Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, Bit Pricey

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Hotel Room was clean and suitable. Good features with the gift shops and underground areas. We got charged for having 3 people which wasn't stated anywhere in the hotel information provided. Breakfast was expensive and disappointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lane Cove, Sydney Australia

Not an Underground Experience.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Beds were comfortable, room and bathroom a good size.
Cons: Hotel Staff being more accommodating. Facilty for late arrivals More realistic description of rooms, improve website expectations
Location: Old Timers Mine, lots of Opal shopping and galleries. Sunset Views
Hotel booked believing it would be an Underground Experience, and paid extra for the room because of that. In fact, the room was at car park level, with what seemed like fake walls to make it seem underground...very disappointing. Booking notification said that the room was reserved for us until midnight, however when we phoned around midday to confirm that was the case we were told that the reception desk closed at 10pm, we had to be there before then or we would need to stay somewhere else...we had already paid for the room! There was no night porter, or offer of leaving the key at the hotel bar so we could collect it from there...in fact when my partner asked "so if we arrive after 10 we have to sleep in the car?" The response was "Yes". Followed by, if you leave now you will get here in time. To ensure we had a room, we then drove for 9 hours flat to get there in time. Went to the Bar to see if there was any possibility of food, a light snack, sandwich for us and 10 year old son....despite the Barman explaining to the kitchen that we had just driven for 9 hours to get there on time etc, told that Kitchen closed at 9pm.....however we knew there were people still up in the restaurant....Not sure if these people should be in the hotel industry, believe they have a thing or two still to learn. Final issue - pool out of order, and this was one of the other main reasons we chose to stay here and not in some of the other accommodation venues !!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alice SPrings

Misrepresentation.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
I booked room for three adults. that was fine. The single bed for one adult was fine.. What I did not expect is for the King size (or queen or double) bed to be two single beds pushed together. When you advertise a bed size be true to the advertisement..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from Victoria

Really nice surprise

Posted Feb 24, 2014
We had a lovely nights stay in an underground room. The staff were lovely, the room was clean and it was a great experience. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by crm911 from Melbourne

Great location

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We spent just one night here on the way to Uluru. The hotel is well appointed with an underground museum, bar, slot machines, pool table, etc. The room was comfortable, even when it was 40C outside. It is close to restaurants so we didn't try the one in the hotel. Will be happy to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rachel from BNE

Fantastic underground living experience

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall comfy
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel needs new linen & paint

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is pretty much central in Coober Pedy and offers everything you need for a stop-over in the Opal capital of the world, or are driving to Uluru, or Alice Springs. Positive points: Fascinating underground pub Clean with no bugs Good-sized rooms Negative points: Old linen and towels Overpriced restaurant Needs a splash of paint in rooms Generally, a good place to stopover.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Salray from South Australia

Good hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
There is not a lot of choice of accommodation in Coober Pedy, and this looked to be one of the better hotels if not the best. The underground rooms were quite an experience, clean and equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, fridge and mini bar if required. The staff at the hotel were all very friendly. If I visit Coober Pedy again I will certainly stay here.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room for improvement

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Good points: - Hotel car parking is well off the street and feels secure - Right across the street is an excellent pizza restaurant which you can safely walk to - The barman in the underground bar was a nice bloke Bad points: - Room decor is tired. Beds had velvet throws and pillows which looked quite dirty - Showers have curtains and lack water pressure - Quoted room price of $255 is way overpriced. By way of contrast, the Hilton in Alice Springs is $130 p/n. - Room service food was disappointing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels.com