Ratings based on 496 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Breakfast was awesome, staff were great, great value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Needs a deep cleaning and update

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The employees behind the check in desk were friendly, Breakfast offerings were fine, hotel was quiet.
Cons: This hotel needs a deep cleaning, an infusion of money for continued upkeep, and better management of communal spaces.
Location: 10 min drive from downtown and the short north area where there are plenty of restaurants, shopping and sightseeing. Not much appeal to immediate area
We chose this hotel because it was close to the Mopar Nationals park, and because it was a mid range priced hotel with free wi-fi and free breakfast, close to the highway, and within 10 miles of the Short North. We stayed two nights. There was a dirty towel from a precious guest left in our room. The carpeting was dirty...i left my shoes and socks on at all times. The door, although lockable, did not close all the way, continuing to click open and shut with air pressure from the hallway. Bed was like a rock and pillows were broken up lumps of foam.The breakfast room was FILTHY and there was no staff in there checking on things. Food all over the floor and counters and tables wet and sticky. The wi- fi was free but I continued to lose the connection. The parkinglot was dark and landscaping needed work. There is a nice grocery store across the side street but it had 2 policemen working the lobby and closes at 7 p.m. Every night. The neighborhood was sketch.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: There was a breakfast.
Cons: The breakfast could use improvement.Nothing was in a warmer everything was cold eggs,potatoes,sausage and the eggs were big clumps of i don't know wha
We stayed for 2 nights and my our all experience was nice. The only thing I didn't like was that the hotel was packed and people were everywhere! The pool was very nice and big and clean but there was so many people in it and kids running around like maniacs! I understand that this is not the hotels fault and the hotel wants full occupancy. It was just uncomfortable for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Stayed one night . Older hotel but well kept. Nice clean room. Good breakfast. Good for the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Cons: The breakfast could be nicer.
It was easy to find and the pool was very well kept and we enjoyed it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Dirty/ Falling apart

Posted Jul 20, 2014
The room was dirty, I have pictures on my phone and camera if you would like to see where we stayed. The walls were coming apart, the bathroom had hair and something sticky on the floor, there was a used wet towell hanging on the back of the bathroom floor, there was no privacy curtain, there was dust on the dressers (thick)... We stayed in an adjoining room and the lock was busted on the door to the hall, the bath knob had water streaming from it, it smelled horrible, I was afraid to say something to the front desk clerk because she was very unaproachable when we checked in... Would you want to stay there?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Very nice

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Peace quiet and room and facilities were great. Hotel staff very knowledgeable about area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

This place looks condemned!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: Clean up your outside appearance if you want people to stay there. Looking like a run down, closed hotel is not going to do your business any good.
The hotel looks NOTHING like what the pictures show. The outside is run down and looks like it hasn't been used in years. I didn't think it was even opened. It looked worse than the homeless hotel in Detroit. There were no cars to be seen anywhere; only a few utility trucks with what looked like homeless men sitting around loitering. Some of the windows had been soaped out. We didn't even stay there. I could just imagine what it looked like inside. It was worth losing the money over it. How dare they misrepresent themselves.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, Ohio

Dark, dreary, dirty, unsafe parking lot

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Clarion needs to focus on this property. If it has its name on it, someone needs to review it and invest in the place. It was depressing.
Bad part of town, dark, depressed neighborhood; we had sunglasses stolen from our car in the parking lot overnight, the room was dirty, smelly, nasty; it was uncomfortable to stay there overnight however we checked in very late, so we stayed overnight, but then moved to a different hotel first thing in the morning. The breakfast in the morning was clearly driven in from some other location, nothing was hot, coffee was lukewarm at 15 minutes after the breakfast opened. VERY disappointing as we felt the name Clarion was going to represent a much nicer room and experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Akron, OH

Nice pool, that's it

Posted Jun 25, 2014
The only well air conditioned area was the lobby. Room air conditioner was not great and very loud. Only place to cool off was the pool, which was very nice. Decent cleanliness, needs renovations, wouldn't stay there more than 1 or 2 nights tops.