Ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

A fantastic farm stay

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: The welcome and the breakfasts.
Location: Great walks, lots of National Trust properties. Easy access to the Peaks. Great countryside.
Yew Tree Farm is a great farm stay in beautiful countryside. The welcome is exceptionally friendly and Sheila, the owner is very friendly. There are cows chickens and ducks outside your window. You can't get closer to a farm stay then this. The breakfasts are fantastic! We came up for a wedding and stayed for an extra day in order to explore the area. There is a plethora of information available in the guests sitting room on what to do and where to go. We found a delightful walk out from the farm and also vidited a couple of the local National Trust properties. A really enjoyable break.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve from Bristol

Lovely location

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: Country location, the cows, goats and ducks, and the warm welcome.
Cons: The en suite
Location: Lovely country location. We had a meal that evening at The Harrington, just a short drive by car. The food was excellent, and it's a really nice pub.
We stopped off at Yew Tree just for the one night on our way up to Northumberland. It is a lovely spot and the old house is full of character. Our host was very welcoming and offered tea and cake which we thought a nice touch. Our room was a bit disappointing as fairly small compared to others we have stayed in, but the main problem is with the en suite. The toilet is squeezed into a space between the wall and shower, so narrow that even if you are a very slim person you would have some difficulty 'finishing off'. I am average build and struggled, my wife is a little wider and well, need I say more!She was not happy!! Basically, the en suite needed to be at least 12" wider. Breakfast was shared with another couple and was very nice without being anything special. In short, if we were passing that way again we would look elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by Paul, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It’s good to hear that you enjoyed your meal at the Harrington and also appreciated other aspects of your visit. You are absolutely right in saying that the en suites are small and we are open and honest about our room sizes on our website. The Visit England Inspector, who visited a few days after your stay, continued our 4 Star rating with Breakfast Award and commented “Best use has been made of the space available.”(Referring to both en suites) and “This year has seen a new en suite added to the ground floor room which presents very well indeed.” Our award wining breakfasts are one of the qualities our quests love about staying at Yew Tree Farm and they have won us many fans and regular guests over the years. I enjoyed meeting you both and am genuinely sorry that you were not totally satisfied with your stay. From Owner Sheila Kidd
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 17, 2014
Such a lovely place to stay. Will book again. Location; people; farm animals; all good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gaynor from Kent

Nice hotel with friendly host

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: The breakfast was the best we have had for a very long time, there was plenty of choice and it was full of flavour of local produce
Cons: The hotel could do with some modernisation
Location: We were not there long enough to visit any local attractions
We only stayed for 1 night but it was most enjoyable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by lynda from bucks

B & B in a farm setting with lovely views

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Location: lot of National Trust places to visit quite close by
Only stayed one night but wish I could have stayed longer. Very comfortable and an enjoyable breakfast plus a hostess who gave us spot-on advice for our evening meal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Naomi and Mark from Ontario, Canada (Me), Newcastle, UK (Mark)

A "true" vacation away from the city

Posted May 30, 2013
Pros: When we were sitting down eating our breakfast, a cow walked by the window. It's on a farm, what's not to love!! :)
Location: It was very peaceful with signs of nature all around.
My boyfriend and I absolutely loved this place. I'm almost afraid to give it such a good review, for fear that we won't have a place to stay on our next vacation. It is truly a working farm and the farm animals are just outside the house you stay in. When we first arrived, Sheila offered us a hot drink and a slice of chocolate guinness cake (which she mentioned was an experiment) and it was delicious. A note for anyone staying there, if Sheila offers you something that she has baked, you HAVE to try it! We stayed in the smaller double room and I know some reviewers have complained about the size, but we managed just fine. If you're planning on spending a lot of time in your room, then I can understand (though if you have chosen to stay on a farm, then I gather you'd want to explore the trails), but the bed is super comfortable and we both thought it was perfect. Plus, the lounge is right next to the room, so we just spend our evenings watching television there. Honestly, Sheila is so kind that if you have any problems, just let her know and she'll be more then willing to help out in any way possible. I can go on and on about how wonderful we thought it was. I'll leave this last note: If you love nature, getting away from the city, excellent food (Mmmm....oatcakes) and a very informative helpful host, then this is the place to be. Thank you for everything, can't wait to return :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Location

Posted May 5, 2013
warm and friendly, with comfortable room and great breakfast.Farm surroundings made the whole experience different from our usual b and bs.