Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Value for your money.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Location: This is a great place for parents of students at the University.
I have stayed here twice already. I find it to be a clean, comfortable, friendly place with great access to everything in Columbia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Augusta

Close to downtown

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Very convenient location and I was very pleased with my stay. It included hot bar breakfast and even has a pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words Viviana! We appreciate you taking the time to share how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us know if we can do anything to make your next visit even more enjoyable!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced/Not what I booked

Posted Jun 24, 2014
The hotel (and Expedia) advertized twin beds. I grabbed it as I needed that setup, even though it was more expensive and further that where I wanted to stay. Turns out their idea of twins was a roll-out sofa. Not what I paid up for! Also, hotel has ZERO amenities after breakfast. No coffee, no bar, no restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us here in Columbia, and I apologize if you did not receive your first choice in room type. We try our best to make sure everyone gets the room they request when dealing with "best available" reservations, however it is not always possible. We appreciate your understanding! With my apologies, you are correct that as a limited service hotel we do not have an in-house bar or restaurant. However we are conveniently located only a few minutes from the Vista area in downtown, which is known for its many great restaurants and nightlife! We also offer a Manager's Happy Hour every weekday to welcome our guests and help you relax after a long day. With all this in mind, we hope to see you again the next time you're in Columbia!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

2 day visit

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, friendly staff, quiet
Cons: Nothing, really.
Location: Blue Marlin restaurant is excellent
Good location to downtown, easy parking, easy access by Taylor or by Huger street. Nice typical Holiday Inn breakfasts, although the greek yogurt and hot frosted cinnamon buns were something new. Great staff, they promptly found a left item and had it waiting at the front desk for us on our return. Decent little workout area, overall clean and very adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Convenient to graduation location. Nice breakfast

Posted May 31, 2014
It was nice but the bathtub plug was not attached. No complaints though. Clean, comfortable, nice staff, good breakfast, and convenient location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2014 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Greetings again Yan! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - we appreciate the compliments as well! I have already had our maintenance staff address the minor bathroom issue you mentioned, and hope it did not detract from a great night's sleep! Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to Columbia!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barbara from North Augusta, SC

Girls weekend in Cola

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable
Cons: Parking is a little awkward, but it is a downtown location, so that is to be expected.
Location: Very close to everything going on in the downtown area.
Our stay was very pleasant. The lobby was beautiful. The room was nice, clean, and comfy. No complaints at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel with uncompromising staff

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Half of the staff I encountered proved fairly rude to myself and other customers. Two staff members almost refused me my pre-paid room, because I did not have a credit card present for them to swipe for incidentals and they would not take a credit card number. (I just turned 18 and would have been left over a thousand miles from home to sleep on the street). Furthermore, another staff member derided a customer over the phone all throughout breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Murrells Inlet, SC

close to USC campus

Posted Apr 8, 2014
We enjoyed our stay, clean room, nice bed, and overall a nice room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the action

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Hotel is in a great location not too far away from downtown I guess. Everything in the room was great. They even has a small happy hour everyday, that was pretty neat. My only complaint was breakfast. I like a hot breakfast in the morning so I almost instantly went to this hotel. It was way below par, pretty disappointing. That's not going to take away from anything, but I'll just include that.
2 out of 5
by JDC from North east - Massachusetts

Visit -

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: expedia
Cons: I think the staff in general are friendly and helpful but far to "laid back" they are slow to respond to requests and tend to leave you hanging.
Location: Univ. South Carolina, Riverside Zoo and Botanical gardens - One of the best zoos I've even been in and I've been to many including Europe.
Very disappointed with the attitude of the Manager when she realized I lost some much needed sleep because of some crazy out of control guests in the room next to me. They woke us from our sleep at 1am with screaming and yelling my kids and myself were actually terrified as seemed like a domestic disturbance issue and we were scared, - the reception said "we'd take care of it" but it was too late by that time and hard to get back to sleep, It took 3 phone calls and they moved the guest I believe. She didn't seem to think this was an issue at all - I've spoken to her 3 times asking for compensation and she is not interested so that is why this hotel is getting a bad review. The rooms comfort is excellent - the breakfast is excellent - the night manager was very sweet and made fresh baked cookies per our request for my kids. The pool was "CLOSED" which we discovered after my kids got into the water and I asked for towels "for what" they asked - pool towels - "oh the pools not open - it hasn't been cleaned for the season "GREAT" thanks - "up to the shower kids - THEN they put the sign up -- Thanks again. It was hard to see it there(the pool) in 75 degrees and not be abe use it after all the snow in the north east. That is why we choose a hotel with a pool. Disappointed.