Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Close to Phantasialand but nothing else nearby

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Showers good
Cons: Better towels - threadbare & small at moment! Some in room facilities or free water would be good
Location: Nothing nearby. 20 mins from phantasialand otherwise industrial estate
Bland hotel. Few facilities but good showers. Pool looked good but we didn't use. Restaurant food was good but expensive & service not good. Wouldn't serve tap water with meal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frodsham, Cheshire, UK

Nice staff but a very basic hotel!!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Very basic, very disappointed that it was a superior room but didnt even have a kettle or any tea/coffee making facilities, i asked if we paid extra could we have them but was told we'd have to pay to upgrade and move to a whole new room. To me these are basic facilities which you would expect even in the most budget of hotels, as we were there for 7 nights it was inconvenient and did put me off.. The t.v was german freeview so had only 1 English channel and that was news!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great hotel. Conveniently situated for bruhl

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Very comfortable.great breakfast and perfect bar suppers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Great for a quick stop en route

Posted Aug 8, 2014
I booked this hotel as a 1 night stop from UK to Munich for 2 adults and 2 children. The price was excellent, just £53 (no breakfast). The room was a little cramped with the additional beds in but ok for one night. The terrace restaurant was a real surprise, great food, nice setting with local dishes on offer. As with other comments it does seem a little harsh to make you pay for the car park when there is not a lot else around? In the end we decided to drive into Cologne for breakfast so we could've stayed a bit more central but I doubt we'd have found anything for that price which was as easy and pleasant. Recommended :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by C S L

Nice modern rooms

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was in a good location for us as we were going to a specific location, but for a general visit, it would be a little out of the way. There are a lot of big store (hardware etc.), but not normal shops interesting for tourists. The rooms were nice and modern, but unfortunately as it was super hot, we were a little warm in the rooms as the air conditioning is not so strong.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Easy to find, friendly and clean, good bar food.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff.
Location: 2 minutes to tram stop into city for a bit of culture, close to Michael Schumacher go kart track, 20 minutes drive to theme park Phantasialand.
Great place for a city break, small pool and gym to keep children happy,close to tram stop so easy to get into city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Andi from Wien

Mercure Hotel Köln West

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was OK to stay there. Good connection to public transport into the city. Big shopping mall in walking distance. We received smoker rooms, but the stench could not be felt at all. Some small amenities would've come handy, like a hot water kettle and tea bags/coffee pods with it. The hotel in general non-smoker, but the deicated smoking area is just by the entry gate. This means one has to walk through the smoke all the time coming or leaving the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ramírez

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ahmed Imam from Llandudno

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ian from UK

Ok

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is average. It's a bit out of the way, yes it is close to a tram stop, however, it can be quite a wait for the next tram. On the plus side, there are some cheap supermarkets over the road, and a couple of fast food places round the corner, as well as a bratwurst place a bit further....so no need to pay for things from the fridge or room service. The staff were rude to me a couple of times and fairly short and unhelpful another time. Another interesting "feature" of our room, was the lack of sockets to plug stuff in as well as their strange location! The only Two available sockets were located near the desk on the opposite side of the room to the bed! The shower was strange too, in that it utterly soaked the bathroom when you turned it on(due to a leak and poor shielding)!! On the plus side, the swimming pool was nice and housekeeping worked around our odd schedule excellently. Overall average. Worth paying a bit more for a better location imo.