Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for the price

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Room was not fancy but clean and comfortable. Location was great for me. Staff were friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by rick from ohio

Not up to par

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Would never go back.............................................
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive, dated, 10+ year old TV, old bed

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: -Inexpensive, 2 miles from OSU campus -Free WiFi Cons: -Ugly room inside -Big old-style TV, 10+ years old, lousy reception (static), no plugs for laptop -Uncomfortable bed (hard and semi-lumpy, could feel the springs) -Very slow Wi-Fi - stable, but very slow with a mostly empty occupancy... must be absolutely horrible with full occupancy. -Bathroom vent fan broken, they didn't fix it even after staying at the room 2 nights and reminding them multiple times -Very dated decorations Overall it was just slightly above a Motel 6 experience... I guess for the price ($70/night) I shouldn't have expected much better. Next time go with my gut and stay at Holiday Inn Express or a Courtyard.
2 out of 5
by chase

Not at all what I expected

Posted Mar 3, 2014
I booked three nights because it looked relatively nice... In pictures. I checked out after the first night and went somewhere else. It was not very nice at all. The heating unit was horrible and when I called the front desk the lady was rude in regards to my request for more blankets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kara from lima, ohio

Super value!

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Varsity inn is one of the best values in Columbus. It's not an amazing place...you get what you pay for. A little small and older but always clean, comfortable bed, quiet and good service. If you just need a place to stay for a night or two, you couldn't find a better place. If you're looking for luxury, this is not it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was excellent

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Wasn't offered the South motel Which Was five MILES Closer to THE Hospital
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by CM from Chicago

You get what you pay for

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
What a dump! My non-smoking room was obviously smoking at one point and still reeked. Hot/cold water was reversed in both sink and tub. Beds were uncomfortable. At least there wasn't bed bugs!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Marc Silverman from columbus, oh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com