Ratings based on 679 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the Heart of OSU

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: The Room was very clean & the staff was very friendly
Cons: No, would stay again if visiting Columbus
Location: Too great Restaurants & Breweries to list. The location of this hotel to the Ohio State campus is second to none. Must check Columbus Brew Adventures
Excellent experience at this hotel. The staff was wonderful and the Rooms & Food were outstanding. The location is great with many sites within walking distance or a short car ride. Enjoyed the running trail along the nearby river.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from modesto ca

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Staff friendly and helpful. Room service was good. Helpful with transportation. Good experience overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: A complimentary breakfast
The Hotel is located within University Campus and suited very well to the purpose of my visit. Staff were friendly, room was nice and overall a perfect place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best in the campus area

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: The souvenir shop inside it
The bell men were really helpful. It was really close to the stadium. I was able to see the horseshoe from the window of the room. It is simply the best in the campus area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Great Hotel. Perfect location near campus and OSU medical center. Accommodating staff and nice restaurant and lounge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Clean, friendly hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Clean, large room; all the usual amenities. Friendly service at the front desk. Convenient valet parking. Great location for visiting Ohio State.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2014
I have wanted to stay in this hotel since my son got accepted to Ohio State. It was always booked, so it was great to finally have the opportunity to stay there a night. It was worth the wait.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toledo

Great hotel on the OSU campus

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Our room was great. My wife and I often work when traveling. Our room had two large work areas with comfortable chairs and plenty of work space.
Location: As mentioned, the hotel is at the edge of Ohio State University. The Arena district is close, and there are shops and restaurants within minutes.
We stayed in the Blackwell during a midweek trip to Columbus to see a concert. We weren't visiting OSU, but picked the Blackwell because of great reviews and proximity to the concert venue in the nearby Arena district. From the moment we pulled up to the front door, the attentive staff did everything necessary to make our stay perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Perfect hotel close to the stadium and campus!

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We stayed for two nights at the Blackwell and enjoyed every minute of it! Room service and front desk service was excellent. Delicious food also! Rooms were very clean. We will definitely stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 21, 2014
I stayed at The Blackwell while my son was at a lacrosse tournament at OSU. I chose The Blackwell because of its location, which was great. It was easy for me to get to all of the fields and the stadium. It is convenient to have a hotel on campus. The Blackwell is listed as a 4-star hotel on Expedia. I travel a lot, all over the world, and this hotel is more of a 3-star hotel by most website standards. It is, however, probably the nicest hotel in the vicinity of OSU. The lobby had a very sweet smell to it, which gave me a headache when I initially arrived. Similarly, my room had a very strong scent (possibly someone had smoked in it and the maids used a floral air freshener to mask it?). I may have stopped at the bar during my stay for a drink, but the overwhelming odor kept me away. Also, the carpeted floor in my room was sticky. I needed to wear shoes throughout the weekend, as it was really gross on my feet. Because of the weekend's schedule, I needed to order room service for the two nights I was there. The food was over-salted, low quality (the fish I ordered was virtually inedible, and I had to leave it outside my door mostly uneaten), and very oily. As a health-conscious person, there was not a lot of option for me food-wise. The one part of the hotel that I enjoyed was the gym. It is well-equipped and tidy.