Ratings based on 401 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kalispell Montana

Nice views and staff

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Wonderful dinner with very old history surrounding the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, headed to Ocean

Will Never Return...

Posted Sep 2, 2014
It was by far out worst stay ever. I remember as a kid the Shilo Inn's were nice, clean, and at an affordable rate. Now it's not affordable, and very dirty, gross bathrooms, bed was so bad we couldn't sleep, pool was lime green and slimy...kids didn't get to enjoy their stay. Food was gross, and ant traps next to the tables and eating space. Nothing positive about this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2014 by ShiloInns, Hotel Management
Dear Verified Traveler, Thank you for your recent review. I apologize that your stay was not satisfactory. Sincerely, H. Baker- General Manger
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Time for a make-over.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: See above.
Location: N/A
This was a lovely hotel...in the 60's. Badly in need of an upgrade. Only one bath towel for 2 people. The windows in the dining room are dingy and dirty. The staff seemed harried although doing their best.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2014 by ShiloInns, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for our review and being a valued Shilo guest. We look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you, H. Baker General Manger
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the scenic dam.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Nice room, comfortable and clean. Nice pool. Fast WIFI.
Location: Columbia River Gorge.
Nice room, comfortable and clean. Nice pool. Fast WIFI.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by ShiloInns, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review and being a valued Shilo Guest. Thank you, H. Baker General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

More than adequate place to stay.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The view from the restaurant was superb; the restaurant itself was fine.
Cons: It seemed just a little run-down in the hallways.
Location: The (free) visitors' center for the Dalles dam was right down the street. I loved it!
I spent one night on my way along the Columbia Gorge. The hotel was fine for my purposes, easy to find from the highway and including a restaurant. It's a little outside of town, so it was good to be able to have a reasonable meal one could walk to. I didn't use the pool, but it looked pleasant. My view was of a parking lot, but some rooms must have had good river views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2014 by ShiloInns, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review and being a valued Shilo guest. We look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you, H. Baker General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WAshington

Lovely setting but...

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The breakfast and locaation
Cons: Needed upgrading.
Location: Great location - close to town
We were placed on the highway side which was noisy. Even tho' the hotel was not full - they would not change rooms without an up-grade price. We were wondering if it was because it booked and paid through Expedia. The breakfast was a nice surprise - served by a person who was courteous - we had our choice of three different breakfasts. The room was rather small with very average finishing's.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by ShiloInns, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for our review and being a valued Shilo guest. We look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you, H. Baker General Manger
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

room and extras

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: just OK
Cons: staff
Location: not much to do
Took extra long time to get room Out of towels for pool, but staff would not give us towels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by ShiloInns, Hotel Management
Dear Verified Traveler, Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize that we did not have sufficient towels available for your use while using our outdoor pool and I will be looking into what caused the issue. Thank you, Heather Baker General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caldwell, Idaho

Places to stay for a night or a few days

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: It was a clean and comfortable place to rest on our journey.
Cons: Access to rooms to Senior Citizens without having to deal with stairs
Location: The Dalles Dam, enough choices of places to eat
We are in our late 60's and the lack of an elevator was really hard for us, we had to climb stairs, in and out, in and out, and carry luggage, we didn't need a luggage carrier, but it did end up a longer way to our room than we thought. We only stayed one night but the lack on an elevator was very inconvienent and it was a long walk to whereever we parked and to go to the dining area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by ShiloInns, Hotel Management
Dear Verified Traveler, Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize that you were placed in a room that was inconvenient for you. Thank you for being a valued Shilo Guest and we look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you Heather Baker General Manger
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Cons: Updating rooms. The room felt old, seedy. The outside was lovely with beautiful landscaping. Sheets and covers were old. Faucets old and cumbersome
Rooms in the hotel seemed not have been updated in years. Old TV. Old sheets and blankets. Faucets that were difficult to work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by ShiloInns, Hotel Management
Dear Verified Traveler, Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. Thank you, Heather Baker General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Fair

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Hotel check in we're RUDE. Couldn't care less or be personable. Plus at the restaurant we ordered a Cajun dinner. It was SO hot it was impossible to enjoy! The waitress never offered an exchange and it took 45 minutes to come!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by ShiloInns, Hotel Management
Dear Verified Traveler, Thank you for choosing Shilo Inns. I sincerely apologize for the less than satisfactory service you received as this is not our standard. I do hope that you will give us another chance to regain your confidence. Thank you for being a valued Shilo Guest. Heather Baker General Manger