Ratings based on 325 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: The hotel staff was very helpful, especially the young man at the front desk.
My only complaint...I was not sure where I was supposed to park. Signage indicating route from the parking deck to the hotel lobby could be improved. Otherwise, my experience was great. I liked the charm of the renovated bank building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte NC

Nice hotel

Posted May 16, 2015
Nice hotel. I had a great stay there. But my only problem is that they don't have parking. U have to pay $22 everyday for a valet parking. If u trying to stay there longer than 2nights like I did. U will be paying a arm and legs for parking. And they over price the food. I order 6wings and some French fries, and my bill came to $30. So I recommend that u eat out, if u not looking to pay a fortune for some food. But order that that, it was a great place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Some Good, Some Bad

Posted May 10, 2015
Room cleanliness and housekeeping staff was the biggest problem with this hotel. The room wasn't cleaned or fresh towels/sheets and refill of toiletries provided during our entire 3 night stay despite our constant in-person requests and calls to the front desk. The rooftop bar was fantastic but they ran out of rum and vodka during the evening we were there. Floors in room were squeaky, thin walls, no fridge, small crowded rooms, no counter space in bathroom, bathroom walls were dirty and shower stall had hair on the floor. POSH restaurant for breakfast was terrible, not very tasty food and not very friendly service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom charlotte,nc

Nice Hotel.close to restaurants,Capitol,USC.

Posted May 4, 2015
Had a great experience. Check in was easy,room was all we needed,breakfast was really good.check out was also easy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room, too expensive for what it is.

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: The decor and architecture
Cons: Larger room, better workout area.
Location: On Main St. in the hear of downtown. Drip coffee across the street was great for breakfast. The Indie Grits festival at the Nickelodeon was nearby.
Small but comfy room. They placed me across from the ice maker, so that was noisy. Staff was helpful. The building architecture has been retained, which was a plus. Do not order food or drinks at their top bar or restaurant. There are so many places to eat and drink in Columbia that are much better. I had a reduced rate, which still was quite expensive for the amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Character and staff.
Cons: The carpeting in the common areas could be improved.
Location: South Carolina Capital Building, the Vista area
Old hotel centrally located within walking distance of USC campus and the vista. Room small but comfortable. Very nice front desk staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Gatos, CA

Great location, but very tired hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, and facade.
Cons: Needs a complete facelift immediately.
Really well-located hotel in the heart of downtown Columbia, great facade, but ends there. Massive deferred maintenance = dirty, very tired and thus overpriced hotel (it was Masters week, but still). Needs repairs everywhere. Great example: in-room refrigerators were causing problems, so they took them all out ... Exercise room had six pieces of equipment, but 2 were entirely non-functional. Lobby bar never opened, ever, though the staff said "today, tomorrow, tonight," then "don't know when." Roof top bar bathrooms rarely serviced. You get the picture. Have valet parking, but no dedicated parking at the hotel. Need to go a half block away (not the end of the world, but not attached either). We enjoyed our stay because we were at the Masters, but this is one seriously run down hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
never got there this trip - a total mix-up. stayed there in the past and it is excellent. will stay there on our next trip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: quaint and in town, nice surroundings
Cons: Back of house a little dirty
Great bed, Restaurant good breakfast and good service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to Colonial Life Arena

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Close to Colonial Life Arena
Cons: Parking
Location: Plenty of places to eat within walking distance ...
Not enough parking to park in the parking lot for the hotel - which is around the back. If you get there late you wind up in the parking deck across the street. Not the worst thing but nice to know ahead of time. Breakfast was good and rooms were nice.