Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by Nathan from Stuttgart, Germany

First only in name - Staff & hotel are second rate

Posted Jul 10, 2012
Cons: The front desk staff with the exception of the manager and the older gentlemen, were awful
Location: The best part of trip.
First the good: The location was fairly good, close to Amalienborg Palace, the Kastellet, and the Little Mermaid. The manager was knowledgeable and helpful. The lobby was pleasant. The Bad: The hotel is tired and in need of a facelift. Rooms were in poor state of repair. We had a shower hose that sprayed almost as much water out of the side as it did out of the shower head. The "Deluxe" room which they showed online is actually the "Suite" available at higher cost - what you see is not what you get. There was no difference between the "Standard" and "Deluxe" rooms except price. Half the front desk staff were awful - two of them didn't know the hotel had an ice machine or refused to provide ice and wondered why all the Americans seemed to ask (blond haired man with pony tail). The manager set up one of the five hotel parking spots for us, but did not mark it in the hotel book (we paid). When it was time for us to depart, the (younger dark haired) man at the front desk said (with a smirk) there was a problem with my car being there and the spot had been promised to someone else. When I got to the car someone had let out all the air from one tire. The cap was on the ground near where hotel staff take cigarette breaks. Unbelievable that the DK TOP TEN guide listed this as a deluxe hotel (or listed it at all).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Carol from St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada

Copenhagen adventure

Posted Apr 27, 2012
Pros: Reception desk staff
Cons: poor cleaning conditions
Location: Location is excellent - across the park from the Little Mermaid & 2 blocks from Amalienborg Palace; one block from local train station.
The room I occupied was tiny, with a single-size bed, desk & chair, wall-mounted TV and bedside table. The ensuite shower room was adequate. On 2 occasions in one week, my room was not cleaned. I spoke to front desk about this and was given fresh towels for use overnight on the first occasion and received an apology; the second time, my bed had been made up, but the room was only cleaned at 5:00 p.m. when a housekeeper knocked on my door and asked for permission to clean the bathroom and replace the towels. The hallways were not always clean either. Breakfast was adequate. This hotel has neither bar nor restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2011 on Hotels.com
Bathrooms were not clean. Hairs in sink and showers and cracked tiles on shower floor. Breakfast room not available due to renovation in August! Why renovate in busy holiday season? Had to go to dismal bar next door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Saxmundham

Comfort Hotel Esplanaden - well located

Posted Aug 10, 2011 on Hotels.com
The hotel was in a refurb programme so we had to go to the cafe next door for breakfast, but that was ok and the room was ok. Service was patchy - some great, some verging on the surly. Tourist information and maps were on hand. We reported a defective bathroom light, but nothing was done (we later learned that there was no technician in that day and the hotel was full so no other room was available). Eventually we had to request a lamp, which a helpful staff member kindly hunted out for us. The location, availability of nice restaurants and general convenience were great, so recommended, but with some qualifications.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2011 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Convenience not quality

Posted Jun 20, 2011
Staff usually helpful except for one girl. Lets you store luggage after check out. Great location, but very limited services. No fridge, hairdryer, iron, tea making facilities, or bath mat in small room. No electric socket in bathroom. No travel aids eg shower cap, ear buds. Ok breakfast, but extra. Lift feels and sounds as if is going to die. We ordered the use of iron and were woken when it was available 6.30 am and a reminder at 7 am when we did not get out of bed to get it. Ok if you just want a bed and shower. Hotel offered no maps or tourist info in room
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2011 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Mar 8, 2011 on Hotels.com
Staff was very friendly. Coffee, tea, oranges and apples are included all day...the location si not that bad. a little bit expensive I think as the rooms are not that new!