Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frodsham, Cheshire, UK

Nice staff but a very basic hotel!!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Very basic, very disappointed that it was a superior room but didnt even have a kettle or any tea/coffee making facilities, i asked if we paid extra could we have them but was told we'd have to pay to upgrade and move to a whole new room. To me these are basic facilities which you would expect even in the most budget of hotels, as we were there for 7 nights it was inconvenient and did put me off.. The t.v was german freeview so had only 1 English channel and that was news!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great hotel. Conveniently situated for bruhl

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Very comfortable.great breakfast and perfect bar suppers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Great for a quick stop en route

Posted Aug 8, 2014
I booked this hotel as a 1 night stop from UK to Munich for 2 adults and 2 children. The price was excellent, just £53 (no breakfast). The room was a little cramped with the additional beds in but ok for one night. The terrace restaurant was a real surprise, great food, nice setting with local dishes on offer. As with other comments it does seem a little harsh to make you pay for the car park when there is not a lot else around? In the end we decided to drive into Cologne for breakfast so we could've stayed a bit more central but I doubt we'd have found anything for that price which was as easy and pleasant. Recommended :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Easy to find, friendly and clean, good bar food.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff.
Location: 2 minutes to tram stop into city for a bit of culture, close to Michael Schumacher go kart track, 20 minutes drive to theme park Phantasialand.
Great place for a city break, small pool and gym to keep children happy,close to tram stop so easy to get into city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Andi from Wien

Mercure Hotel Köln West

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was OK to stay there. Good connection to public transport into the city. Big shopping mall in walking distance. We received smoker rooms, but the stench could not be felt at all. Some small amenities would've come handy, like a hot water kettle and tea bags/coffee pods with it. The hotel in general non-smoker, but the deicated smoking area is just by the entry gate. This means one has to walk through the smoke all the time coming or leaving the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ramírez

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ahmed Imam from Llandudno

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ian from UK

Ok

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is average. It's a bit out of the way, yes it is close to a tram stop, however, it can be quite a wait for the next tram. On the plus side, there are some cheap supermarkets over the road, and a couple of fast food places round the corner, as well as a bratwurst place a bit further....so no need to pay for things from the fridge or room service. The staff were rude to me a couple of times and fairly short and unhelpful another time. Another interesting "feature" of our room, was the lack of sockets to plug stuff in as well as their strange location! The only Two available sockets were located near the desk on the opposite side of the room to the bed! The shower was strange too, in that it utterly soaked the bathroom when you turned it on(due to a leak and poor shielding)!! On the plus side, the swimming pool was nice and housekeeping worked around our odd schedule excellently. Overall average. Worth paying a bit more for a better location imo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Greg from Prague, Czech Republic

Decent Hotel If You're Just Passing Through

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: It had a pool for the kids. It was close to the highway which is exactly what we needed while driving from the Netherlands to Vienna.
Cons: It's a hotel outside the city center, with parking lots all over the area. There is absolutely no excuse for them to charge for parking. Really lame!
Location: It's close to fast food, gas, groceries and the highway. It's no where close to the city center (6.1 miles away) if that's what you're looking for.
The hotel is decent enough, but definitely nothing special. The hallways were poorly lit and gloomy. They nickel and dime you to death with demanding payment for parking, internet and breakfast. The room price was pretty good and the rooms were clean and had good toiletries in the bathroom. Our kids really appreciated the free indoor swimming pool which is pretty uncommon to find in European hotels, so that was the main positive of our stay. If you're just passing by Cologne on your way to somewhere else (like we were) and need a place to stay this will likely meet your needs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Milton Keynes

Quiet hotel located just outside the city

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Quite clean and in a convenient location even if a little way out of Cologne city centre, this hotel was quiet for our stay
Cons: Comfort could have been better as the pillows were very flat - we asked the reception staff for extra pillows but these did not materialise
Location: Cologne is a short distance with plenty of shops to browse, cathedral is very impressive, Maastrict is approx 40 miles away and is well worth a visit
We stayed for 4 nights at this hotel whilst sightseeing in Germany, overall it met our needs as we were traveling within Germany during our stay. Beware if you are intending to visit by car the hotel charge 7.50 euro's a day to park, we chose to park in the streets surrounding the hotel and judging by the empty car park I guess most of the other guests did too