Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

Nice clean motel

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Very clean would have liked a refrigerator in the room but otherwise no complaints.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Scary neighbors

Posted Jul 9, 2014
It was not the Varsity Inn by Ohio State as noted... It was further north. I was staying next to a room where people cane and went all night both days we were there. They seemed sketchy and had things sitting outside the door.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Convenient to OSU campus.
Location: Shopping is close by with variety of things to do, including AMC movie theater down the street and OSU close by.
Not quite what we expected and we won't be returning. The room was basic with two beds, but smelled musty. The chair for the desk was broken and a light was out at the bathroom sink, which didn't help the overall lack of lighting in the room. Staff was courteous and provided good directions for nearby movie theater.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No-Frills Hotel with a capital N

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: reasonable accommodations for the price
Cons: The room decor needs to be updated. Also better lighting in the parking lot would be an improvement.
Location: Close to OSU campus, shopping malls and major highways.
Stayed one night when I came out to Columbus to pick up my son from OSU. For the price (about half of what Holiday Inn, etc. would have charged) the room was OK. Note that this is a motel, not a hotel - i suggest you ask for a room off the first floor. Rooms were clean but clearly haven't been updated in a long time. There was some wear and tear in the bathroom, etc. but nothing impacting usability. For the price this is an economical alternative to the chain hotels if you are only staying one night and/or not spending much time in the room other than for sleeping. If you plan to have a lot of downtime and spend it at the motel you will probably be disappointed. Also, note that both inns are on Olentangy River Road so make sure you know which hotel has your reservation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from bellefonte, pa

Rock on the Range

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: I liked having a door to outside and good ice machine.
Cons: Continental breakfast would have been nice. Maybe assigned parking according to room number.
Location: Went to Rock on the Range. A few restaurants and shops close by.
Housekeeping was lacking. Lobby coffee was decent. Good overall stay for the price. Parking was ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visiting a friend who was undergoing heart surgery

Posted May 24, 2014
Very convenient to the Ohio State Medical Center. Very reasonable price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was close to stadium

Posted May 22, 2014
Hard to communicate with some of staff. Toilet didn't flush properly. Shower was either to hot or cold couldn't get to adjust
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chris from kentucky

Nothing fancy

Posted May 20, 2014
Plain bare bones hotel. Everything was clean. Not enough parking. Mattresses need updated, really uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

rotr

Posted May 18, 2014
safe location. quick drive to columbus crew stadium.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from Georgetown, KY

Varsity inn North

Posted May 8, 2014
Cons: I would like to see this hotel offer free continental breakfast
Location: The area is not far away from downtown Columbus at all. No more than 3 miles. There is a great Mexican restaurant located right next to the hotel.
The only thing that I disliked about varsity inn north was that there was no continental breakfast. I booked this hotel through an outside website and when I got to the hotel the woman up front told me that booking through this common website can take up to 4 hours for our reservation to come through so my husband and I had to drive around for 4 hours then come back. Im sure this was not the hotels fault. Other than this our stay was very nice. had clean sheets and everything was very tidy. We would stay there again for the price and cleanliness!