Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

One night stay.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
My experience overall was ok, staff was extra nice and attentive, however this is a very old hotel at least it seems that way. The lighting in the room was dim and only two outlets. I had to unplug the alarm clock in order to charge my cell phone and unplug a lamp to charge my Bluetooth. Will I stay again? Maybe but it will not be my first choice. Pics on website are deceiving.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Not as advertised

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: The location.
Location: This is close to Ft. Jackson, but they seem to be unaware of that or don't care.
We booked a room at Clarion because it had a pool and restaurant. Upon arrival we found it had neither. They did offer a continental breakfast, but it wasn't available until after 7:00 and since we had to be at our destination in Columbia at that time it was of no use to us. The room was not clean. There was still trash on the floor, including a small ring. The decor was dated, and shop worn. Chips in the sink, paper peeling off the wall in places, stains in the carpet. The remote was missing for the TV (that was finally replaced the second day). Also on the second day a TV guide card in a broken plastic holder showed up on our desk. One of the things that really bothered me was the lack of sufficient electrical outlets. The hotel had attempted to make up for this by running dime store electrical extension cords everywhere (I'm sure the fire marshal would have been thrilled). This room was far from three star accommodations. Supposedly the hotel is going to be renovated and opened as a Hilton hotel. I wouldn't bother staying here until AFTER those renovations are finished.......
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from murrells inlet, sc

Very convenient! Super comfortable bed

Posted Aug 2, 2014
I stay here when I travel to Columbia for work-at least once a month. Staff is friendly, welcoming, and caring. Room with king bed is the best!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Close to my office

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Proximity to my office. I walked every day, even in the South Carolina heat.
Cons: New carpeting, and the bar was closed every night I was there.
Location: This was a business trip, but it was near the State Capitol Building and the trendy Vista neighborhood of Columbia, so I did walk around in the evenin
This was the nearest hotel to the office I was visiting that was within my budget. There was a closer hotel, but it was more than double the cost. This hotel was OK, but they need to recarpet throughout. The halls and the room carpeting was well past their prime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Spacious and comfortable beds.
Cons: Make sure the pool is opened when it is 90 degrees out.
We weren't there very long just spent the night on our way to the next stop but it was very comfortable. Disappointed that the pool was not opened though.
2 out of 5
by George from SC

Worn down

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Remove stains from carpeting, provide hotel amenity information to guests upon check-in, add convenience power outlets to work desk and night stands.
Location: There seemed to be a lot of restaurants near by, but the overall area was a little rough.
I chose this hotel for a business trip for the combination of location and price. The price was good, but next time I'll pay more and stay in a newer, more refreshed, cleaner hotel with better amenities for business travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by anonymous from Virginia

close to USC

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable room. Pleasant staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike Simmons

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

College visit

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Great location to the university and downtown shops/restaurants