Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Easy to find, friendly and clean, good bar food.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff.
Location: 2 minutes to tram stop into city for a bit of culture, close to Michael Schumacher go kart track, 20 minutes drive to theme park Phantasialand.
Great place for a city break, small pool and gym to keep children happy,close to tram stop so easy to get into city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ahmed Imam from Llandudno

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ian from UK

Ok

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is average. It's a bit out of the way, yes it is close to a tram stop, however, it can be quite a wait for the next tram. On the plus side, there are some cheap supermarkets over the road, and a couple of fast food places round the corner, as well as a bratwurst place a bit further....so no need to pay for things from the fridge or room service. The staff were rude to me a couple of times and fairly short and unhelpful another time. Another interesting "feature" of our room, was the lack of sockets to plug stuff in as well as their strange location! The only Two available sockets were located near the desk on the opposite side of the room to the bed! The shower was strange too, in that it utterly soaked the bathroom when you turned it on(due to a leak and poor shielding)!! On the plus side, the swimming pool was nice and housekeeping worked around our odd schedule excellently. Overall average. Worth paying a bit more for a better location imo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Greg from Prague, Czech Republic

Decent Hotel If You're Just Passing Through

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: It had a pool for the kids. It was close to the highway which is exactly what we needed while driving from the Netherlands to Vienna.
Cons: It's a hotel outside the city center, with parking lots all over the area. There is absolutely no excuse for them to charge for parking. Really lame!
Location: It's close to fast food, gas, groceries and the highway. It's no where close to the city center (6.1 miles away) if that's what you're looking for.
The hotel is decent enough, but definitely nothing special. The hallways were poorly lit and gloomy. They nickel and dime you to death with demanding payment for parking, internet and breakfast. The room price was pretty good and the rooms were clean and had good toiletries in the bathroom. Our kids really appreciated the free indoor swimming pool which is pretty uncommon to find in European hotels, so that was the main positive of our stay. If you're just passing by Cologne on your way to somewhere else (like we were) and need a place to stay this will likely meet your needs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Milton Keynes

Quiet hotel located just outside the city

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Quite clean and in a convenient location even if a little way out of Cologne city centre, this hotel was quiet for our stay
Cons: Comfort could have been better as the pillows were very flat - we asked the reception staff for extra pillows but these did not materialise
Location: Cologne is a short distance with plenty of shops to browse, cathedral is very impressive, Maastrict is approx 40 miles away and is well worth a visit
We stayed for 4 nights at this hotel whilst sightseeing in Germany, overall it met our needs as we were traveling within Germany during our stay. Beware if you are intending to visit by car the hotel charge 7.50 euro's a day to park, we chose to park in the streets surrounding the hotel and judging by the empty car park I guess most of the other guests did too
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good location handy nearby shopping centre. Nice if a bit pricey restaurant. Staff friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JJ from UK

Nice hotel with friendly staff

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: Good price. Swimming pool. Sauna.
Cons: Parking was not cheap. This could be free, especially as there is a large car park.
Location: There are supermarkets like Lidl across the road, and coffee shops. Tram station is a few minutes walk away, tram takes about 15 mins to city centre.
Nice hotel with plenty of parking spaces. Very clean. The staff were very helpful and always willing to chat and provide helpful advice on the city. It is within a minute walk of a few supermarkets like Lidl and coffee shops. There is also a McDonald's nearby. The tram station is only a few minutes walk away and this takes you into the city centre, so there is no need to drive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by R. N. from Las Vegas

Very nice, but a bit off the beaten track

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
This Mercure is listed as being in Koeln West, which didn't register to us when we made our reservation. It's a 25-minute tram ride from Koeln central. For those who like a more relaxed, country-style atmosphere, this hotel is a wise choice. The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included in our package, and it was fantastic. Although it's buffet style, servers roam around to provide expresso drinks at no additional cost. Our stay was five days, and by day two, the servers already knew our drink preferences to the point that we didn't even to order them--the drinks just came. We highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Julia from UK

Wonderful position if you travel in a car

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is v. conveniently located not far from the motorway (you appreciate it when even after driving 300 km on European motorways you are still not sure about driving on small roads) and very close to tram station (if you want to get to Koln's centre to see its magnificent cathedral). Room was in immaculate condition, kids really loved the fantastic shower. Absence of free wi-fi was a little bit annoying but you've been warned in a small print information about hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by gmc from uk

Great value

Posted Aug 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is about 8km from Cologne centre. There is a tram about 200 metres away taking 20 ins into the city centre. It has a nice pool and sauna (only open in the evening). It was very quiet when we were there and staff speak excellent English. Great value for a family room. Perfect base to explore Cologne.