Ratings based on 646 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best beds!!!

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Awesome...everything was new. Freindly and prompt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We enjoyed our stay!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The closeness to several shops, convention center, and the willingness for the staff to help us!
Cons: They are trying to improve the rooms, they are a little run down!
Location: several areas to shop
I had some concerns before we arrived due to others responses about the motel. But I can say our week was a stressful week due to why we were in Columbus, (National Youth Fine Arts Competition) but this Hotel went out of their way to make our week the best it could be. We had van trouble and the staff was more than accommodating in helping us. In fact the Owner of the motel personally drove our van to a mechanic just to help us out! The rooms aren't a 5 star motel, but they were clean and kept up. The third floor had some smoke smell but the second and first floor were smoke free! We had a mix up with our room when we arrived and they worked hard to correct the problem, and did so! The location has shopping close buy, and a great choice of places to eat! If I was to come back to Columbus for any reason I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not Recommend

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Beds were OK.
Cons: Clean the place up!
We recently booked a stay at Hawthorn Suites based on decent ratings. I don't feel like I'm an overly picky hotel guest, but even to my standards, I could not believe the positive reviews based on what we found. Expectations plummeted when we saw the crumbling asphalt and potholes in the parking lot, the cracked, dirty tiles in the entry, and noticed the pervasive odor of stale cigarette smoke in the lobby (probably from the consistent gaggle of smokers standing around the front entrance, blocking the door). Our first "non-smoking" room reeked of smoke. The second room was better, but smelled "off", so we kept the window open during our entire stay. (But curtains closed because the windows were splattered with bird poop outside). The carpet was so dirty, we kept shoes on at all times inside the room. The bathroom tiles were dingy and cracked to the point of being loose. The toilet flush was like an airplane toilet noise-wise. The couch was too filthy to sit on and the cushions were flat and didn't completely cover the fold-out beneath them. The one positive was that the beds were comfy, though we slept on our own pillows based on the lack of cleanliness everywhere else. The front desk clerk was nowhere to be seen when we tried to check out. We waited, loaded the car, waited some more, asked the cleaning ladies to page someone, waited more, then finally left our key cards on the desk behind the counter. Had to leave without a receipt, but was just happy to get out of there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

OK

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Location and one could smoke in the room
Cons: Cleaning and updating, ie. drapes that don't have hooks or close.
Location: Nothing you can do about road work
Very well worn and in much need of cleaning. Far below the standards that we expected when we booked the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Art from Hilliard, OH

Need a bell at the front desk.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Large room with mini fridge & stove burners. beds are comfortable. Televisions in bed & living areas.
Cons: Desk bell. Breakfast taste.
Waited at the front desk for 7 minutes before I coughed. I didn't know the desk clerk was just inside the office door. They could use a desk bell. Other then that, a nice stay. Our room dvd player didn,t work. Breakfast was ok. They allow pet for $20 a night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Reservation said non smoking.. Was put in a smoking room. Water stains all over the ceiling. Fixtures in bathroom were rusted. Very out of date hotel. Would not book again. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Iyanna from Nashville, tn

very nice suite

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were on a vacation to attend a wedding. We brought our 7 month old so the separate kitchen area and refrigerator was a great add on. I loved the atmosphere and the breakfast was not just bagels, it was a full hot breakfast. The only thing I didn't particularly like is that the pool closed at 10 and was freezing to be an indoor pool. Also when we asked for towels they made us come to the desk to get them ourselves. Other than that the stay was very comfortable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tiffany Irwin from Columbus Ohio

Close to downtown events

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was very delightful. Hotel and room very out dated. Shower head coming out of the wall and leaked. Dishwasher unable to be used as buttons were missing. Holes in walls as well. Just very upset at the lack of maintence of the hotel in a whole.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A little disappointed for the money

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: The location
This hotel was close to restaurants and shopping. I was disappointed that the room did not have any cups, plates, untensils, at least some way to cook with.(why have a kitchenette) I have stayed at many of the Wyndham properties and this is not the same experience. Wyndham has always exceeded my expectations!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Bahn from Michigan

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The suite we reserved was very good, the beds were comfortable. The pool needs some maintenance but over all was good. Breakfast was good (warm) clean rooms :)