Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel with uncompromising staff

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Half of the staff I encountered proved fairly rude to myself and other customers. Two staff members almost refused me my pre-paid room, because I did not have a credit card present for them to swipe for incidentals and they would not take a credit card number. (I just turned 18 and would have been left over a thousand miles from home to sleep on the street). Furthermore, another staff member derided a customer over the phone all throughout breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Murrells Inlet, SC

close to USC campus

Posted Apr 8, 2014
We enjoyed our stay, clean room, nice bed, and overall a nice room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the action

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Hotel is in a great location not too far away from downtown I guess. Everything in the room was great. They even has a small happy hour everyday, that was pretty neat. My only complaint was breakfast. I like a hot breakfast in the morning so I almost instantly went to this hotel. It was way below par, pretty disappointing. That's not going to take away from anything, but I'll just include that.
2 out of 5
by JDC from North east - Massachusetts

Visit -

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: expedia
Cons: I think the staff in general are friendly and helpful but far to "laid back" they are slow to respond to requests and tend to leave you hanging.
Location: Univ. South Carolina, Riverside Zoo and Botanical gardens - One of the best zoos I've even been in and I've been to many including Europe.
Very disappointed with the attitude of the Manager when she realized I lost some much needed sleep because of some crazy out of control guests in the room next to me. They woke us from our sleep at 1am with screaming and yelling my kids and myself were actually terrified as seemed like a domestic disturbance issue and we were scared, - the reception said "we'd take care of it" but it was too late by that time and hard to get back to sleep, It took 3 phone calls and they moved the guest I believe. She didn't seem to think this was an issue at all - I've spoken to her 3 times asking for compensation and she is not interested so that is why this hotel is getting a bad review. The rooms comfort is excellent - the breakfast is excellent - the night manager was very sweet and made fresh baked cookies per our request for my kids. The pool was "CLOSED" which we discovered after my kids got into the water and I asked for towels "for what" they asked - pool towels - "oh the pools not open - it hasn't been cleaned for the season "GREAT" thanks - "up to the shower kids - THEN they put the sign up -- Thanks again. It was hard to see it there(the pool) in 75 degrees and not be abe use it after all the snow in the north east. That is why we choose a hotel with a pool. Disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Our experience was ALL good, staff was great and rooms very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceeded expectations

Posted Mar 16, 2014
His hotel is either new, recently renovated or simply extremely well kept. Very clean room. We had a king bed room and it was very comfortable. Pillows seemed new too. If I come back to Columbia I will definitely stay here again. Free breakfast was great. Lots of choices. Hot food as well as yogurt and fruit. Staff was friendly. Great place!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gymnastics trip.

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Enjoyed my stay very much. The Lady at the desk was very friendly and very nice. Every hotel could use her as a model manager.
Cons: A waffle maker would have been nice. The pancake cooker was out of order. A soda fountain would be nice also.
We were there for my granddaughters gymnastics competition. There were three families there and they were able to give us rooms in the same hall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dawn & Robin from Stamford & Darien, CT

We were caught in the snow storm

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: Everything. we even used the computers to check our emails,etc.
Location: Great restaurants such as Liberty &Tsunami.
The overall experience was wonderful. The staff especially Jenny was most courteous and helpful. The buffet breakfast was great and we even used the fitness room . Even though we were there on the night of the ice storm we stayed in the room that evening and left after lunch the next day. My girlfriend & I were visiting Columbia for the first time as her son was had surgery at the Palmetto Baptiste hospital. We ended up walking there in the early afternoon when we thought it was safe enough to walk up the hill. We would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bethy from Georgia

Wonderful Stay!

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Location, Staff
Stayed here for a concert at Colonial Life Arena. Hotel was very clean and the staff were excellent. Will be staying here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2014