Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Transportation Service within the Resort was great.
Cons: WiFi service expensive and unreliable.
A 4-5 hour drive from San Jose airport...be sure your car rental has GPS! Overall a very nice resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Totally relaxing experience

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Spacious, comfortable rooms, wonderful friendly staff, tropical ambiance, personal attention.
Cons: Expanded wine selection.
Location: Only took one tour to Monte Verde. Beautiful location and extremely competent driver and knowledgeable guide. No animal or bird sightings, however.
The Royal Club Suite was roomy, quiet, and convenient to pool and beach. Service for any request, room service, drinks, etc., was quick and very satisfactory. A dedicated concierge, Errol, took care of any questions or arrangements, including dinner reservations and special requests, as well as welcoming us on arrival, explaining all our options, and escorting us to our accommodations on arrival, and to our departure location. The availability of transportation to any area of the resort was amazing - a shuttle appeared within minutes on request from any location. We enjoyed dining at all of the restaurants. A totally relaxing experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Lovely resort

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Lovely property, pools, excellent service and very friendly, helpful staff.
Location: Many excursions available. Depends what you want to spend.We did the trip to Monte Verde cloud/rain forest. Long day, but enjoyed it! Bring a jacket!
We just returned from a very enjoyable week at the Westin Playa Conchal. It's beautifully maintained and the service is outstanding in every respect. The property is huge, but getting around is no problem as there are always shuttles available to take you wherever you want to go..never more than a 5 minute wait. We rented a Royal Club Junior Suite, which was lovely, clean and comfortable..The Royal Club is more expensive, but worth the price as it includes advantages such use of a private pool, lounge and restaurant for breakfast and lunch - also free WiFi anywhere. The pools are large and gorgeous; however,if you're going there for the beach, you'll be disappointed. There are no oceanfront rooms and only one access point to get on the beach. Since all beaches in Costa Rica are public, other than having resort attendants to bring out a lounge chair for you, you're on your own. There is no service on the beach and no cabanas or umbrellas are available. That said, it's a very pretty setting to take a walk or sit and read/relax - just bring your drink with you. A few vendors do come around, but they're not annoying. The Italian restaurant was our favorite - very good! The others are fairly good as all-inclusives go, but not great. Forget the international buffet. Manglar is not among the all-inclusives,but if you're willing to pay a hefty upcharge, it's excellent. Overall, we had a great time...would definitely recommend the Westin to anyone going to Costa Rica
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grossly overpriced, overrated, flawed experience

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: If you are happy to throw money away in a haze of pina coladas and sun, this place is for you. Otherwise, it's scandalously overpriced and overrated.
Cons: See above. For a true all-inclusive experience (at half the cost), go to Mexico. I'm Writing this review only because the hotel has not responded
I am not in the business of writing negatives reviews just for the sake of it, but I feel compelled to in this case. Here is what you get for an exorbitant nightly rate at the Westin Playa Conchal: - No WiFi in any of the restaurants or bars. No WiFi in your room, unless you pay extra for it. - An inefficient concierge service that involves driving you around the resort dropping other guests off at their rooms and waiting for the concierge to explain the room to each guest. - No food or drink service to the pool lounge area, apart from a cart containing three soft drinks, which only passes by if you complain. - A default response of “No” or “Sorry, we can’t” to almost every request you make. This includes requesting something as simple as a sparkling water from room service. - Marauding coati (raccoon-like mammals) preventing you from eating in peace either at the pool or on your porch. - Excuses for everything (Why the food is served on paper plates, why the coati are on your porch, why you can’t have a smoothie, why the cart can’t collect you at the pool, etc. etc.). Solutions for nothing. - A poolside menu that aims as low as it can (burgers, pizzas, hot-dogs). No local cuisine or variety. - A sprawling but actually quite limited food selection at the breakfast buffet. Again, very little local cuisine. - (Not all, but some) restaurant and bar staff who act like moody teenagers when you ask them to do anything that goes slightly beyond their job description.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

A Great Escape

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: The restaurant choices and their quality of food was spectacular. The beach and the pool were also marvelous. The wildlife was also a hit!
Cons: The scheduling of dining choices. Some choices were fully booked.
Location: The ocean front location was stunning. We took an ATV tour of the area which was very enlightening. We also took a day trip into Tamarindo.
My wife and I had a very relaxing vacation at the Westin. The people are wonderful, the food is outstanding and the setting is fabulous!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ticos

