Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbus

For the price is nice hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Close to erly you need go out to eat. The parking to small. The grass out need more detail for new person is hart to arrival need advertising
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from ASHLAND, KY

THE THRILL IS GONE

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: ARCADE WAS NICE. THE ACTIVITIES IN THE LOBBY ARE FUN FOR THE KIDS. MOVIE FROM 9-1030 IS A PLUS WHEN IT HAS SOUND. COMFY BEDS. WATER PARK OK.
Cons: ROOMS ARE DATED. NEED BETTER DOOR LOCKS, PHONES THAT WORK, REMOTES FOR TVS. WOULD BE NICE TO HAVE A REGULAR POOL TO SWIM IN, NOT IN WITH WATER PARK.
Location: DOWNTOWN COLUMBUS IS 10 MIN OR SO AWAY. ATE AT THE GERMAN VILLAGE FOR LUNCH/DINNER. SEVERAL OTHER RESTAURANTS JUST DOWN THE ROAD FROM FORT RAPIDS.
BOOKED OUR STAY THROUGH EXPEDIA. GOT CHARGED BY EXPEDIA, AS EXPECTED, AND FORT RAPIDS (NOT EXPECTED) FOR THE SAME STAY. (WILL CHECK ON THAT TOMORROW) MY DAUGHTER IS A "TWEEN" NOW AND THE THRILL OF FORT RAPIDS IS GONE. IT IS GOOD FOR LITTLE ONES THOUGH. THE ACTIVITIES IN THE LOBBY ARE FUN. IN HOUSE RESTAURANTS ARE SOMEWHAT EXPENSIVE. WATER PRESSURE ON THE HIGHER FLOORS IS NOT GOOD. 2 OR 3 FLUSHES FOR THE TOILET. TV REMOTE DIDN'T WORK. PHONE IN THE ROOM DIDN'T WORK EITHER. GOT REPLACEMENT REMOTE THAT HAD TAPE ON THE BACK TO HOLD THE BATTERIES IN AND IF YOU DIDN'T PUSH ON THE BACK IT WOULDN'T WORK. THEY SAID THE PHONE TROUBLE WAS IN THE LINE, SO WE DID WITHOUT A PHONE DURING OUR STAY. DOOR LOCK WAS LOOSE AND PEEP-HOLE HAD PAPER STUFFED IN IT BECAUSE IT WAS BROKEN. SAD FURNISHINGS FOR SUCH HIGH PRICES. VERY DISAPPOINTED.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of a gut and remodel!

Posted Jul 15, 2015
This hotel has it's convenience when with children. ( waterpark, arcade, movies in lobby) Also some of the staff was pleasant. These are about the only good things about it. Rooms were majorly worn out! They seem to be cutting corners in everyway. Cleanliness in every aspect was missing!! I left my shoes on everywhere I went, even the lazy river and in the room. Maybe a 2 star rating for this place. We will definitley be paying extra to stay elsewhere next time. $200 a night after fees to have to check the bed to make sure there aren't bed bugs just doesn't seem right. The water park staff were like zombies going through "screening" motions and miserable looking. (I've worked at major waterparks and had never seen their weird procedures. I'm pretty sure it only distracts them from what they are supposed to be watching for.) I went down the slides twice and the chlorine was so strong I had to leave the park. A fog of chlorine was hovering around burning my face and eyes. The changing/restroom facilities were scary grosse and smelly. I could continue but if you are still thinking about booking here there is no help for you! Advice to owners gut/remodel/hire a nightly deep cleaning staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Absolutely perfect... Relaxing comfortable! Staff was kind and very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Overall it was good

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: The front desk staff were very friendly.
Cons: The hotel could do with an update.
Location: We didn't go for other things. We just went for the water park and ate at the hotel.
The hotel could do with an update. It was clean but outdated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

4th of July stopover

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Our room, at the end of the hall, was very quiet. Very short drive to Columbus downtown.
Cons: Repair the broken things. Add more plugs and improve the internet. An updated theme might help--get rid of the western idea.
The toilet seat was very loose, the table was nearly broken. Towels are very thin and no face towels. Pillows are lumpy. Tub drain was slow and ended up clogged, so Maintenance snaked it at 11:30 pm. Extra fees, mandatory, due at check-in. There are not enough plugs for phones, laptops, etc. so owners can recharge. Had to ask for the hair dryer. Cheap for a reason. Buyer beware. Western theme is hokey. Maybe the waterpark is fun but we didn't do that. End of hall room was very quiet. Internet was spotty and our room code didn't work. Red Roof Inn is cheaper and nicer than this, at least their furniture isn't broken and the toilet doesn't pinch. The bar stools are made to look like lower torsos! I was looking for the lamp made like a lady's leg. They did have the chairs resembling stilettos. Avoid this place unless you have kids who are using the waterpark.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel, restaurant, staff needs training.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Constantly had to double check staffs performances (confirm reservations, upgrade, registering room key for both nights). Restaurant food was disgusting. Restaurant Manager David was very disrespectful! They also give a service fee...mandatory tipping. Owners need to invest in upgrading amenities and hiring competent staff. New Restaurant...no buffet! New staff for restaurant!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Nice

Posted Jul 3, 2015
I was fun and my son loved it just wish there was more pool space for adults.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fremont ,oh

The water park was great

Posted Jun 18, 2015
I read lots of reviews before my stay and they were not true , the hotel was nice the outside could use some fresh paint . We had no problems and the water park was fun
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Overnight stay for car travel to St. Louis.

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Good hotel environment
Location: Convenient location close to the freeway.
The atmosphere at the hotel was positive with aura of excitements from people.