at the same star rating hotel, better location, better breakfast, etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Excellent customer service and very clean

Posted Aug 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
I had to find a hotel quickly, so I settled on this one because of other reviewers. The room for one was small for sure, but it was spotless. Everything in it was a hard surface (except the bed - the decor was as someone else wrote, kind of Ikea-y. The flat screen sat on the mirrored minibar. The closet was inaccessible as another reviewer wrote, but it did have a full length mirror which was well-positioned when the door was open. The bed was a standard German single bed. The bathroom was fine and had a recessed wall shelf which was really useful. All amenities were available including a vanity mirror, a hairdryer, shoe polisher, slippers, and sewing kit. For me it was Ok because I was there for one night and needed to work so I had peace of mind, a quiet room (not facing the construction), near black-out shades, and a desk with adequate space. The hotel decor was tasteful minus the pictures of naked women on the walls. While the location was rather uncharming, there was a supermarket 1 minute away and a nice little Platz maybe 5-10mins walk. The best part of my stay was the customer service. I typically stay in very high end hotels and the service here rivaled them- that is saying a lot. I had all kinds of issues and needed help with many things and they gladly assisted. SO, bottom line: if you're looking for a functionally good hotel that has off the charts customer service and is super clean, this is the place for you.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
We arrived at a hot summer evening and got a room without air-conditioning, even though it's clearly stated room details with air conditioning in my reservation. I was told there is no other room available. After I spoke to the staff the second time that it's unbearably hot in our room, I was offered a tiny room with a smaller bed for exchange. To be fair, the hotel is clean and breakfast is good. I simply didn't get what I booked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rodrigo from Guatemala City

Confortable hotel near the train station.

Posted Aug 8, 2013
Pros: Confortable, room size was OK and close to the train station and the tourist attractions.
Location: In 15 minutes you are in the very special Cologne cathedral.
This hotel is a few blocks away from the train station, a 10 minute walk. It is not located in the touristic part of the city, but it is close. As I said, you walk 10 minutes to the train station and then you are in the touristic part. Hotel is confortable, has wi-fi free and breakfast was fine. I have no complains about the hotel.