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Costa Rica is beautiful! Westin management needs help. All inclusive but no wait staff at pool for some guests , as waiters walk by with one drink on tray . Ridiculous . Thought food was excellent. Reservations were difficult. Room service should expand menu.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Lovely hotel very well maintained

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Layout of the property. Adult only area. Golf course. suite design. architecture of pools
Cons: need snacks at bar and rooms helpful pool attendants adult pool nightlife
Location: Close by is nothing of interest. 2 hrs away it gets interesting and you get to the mountains and life begins anew/
The hotel staff are all friendly and go out of their way to be of help with the exception of those at the Royal Adult Pool. They are so rude and lazy; it is a shame to have them as they ruin the review which is otherwise excellent. For an all inclusive hotel, the restaurants are good. We had one that we did not enjoy, but it is a matter of personal taste. The rooms are clean, good housekeeping and nightly turndown service. Room service is good and timely. Everyone is so pleasant and helpful. You cannot help but feel relaxed from the moment you arrive until you leave. Your assigned concierge makes certain you want for nothing. Our dinner reservations were made for the week the first day we arrived as well as any questions answered regarding any tours we might be interested in taking. We were even advised regarding which ones were worth the money. Costa Rica is beautiful, interesting, relaxing, and fun place to visit. There is so much to see and do, you need to go back many times. The Westin is a lovely and well priced place to stay when you do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2015
I would give the Westin 4 out of 5 stars. We didn't have any problem booking restaurants like others mentioned here (we stayed 1/3-1/10). The restaurants were good for All Inclusive with some dishes better than others. The new restaurant Manglar is excellent and well worth the money. The portions were huge, food and service were excellent. Most of the service at the other restaurants were decent as well except for the French restaurant. There is one male server there (won't say his name) that we had a horrible experience with both times we dined there. It was so bad that the second time he forget about us completely and we ended up having to order our dessert with another waitress having waited over thirty minutes for it. The pool is crowded and we woke up everyday early to reserve our chairs and never had a problem. We were surprised at how many families with young children stayed here and if we stayed here again we would definitely stay at the Beach Club for a more adult vacation. We used the tour company through the hotel for our excursions and they were great and their prices were the same as the guy that hung outside at the beach. Overall, this resort was nice with good food for all inclusive. The beach was nice and pool was beautiful. There were a few problems with the room but they came and fixed it each time we called.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Location and fantastic pool....service, not so muc

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: The pool is fabulous...big and clean. We didn't have any trouble finding chairs, and loved the swim up bar!
Cons: Service, service, service....and the reservation system
Location: Beautiful beach, we booked activities with Eric Garcia outside the hotel. Be sure to zip line, jet ski and take a 4-wheeler ride
Our first all-inclusive...and I wouldn't do it again. The service was super inconsistent. Getting an order correct from any of the restaurants or room service was a crap shoot. Only about a 1/3 of the employees we interacted with seemed to genuinely care for our comfort and satisfaction...the others clearly did not care, and in some cases were just down right rude. A cattle drive mentality for sure. Upon arrival, I called the concierge to set reservations for dinner each night. I did after seeing on tripadvisor that reservations could be difficult. Well, I was told when I called that there were NO reservations to be had. At any of the 6 restaurants. For any of the next 5 nights of our stay. What!?!? After becoming pretty forceful, they magically came up with spits for us each night, though they were at an early 6pm....I didn't care. But to have to beg for them? The system obviously needs work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Superb hotel and staff.

Posted Dec 2, 2014
I want to thank all of the Westin staff for exceeding all of our expectations for a memorable Costan Rican wedding. From the time we arrived at the resort we were greeted with friendly smiles and staff that was very professional. Our concierge John at the royal beach club was unbelievable. He brought my wife specialty smoothies in the morning, found her sunglasses and was very attentive to all our needs for our entire stay. I also want to thank Yoel and Heidi for doing an awesome job organization our wedding. Every detail from the beach ceremony to the reception and dinner was perfect. The captain at the dinner and wait staff were excellent. Errol at the front lobby was very helpful and professional. He helped me contact my brother who lives outside of the hotel and always made sure we had transportation. Our room was always very clean and the food was at the Westin was superb along with all the servers and cooks. We had the best experience of our lives. Thank you to everyone at the Westin.