Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima, OH

Nice hotel in the heart of downtown Columbus.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Staff was friendly, the rooms were clean, the water is scalding hot, though
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Nice hotel, nice staff. Hotel bar is expensive (do not blindly order beer, dinner, or even breakfast... Check the price first). Overall it was a fun time. If you're on a budget though, this is not the place for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was nice

Posted May 20, 2014
Finding the entrance of the hotel was difficult. Also the parking service was too expenses.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2014 by Holly, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you so much for taking a moment to review our hotel. We would like to apologize regarding the issues you experienced finding our hotel entrance as it is slightly hidden away. As far as parking, we unfortunately are only able to provide valet parking due to space constraints with our downtown location. However, there are many other options in the downtown surrounding area. If you visit us in the future and would prefer not to park in valet we would encourage you to inquire about the other parking options in the downtown area. We hope you will visit us again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't expect to sleep.

Posted May 19, 2014
For the amount of money I spent on this hotel I could have rented an apartment in Columbus. Over priced, underwhelming, $25 valet only parking and a bathroom smaller than my first studio apartment. The bathroom doesn't even have a real door and for a King Room there's not even a bath. The room was clean but the lounge was filthy. I felt completely ignored as a guest. Had to go searching for the pool (fyi it's on the 4th floor). There was so much commotion going on I was awoken at 7:30 AM all weekend. My complaints were laughed off and I got the impression that it's typical. I have stayed in hotels coast to coast and let me tell you, they're doing it wrong!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2014 by Holly, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you so much fortaking a moment to review your stay with us. We are very sorry to hear you had a poor experience during your visit and would sincerely like to apologize for the issues you had at our hotel. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with our General Manger as we would love to speak with you further. Thank you again for your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Misty from Bucyrus, Ohio

Downtown luxury..A++++

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Classy and warm with new amenities..Luxury without the luxury price..
Cons: nothing..the stay was awesome all the way around
Location: Downtown Columbus has tons of restaurants; bars; clubs; and many festivals that happen throughout the year.
We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel..We were there during a very busy weekend in Columbus. The valet staff was quick when we came in and courteous; and the front desk staff was knowledgeable and respectful..We loved the lounge area that was equipped with a fireplace that we warmed up to when we got back from our concert. Our room was on the 16th floor and was just the right temperature..The bed was huge and comfy..and the room was in pristine condition..We even ordered room service later in the night and loved every bit of it..We can't wait to stay at the Renaissance again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2014
When I approached the desk and mentioned that I was attending the Women of Faith conference and did not know that I could tell them so that I could get a better deal they said "Since I had booked through Expedia and the room was pre paid there was nothing they could do."
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2014 by Holly, Hotel Management
Hello, thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. We are sorry to hear about the rate issue you experienced. The desk agent was correct in telling you that we cannot adjust a rate when the room has been booked and purchased through a 3rd party site such as Expedia. This is because the transaction is actually processed through Expedia and not through the hotel which causes us to be unable to make adjustments to the rate. If the room was booked through the hotel directly we would have been able to adjust the rate without issue. We are very sorry for this inconvenience and encourage you to reach out the Expedia directly with any other questions or concerns regarding the room rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from OH

Great location

Posted May 5, 2014
Very comfortable room, great location. Restaurant one block away- Due Amici excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chris from cincinnati oh

Close to arena district

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Was a nice hotel. However dance competition means lots of hallway traffic at 5am that you can hear in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Renaissance hotel Columbus

Posted Mar 30, 2014
The staff were friendly, however it was extremely busy that day and the hotel room seemed a bit dated. Wall papers were coming off near the ceiling and the washroom door was hard to open and close. Overall it was convenient to all locations downtown and the brunch place staff were very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michele from Washington, DC

great hotel; not so great food

Posted Mar 28, 2014
This was a business trip, so I wanted a simple meal without fuss. Ordered a club sandwich and chicken soup from room service. It came promptly; the server was very appropriate. The sandwich was on nut raisin bread and the soup was really tasteless and not very hot. (I could forgive the temperature, given that it was room service, but not the quality.) To be sure the sandwich surprise wasn't my error, I checked the menu. Sure enough it described a club sandwich (turkey, tomato, lettuce, bacon, and avocado). Menu didn't say a word about raisin bread. I think you order something ordinary like a club sandwich precisely to avoid surprise. Other than the food, the stay was very pleasant.