Ratings based on 413 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grosse Ile, MI

Very close to EVERYTHING Columbus!

Posted Mar 28, 2015
I visit COLUMBUS, Ohio every year for work (Ram mountain product specialist at the Columbus International Auto Show). This place is located perfectly for our strenuous days. Staff is awesome and more than helpful and friendly. I highly suggest visiting the El Camino Inn, the Little Palace, Dirty Frank's (a great late night hot dog joint), and 16-Bit (retro arcade with a full bar). Again, great place to stay in da'Bus...One will not be disappointed with this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Akron, Ohio

Nice place, in downtown, walk to German Village.

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Stayed in a King Suite. Spacious, comfortable, nicely redone. Chose an option that included breakfast, very nice food. Had drinks with my wife in the bar in the evening. Kenny the bartender is great!, pleasant, and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Great downtown location.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Close to everything I needed down town. Great room and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This hotel was great for the Arnold SportsFestival

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Hotel provided shuttle to and from the expo, close to restaurants downtown. The pool was very nice and heated. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Good location

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Nice, clean hotel. Would have been nice to have had vending machines on the floor we stayed on and even better for the machines to accept $5.00 not just ones. (Hey I'm lazy, what can I say) Overall, great hotel and staff. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Decent hotel, but staff is not up to par

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: rooms are clean and updated
Cons: customer care for returning customers
Location: El Camino is a fantastic hidden gem of good beers, great atmosphere and great single-order menu items.
I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Capital Downtown Columbus for the past 4 straight months for monthly trips for work. The hotel itself is pretty decent with updated rooms, and parking is only $10 onsite. The problem with this hotel is the staff. On my most recent stay, I paid extra to get a room with a King bed. The hotel had overbooked the rooms with king beds and when I arrived I got placed in a room with double beds. I promptly called down and spoke with Tim at the front desk. He told me would check on rooms and call me right back. After more than 30 minutes of not hearing back, I called again, and Tim said he was extremely busy with customers checking in and hadn't looked into it. He then put me on hold as he "checked". He came back on after about a minute and said no rooms were available and there was nothing he could do. He said i would have to contact expedia since i booked through them and he couldn't do anything. I contacted expedia, and they told me they would check into this for me. I got an email several days later saying they spoke with the director at the hotel and the director refused to authorize a partial refund, which would have been $20.....seriously?? Holiday Inn overbooked rooms, they put me in a less expensive room and then rejected my request to pay for the actual room i was in...last time i stay there....hope that $20 was worth losing over $1500 as i will be in Columbus every month for the next 12 months. No more Holiday Inns for me....
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Indianapolis

Sub par

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Easy access off of I-70. Clean room.
Cons: See previous comments.
Location: About 6 or 7 blocks from United Center but probably too far to walk, I didn't see any restaurants near by.
Not bad but just not there and it wouldn't take much. Arrived at 2:30 p.m. check in at 3:00 p.m. Several people were waiting for rooms and hotel didn't seem that busy. Felt like they intentionally didn't provide rooms because of check-in time. Restaurant was only open for breakfast and dinner, no lunch. Bar wasn't open and no coffee available. Breakfast was served until 11:00 a.m. but they closed the restaurant for seating at around 10:30 a.m. I requested a king size bed a month in advance and they said they didn't have one available. They said it wasn't guaranteed and it was only a request. It made me feel like because I booked through Expedia and not directly through Holiday Inn that they favored their guests at the expense of Expedia's guests. They indicate on their web site that they have a shuttle to the United Center. That was one of the reasons why I selected this hotel. They had one to the concert but not from the concert. The room was nice and clean, the staff seemed friendly. The shuttle driver was especially friendly. I would give this hotel a 2.5 rating. I thought with the cost at $150 with tax was reasonable for a hotel downtown but it didn't meet standards for a $150 room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Nice hotel with excellent location. Breakfast is affordable and served quickly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2015 by Elizabeth, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capitol Square. We appreciate you taking the time to give our hotel a review. Sincerely, -Elizabeth
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Guadalupefrom Palos Hills Ill.

GREAT

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was very comfy and everyone there was great. Will stay again there or any holiday inn in the us. thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2015 by Elizabeth, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capitol Square. Thank you for your kind words and review of our property. When you return please let us know what you think about all the changes we have been making! See you next time, -Elizabeth