Ratings based on 384 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frankfort, KY

disappointed

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Cons: hire staff that speak English, clean bathroom well. have bend down because shower stall has lip and you do not see it standing up looking at it.
mold/mildew in bathroom shower stall, maintenance man did not speak English, CRT TV, another room complained of TV being on- so noise travels between rooms easily
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room smelled, of smokerefrig. Broken froze everyt

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Smelly of smoke residue or spray cover up,, curtain rod broken so it would not close properly...refrig control gone so it froze everything in it, maid turned a/c to 55 degrees after cleaning so it was freezing in the room at night upon return..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

No-frills hotel in EXTREMELY convenient location

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Room was ready when we arrived and check in went smoothly. The room was clean, bright, and functional. For a no-frills hotel, Varsity Inn does very well. If you want a fancy lobby, lobby bar, room service, and ambience, try a different hotel. For a safe, clean place to stay right next to OSU campus, at a REASONABLE price, then try the Varsity Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clare, MI

Thirty-One National Conference

Posted Jul 28, 2014
I plan on staying here again next year. It was great having the shuttle service into downtown, the staff was great. We asked for extra towels every day to place under our door at night, it was missing weather stripping and you could put your fingers under the door to the outside, just to keep crickets out :) The TV needed service every day and the staff was there right away to work on the problem. Overall, it was a great place to stay, very friendly!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy room

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Noisy room near pool - which must be great as it attracted patrons until after 2am
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad experience

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Keep maintenance personnel on call
Toilet tank was not refilling in the morning and no maintenance personnel were on duty, had to wait nearly two hours for service. The next afternoon the toilet bowl was leaking and floor was wet; toilet required replacement.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Location: We went to State fair
It was ok but short for us but nice when in and around
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Would not stay here again. There was no hot water in my shower. Big nasty stains on the blanket and a stain on the hand towel. I threw the hand towel on the floor because of the stain after house keeping came they put the same stained towel back on the sink. Left 1 night early and demanded a refund. On an up side the clerk apologized and refunded 1nights stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Campus visit trip

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Proximity to OSU
Cons: Update and remodel.
Location: OSU Campus
To check in to the hotel, there is a drive-through, which was convenient. They gave us a room in another building on the back side about 40 yards from a railroad track. We were 2 females (mother/daughter) traveling, so this was a safety concern. The building had peeling paint and when we entered the room is smelled musty and like smoke, although it was a "non-smoking" room. The carpet was old and worn. The bathtub faucet leaked ALL NIGHT. Trains came by every hour for the first 4 hours until at least Midnight. If you are a female, and have certain standards, I do not recommend this place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando

A Place to sleep

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: I did not like anything.
Cons: Everything could be improved.
Location: If i had more time to explore I would have liked to find more things to do.
Upon check in it was clear the staff was not very knowledgeable. Couldn't answer my questions without going through at least 1 other person. The room looked clean but upon further inspection you could tell it hadnt been cleaned in awhile. The only thing i can say is that it was a place to sleep and im glad i wasnt staying any longer than the weekend.