Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

dodgy hotel in red light area

Posted Sep 16, 2014
no light in bathroom, very very noisy - marble floors and could hear everyone coming in even at 6.30 a.m....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Sketchy Area, Hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff, breakfast.
Cons: Beds, outside noise.
Location: Location is good. Around a 20 minute walk to the train station and cathedral, very close to shopping area.
The hotel staff is very friendly, however the hotel is in a loud street and we could barely sleep due to the noise coming from bars and people on the street late at night. The beds are uncomfortable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Paige from Melbourne

Basic needs met

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel met our needs for the night in that it had a bed, but past that it didn't offer much. It is what it says, but the service is lacking and our curtains didn't close all the way so we were up early. The breakfast leaves a lot to be desired, but it's included so can't complain. Very good location, would stay again but ask for a room where the curtains close.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Zo from Texas

Cheap rooms

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room is an awkward shape (difficult for two people to maneuver since the pathways were so narrow) and the sinks leaked onto the floor, which was a little disconcerting. Whenever you'd shower, the water would get EVERYWHERE on the floor. I guess that's why the drain is there? Additionally, the doors are pretty thin so you can hear when someone is leaving/entering their room. The free breakfast was pretty good. The staff at the desk were very nice. Had I known they had free maps, I would have used theirs instead of buying one.
1 out of 5
by h from co

Poor area and no warning about sex trade

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Be honest where you are located.
Location: Leave the area.
No warning of notice below from bars and yelling in the streets at night. Should have been paid to stay there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location and nice hotel ambience

Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall it is a nice hotel in a great location at a very affordable price. If you go by car they have an agreement with a near by car park so that you can leave your car safely at a cheap price per day. The breakfast is not the greatest I had in a hotel and the bed we had was a little bit noisy. Other than that we had a nice rest and the decoration of the hotel is lovely.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel on main sex shop street in the city

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Reception staff
Weird Gothic hotel with gay sex shop next door and on a strange street. Felt uncomfortable walking back there late at night. My room was tiny. Reception staff good Breakfast was ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Chris from London

Interesting Area

Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Hotel is fine, good breakfast included. The Hotel is near the centre but has adult shops all around it! The room was basic but fine for 1 night, the staff were nice and helpful, parking is hit and miss but there is an underground acr park nearby that the hotel get as discount on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2014 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you had a nice stay in our Hotel Ahl Meerkatzen. We would be very pleased if we can welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Ahl Meerkatzen Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Nat from Minneapolis

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
the staff is very friendly and the hotel has a wonderful charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by nat from Minneapolis

very much enjoyed my stay

Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
A very pleasant hotel with lots of history and a very nice and helpful staff located close to the center of the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2014 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Nat, Thank you for your review and your kind words, regarding your stay in our Hotel Ahl Meerkatzen. We have gladly passed your positive comments to our employees. We hope to welcome you again as our guest soon. Sincerely Yours Ahl Meerkatzen Team