Ratings based on 277 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Place to stay after game.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
If you want a place that is fancy and nice this isn't the place for you. If you just need a place after the game it is perfect.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Erie ON

Hotel close to Ohio State for moving in weekend

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Close to university and other amenities - inexpensive.
Cons: Overall presentation, décor, furniture.
Location: Centrally located near highway exits, university, shopping.
Expected a bit more from hotel based upon comments already provided. Room and property are pretty tired - could use an overall updating of décor and furnishings. Room smelled damp, plaster peeling in the shower, water pressure fluctuated when in use. Probably fine for students, families looking for inexpensive overnight stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Check in was quick and easy.
Cons: The room smelled like smoke.
The room smelled like cigarette smoke. The fan in the bathroom was very loud. The temp of the water in the shower was hard to control and little water pressure. Check in was quick and easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Perfect 1 night stay

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Location: Very easy to get to OSU campus area. Took bus to LC Pavilion for concert. No problems getting around town.
Very easy, comfortable one night stay for 4 college students. No problems. Perfect place to stay for events around town. Would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

To save money, Varsity Inn a solid choice

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, clean, close to campus
Cons: Cleaning rooms later in the day, fridge in basic room, and bigger rooms
Location: University is 5 minutes away. Next to an excellent Mexican Restaurant and close to many good restaurants and spots!
After numerous hotels were booked and wanting a hotel near the University, we went to Varsity Inn North. I was a little scared based on some reviews, but the room was very clean. It was small, but the bed was a good size and had most amenities (except no mini-fridge). After the first night, we left around noon and the room was not cleaned after we left, but the front desk gave us new towels as needed. As a whole, worth the money and fine for a night of two stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

Nice clean motel

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Very clean would have liked a refrigerator in the room but otherwise no complaints.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Scary neighbors

Posted Jul 9, 2014
It was not the Varsity Inn by Ohio State as noted... It was further north. I was staying next to a room where people cane and went all night both days we were there. They seemed sketchy and had things sitting outside the door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mid Ohio Valley Res. from Marietta, OH

Youth OSU football camp 2014

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a great location for being close to the Woody Hayes Athletic Center for football camp. It may not be the Ritz, but the service was good, with daily room service and clean linens. There was shopping and restaurants near by, and the neighborhood the hotel was in was fairly nice area, with no noise and clean surroundings. And being a smoker, I requested a smoking room, I was impressed that the room did not smell like old smoke. The only thing that a let down was that the pool was not open do to chemicals tested needed inspected and signed off for approval to open for the season
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Convenient to OSU campus.
Location: Shopping is close by with variety of things to do, including AMC movie theater down the street and OSU close by.
Not quite what we expected and we won't be returning. The room was basic with two beds, but smelled musty. The chair for the desk was broken and a light was out at the bathroom sink, which didn't help the overall lack of lighting in the room. Staff was courteous and provided good directions for nearby movie theater.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by SA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com