Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

A wonderful night's sleep

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Clean & convenient to our travel plans. Breakfast very nice set-up.
Cons: Bigger shower stall!!
Location: Basketball Hall of Fame, Dreams Park.
Was in Cooperstown to see grandson play at Dreams Park. Motel clean & inviting. Close to all our activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness.
Cons: Fix the toilet (room #1). Get a more kind person a front desk, he could let people who have reservations use a bathroom before check-in.
Location: Baseball hall of fame. Fly creek cider mill.
The first person at the desk was not helpful at all, we were on the road for a long time, even though it was before check-in he could have let my son use a bathroom he did not. The second person(Allison I think was her name) was very nice & helpful. The bathroom toilet did run all night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Quiet hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2014
We stayed here just one night but were very happy with the place. The room was clean, quiet and we had enough space for both of us. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was nice, and I think the price was good for what we got. We were going to the Baseball Hall of Fame which was a short pleasant ride away, and they had discounted tickets in the office which helped. I would definately recommend this Inn and would be happy to come back again if I was in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Comfortable Inn near the Lake

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Cozy setting
Cons: None
Location: Near Cooperstown and a fine dinning .
Enjoyed our stay at Hickory Grove Motor Inn. Comfortable, pleasant and very clean room in a cozy setting near the lake and a short distance from Cooperstown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice cabin-type hotel-beautiful view

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Loved the big picture window looking at lake, privacy and close proximity to Cooperstown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, Michigan

Nice hotel close to Cooperstown

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff at hotel. Nice continental breakfast.
Cons: Shower stalls were on the small size but difficult to improve as rooms were not very large.
Location: 5-10 minutes from Cooperstown with easy access. Nice setting of hotel with lake behind us.
Pleasant and helpful staff. with advice on what to do and where to eat. Clean facility with nice continental breakfast. Short ride to Cooperstown and all of its attractions.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor customer service

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Did not stay there
Cons: Better attitude
Manager was very uncooperative when I triied to cancel reservation 48 hours before arrival
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by Russ, Hotel Management
We are disappointed that you feel you had poor customer service. We would point out that this guest had no contact with the manager directly and I only spoke with Expedia.com customer service about your reservation. Our cancellation policy is 5 days prior to the date of arrival to receive no penalty after that is subject to a cancellation fee. Now we do realize that this is a strict policy compared to most hotels but we do only have 12 rooms at our lovely inn and we can’t afford to have a policy any shorter. This guest was made aware of this policy when booking and it is on the guest to read all policy when booking with us. We ask that our future guests please read all of our other reviews and most mention our wonderful staff.
1 out of 5
by brett from cooperstown ny

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Beds are uncomfortable small shower. No lake access. Not worth the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by Russ, Hotel Management
We are very disappointed to hear about your unsatisfactory stay with us here at the Hickory Grove Motor Inn. We would like to address some of the concerns mentioned by this guest. All of our mattresses have been replaced since 2011 and there is no mattress made that can suit every persons need. We do in fact have Lake Access, it is not directly behind our motel, but it is a short 500 feet from the front office door. We have a very clear map in our office of how to access our lake point and this guest didn’t take the time to ask our front office staff. The room rate that this guest paid was $89/night plus tax, which is the most inexpensive place located within driving distance of Cooperstown and being located on beautiful Otsego Lake. From the information we have received we do believe this review is fraudulent in nature. We ask that our future guests please read all of our other reviews as this review don’t represent our motel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christina from Boston, MA

Great room, great room, great people.

Posted Jun 12, 2014
I recently stayed at Hickory Grove and shared a room with my boyfriend and another couple. Space was a little tight, but four adults in a hotel room will be a little tight in most hotels. There was a daily, modest, continental breakfast in the office, and each day we walked in we were greeted with a smile and a recommendation for something fun to do in town and where to go for dinner. I have never stayed anywhere that had such personable, thoughtful, genuinely kind employees. The air conditioner in the room didn't work very well, but that was overshadowed by the great service we received. Also, as a bonus, we had access to the beautiful lake we had a view of from our room, and access to the indoor and outdoor pools at the Hickory Grove's sister motel which is about two miles up the road. We will go back to Cooperstown, and we will stay at Hickory Grove again. Thank you for helping make a budget vacation into a wonderful experience, Hickory Grove. We'll see you next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com