Ratings based on 435 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Spokane, Wa

Home away from home.

Posted Nov 30, 2014
I have been coming to this hotel for years. I can't say enough how this hotel has been exactly what I needed in The Dalles, Oregon. Clean rooms, fully stocked bar and resturant, and a hotel staff that goes out of their way to make sure I had everything I needed. I highly recomend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Needed a room Thanksgiving night

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Location, I needed to stay in The Dalles.
Cons: Needed a listing for the local TV channels.
I just needed a place to stay in near The Dalles. Just checked in for the night. Was gone before breakfast. As a room it was adequate and about what I expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, Oregon

Nice hotel for a reasonable price

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Pls. see above notes
Cons: all ok
Very nice facility. Our room with a king size bed was spacious, furniture in good condition. Restaurant on site is very handy. Caution: rooms facing the hwy 84 would be disturbed by the traffic noise which goes on 24/7. Our room was on the opposite side and quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older, but well maintained and clean.

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Nice view and friendly staf.
Cons: New and up-graded linens.
Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. This hotel is not the Ritz, but it is clean and well maintained. I would agree with other reviewers, they should have more towels in the bathroom and it is probably time to buy new mattresses and pillows. I would say if they put money in the budget for linens it would do a lot for the overall feeling of this hotel. In general, clean and affordable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Mary Smithfrom Idaho

By the River

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have stayed at this Hotel three times in the last 5 months and have had a very comfortable stay. I will recommend this Hotel to others. It is not real fancy, but it is clean and well kept. The staff was very nice and polite. The rates were good. I like the fact the hotel is by the Dam and I did not have to pay a fortune for the view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Richfrom So Cal

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Shilo Inn at The Dalles was a great fit for our weekend. It was close to the event we were up for. We will deffinately stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom seattle

OK Hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: staff was great on check in. Breakfast was good.
Cons: rooms a little outdated.Need to control the volume level of guests.
Our check in on Friday evening was quit pleasant. Front desk staff was very friendly and welcoming. Friday night was pretty quiet. Saturday night there was a wedding reception in the lounge, which didn't really seem to be a problem. However the rest of the hotel was quit noisy. Several parties going on with a lot of slamming doors, yelling and upstairs people running around. When we mentioned something upon check out, the gal at the counter just said "oh, we had a wedding reception last night. I told her that we realize that, but that there were several other parties going on in various areas of the hotel. She only responded with "Oh sorry". A little customer service could have gone a long way. But I doubt we will be back because of her response
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kalispell Montana

Nice views and staff

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Wonderful dinner with very old history surrounding the hotel.