Ratings based on 486 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KY

Close to excellent

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Nice downtown hotel. Close to German Village. Bed was comfortable. Climate control was good. Staff was responsive. Our room was clean but small with the TV in a place where you can hit your head on the way to the bathroom. Parking is pricey.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Basics - Costs Adds Up

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Our check-in experience was excellent. The Westin employee who assisted us was fantastic. The parking is misleading and expensive, whether you self-park or valet. We had an extremely comfortable king-sized bed, but it was a very small bedroom and bathroom. I had no room to do my morning yoga. Breakfast was mediocre and expensive. Don't waste your time or money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2015
The staff was very nice. Room very clean. Needed to heat some takeout food that I had and they promptly brought microwave to my room. Gave me a voucher for breakfast as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saint Clairsville, Ohio

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: Very clean
Recently made the trip up for Red, White, and Boom and it was recommended this was one of the hotels to stay in due to it's convenience. The hotel was 1 1/2 miles from the arena district so it was kind of a hike but hey we didn't have to take a cab so that was a plus and there were activities as close to a block away just not what we were looking for. I was most disappointed in the size of the room. We had a Jr. Suite room which was big enough for a king size bed and TV. No lounging area. The bathroom was tiny and had only enough room for 1 person to be in. For the price of the room I was expecting something more and roomier. Definitely was not a suite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica, Ca.

Historic Hotel Very Classic

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: The bed. The classic feel when you walk in the lobby. I mean after all Obama stays there when in town. That's what I was told anyway? STAFF are GREAT
Cons: ROOM SERVICE FOOD AND SELECTION!
Location: It's downtown Columbus, Ohio. What can I say it's nice , very nice people.
The hotel is pretty nice. Yes it could use some little upgrading here and there but for the most part it's nice. Very comfortable bed!!!!! Nice shower head and bathroom vanity. The T.V. wasn't working one of my nights? My fault I guess for not calling sooner i just kept thinking It was going to come on? Now room service could be a lot better, they got my orders wrong the first two nights. One night just completely forgot it? The other one , wrong food:( The menu after 11:00pm really kind of sucks. Plain and to the point. I came back late most nights starving and there aren't many if any restaurants around that are open. So my only option was to order room service...It really needs improving In fact I'll give it one star, yep that's it! more menu options please!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Expensive Hotel Without the Amenities

Posted Jun 22, 2015
For the cost of this hotel one might expect complimentary breakfast, an airport shuttle and Wi-Fi access. This hotel does not provide a shuttle to or from the airportso be prepared to spend an additional $60 or so to and from the airport for taxis. They do not offer any complimentary meals. Almost every hotel at which I have stayed, even in the lower and mid price range offers a complimentary breakfast for their guests. Here they change $14. They also charge $10/DAY for Wi-Fi. Now, on to the rooms. They were clean and relatively spacious but nothing fancy. The bed was hard as a rock and the pillows were worthless. I had to double the pillow to keep it from going completely flat and they offered no support whatsoever. The staff was very friendly and courteous particularly the wait staff in the hotel bar/restaurant. The food was about average, certainly nothing special but the people were attentive and cheerful. Overall, you can get a better hotel, more value for your money at any number of other places. Just check around a little bit. Don't settle for an overpriced, under service hotel like this.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautify lobby, but dissappointing room.

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: Lobby and staff.
Room between elevators and ice machine. Very small and very loud room. Bed was a queen, though listed on the site as a king. I think this poor room was created during an upgrade to the hotel and not up to the typical standards for rooms at the hotel. Probably a better hotel if you get a different room. Lobby, bar, and staff were all top notch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2015 by gmWestinColumbus, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel. I apologize for the disappointing experience we provided during your recent stay. I can certainly understand your frustration and assure you that the scenario you described does not meet the high standards we set for ourselves. I would welcome another chance to show you our true definition of hospitality and earn your loyalty as our guest. We truly value your business and are committed to your satisfaction. Be Well, Halley Karas General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Consistently pleasant

Posted Jun 1, 2015
I have stayed at the Westin Columbus several times over the past 10 years -- and it is consistently a pleasant experience. The historical building is beautiful and the staff is super accommodating. Can't beat the heavenly bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2015
Excellent stay. Hotel staff was great. First room had issue but was immediately resolved
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Matthew from Kettering

Always liked the a Great Southern

Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
And it's still a good place to stay. Great service and very friendly staff. Room small, but very well appointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2015 by gmWestinColumbus, Hotel Management
Greetings Matthew, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We truly value your business and your loyalty. I'm so glad you enjoyed the friendly service and our staff made an impact during your recent visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin "Great Southern" soon! Stay Well, Halley Karas General Manager