Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Skamania Lodge-Nice Getaway

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: The staff, grounds, rooms
Cons: More options on the pub menu. The hot tub was extremely full with guests
Location: Hiking trails. Hood River: winery tours/brew tours.
The staff were excellent, courteous and helpful. The grounds are beautiful. Many close hiking trails to see the beauty in the Gorge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, Tx

Skamania 2015

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: We had a nice room with a fire place that made the stay even nicer. The resort has a nice exterior hot tube that is also very enjoying.
Location: Excellent location for hiking, site seeing, wind surfing, golf, biking, and even a late winter ski if one desires.
Nice resort along the Columbia river. Close to lots of outdoor adventures--waterfall hiking, Mt Hood, Timberline lodge, biking trails, wind surfing, zip lining, and golfing. Lots to do in a very close proximity.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wasn't up to reputation

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: The view from the lobby
Cons: A lot
The room looked out on a wooden wall.....no sunlight came into the room.....very dark and there were no lights bright enough to light up the room. The TV was out most of the four days.....only available sporadically.....showed "out of service" most of the time. There was NO soap....only body wash, but no sterilized puff to use it with. I had to buy soap! They add a $20+tax daily "Lodge Fee" to room cost which I didn't know about. One evening at dinner with family, we had the worst waiter ever, actually handed me full plates to pass to others at the table instead of walking around. When someone ordered anything he would suggest we try something else. Awful. Really not the experience I was expecting. I had traveled to Stevenson for the memorial service for my young nephew and really didn't need the hassles.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

A very nice lodge in a spectacular location

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Near the Columbia River in the river gorge. My only peeve with the hotel was their charge of $20 for a "lodge fee". When asked about that they said it was to defray costs associated with the coffee availability the fitness center, etc. I Lways thought that was included. Seems rather bogus!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rachelfrom Seattle

Don't waste your time and money

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
Our stay was bad from the start. We experienced poor customer service while attempting to make our valentine's dinner reservations. The staff member attempted to transfer our call but failed and we were able to hear her complaining about having to help us before the line went dead. A manager gave us a free breakfast as a result, when we told them we were considering canceling or stay. When we got there, we found the room to be dirty, smelly, dark and had a view of a dirt wall. Our valentine's dinner was also sub par and over priced. The trout entree was completely not eatable. The bed was very uncomfortable and walls were thin, leading to no sleep. The next morning we contacted hotels.com, who then arranged a refund for our second night. The customer service rep from hotels.com stated that hotel management argued with them and were uncooperative. This was our worst hotel experience ever. DO NOT GO HERE. There are so many places that are nicer, especially for the high prices that they charge.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karifrom Portland

Less the Impressed

Posted Feb 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
We stayed here last year and it was amazing but this year it was not as great. Last year they upgraded us to a huge room with a stand up shower. This year when they said they would upgrade us we were expecting the same thing but got a small room with a shower/tub combo. Also, the food was amazing last year but since they got a new chef the food was not great at all. The menu was small, the mac and cheese was like mac and soup, and they didn't have hot buttered rum even though it was on the menu. We were thoroughly unimpressed this year and will not return next year for our annual Valentine's night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not Amused and Probably Not Returning

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels.com
Not an amusing stay--room was not cleaned properly, they took as long as possible getting it ready, service was weak on several fronts, the restaurant was overpriced and not very good (trout and elk for dinner), the room was poorly furnished / laid out and had a TERRIBLE view into a hillside 20 feet away, etc. I could on in great detail, but Hotels.com is limiting my review to 1500 characters. Hot tubs, Erica (I think?) at front desk, view if and when you are actually on the gorge side, and generally pretty state of the property = the only highlights I can honestly think of. Sad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Victoria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2015
We had a great time and the scenery is beautiful. We would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Milesfrom Oregon

Nice hotel, disappointing restaurant!

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I had a great weekend getaway at the Lodge. Our room was great and overall, the facility was very nice. My only complaint was the food in the on site restaurant. It was overpriced and unimpressive to say the least. We had a way better meal at a third of the price, at a little diner we found in Hood River.