Ratings based on 389 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Confirm your Expedia reservation

Posted Jun 21, 2015
I booked a two night stay, but plans changed. Only needed one night. Room was prepaid so I couldn't change the reservation. That's ok. Expedia saved me enough to make it worth it. Called hotel and told them I would be coming in a day late. No one updated the computer and when I went to check in my reservations had been cancelled and they tried to charge me for a room. The manager did correct the situation but it took 30 minutes just to check in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ms

nice staff great breakfast.

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: staff and breakfast
Cons: if the pool had been open
Location: it is not directly near a lot of stuff but does have a small shopping area within walking distance.j
the overall stay was great. the only problem was the pool was being painted and the hot tub was not working properly. we were informed when we checked in about the pool but were told hot tub was working. the hot tub was hot just the jets did not work. the staff was friendly and helpfull. the breakfast had a wide varity and tasted very good. The staff did say the hotel was undergoing renovations and i am sure when the renovations are complete it will be great.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Didn't know the hotel allowed Dogs . Like the Breakfast menu.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Columbus Hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2015
The room was old and very traditional. Room service only made bed and emptied garbage. There was spilled drink and crumbs left on carpet. The shower was not clean. The chair in room was soiled. The front desk receptionist was very nice. Loved the popcorn and fresh baked cookies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2015
It is a convenient location to stay in northeast Mississippi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short Trip 1 night

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness of the room
Cons: NA
Location: resturants in the area
It was a short trip with an overnight stop. Nice clean room, good breakfest.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntsvile, AL

My Daughters Wedding - NO HOT WATER!

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: They could have had hot water or even a staff maintenance person. They could have offered me and my family something for our extreme discomfort.
My wife, mother-in-law, my oldest daughter & her husband, and myself booked two rooms here because it was close to our youngest daughters wedding and Wingate by Wyndham's reputation. Things were pleasing until we all started getting ready at 0800 for a 1600 wedding. My wife said there was no hot water. I went to the desk and they said there were booked full and everyone was taking a shower at the same time. Thirty minutes later I went into my daughters room and she said they had taken cold showers. I went back to the desk and the lady said they would call someone to come out to look into it but it would be a bit before they got there. Being an ex-facilities maintenance engineer I offered to look to see if the system was operational. She did not know were it was located. I went back to the room and we heated water in our K-cup coffee maker, transferred it into the ice bucket, and my 77 year mother-in-law and 8 month old grandson were able the sponge-bathe in the sink. My wife and I bathed with cold water and washcloths. An employee even told my daughter they "sold out of hot water"? When I went to checkout the staff offered no compensation for or inconvenience. On a better note, the wedding was beautiful and fun even if we all felt yucky! I will not stay there or any other Wingate again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by Tammy Roddy, Hotel Management
I do sincerely apologize to you and your family for no hot water. We did have our whole hot water system go out on us. Being a Saturday, we did have a laps in time getting a plumber on site to address the issue promptly. I also apologize for the front desk not offering any discount to you and the incorrect reasons given to you for no hot water. I assure you this was addressed. I am glad that the wedding after all of the inconveniences you and your family had was beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay.

Posted May 4, 2015
It was a good room for the price. The hotel was in a quite area right off the higway easy to get to and in a safe area.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by Tammy Roddy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: The front desk staff personnel were nice. It had a nice workout room.
Cons: The cleanliness of the hotel room and bathrooms.
Location: The MWU is close by as well as several restaurants.
There was pink mold all around the bathtub caulking and tiles. There was a latex balloon that had been popped and was stuck to the ceiling. Otherwise the hotel was fine. The breakfast had a limited choice with no healthy options (e.g. no skim milk, light yogurt or bananas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alabama

Better than the marriott

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Courtesy bottle water in fridge
Location: Right in the heart of everything
Me and my family love this hotel.. Can't wait to come again