Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Pleasant hotel, walking distance to everything

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Great breakfast buffet available early hours, convenient for those who want to get out and about early in the day.
Cons: Room was small, towels were rather old, but everything was clean.
Location: Near City Hall, Tivoli Gardens, and the main pedestrian shopping street.
Great location near the main train station, and a short walk to the center of the old city. Staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2014 by Eszter, Hotel Management
Dear Sierra, thank you very much for taking time to give us your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. It is lovely to hear thaat you were satisfied with our location and staff. We hope you enjoyed the wonderful city of Copenhagen! Kind regards, Eszter Szücs Manegement Assistant
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Great Location, No AC, Small and Noisy Rooms

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Location, staff support, breakfast buffet
Cons: A/C, elevators, infrastructure in general could be upgraded
Location: Copenhagen Downtown, Tivoli Gardens, all museums
The location is great, near all main attractions, the central train station and all public transport options. The lobby is well appointed and the rooms are nicely decorated. The breakfast buffet is good and staff is efficient and helpful. However, the rooms are very small and there is no A/C, which was an issue because I stayed there in unusually hot days. Also, the train stops nearby so the room can be noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for city centre

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Good breakfasts, free wifi
Cons: Proper cups/mugs for tea/coffee in rooms. Paper cups just not on!
Friendly reception staff, good left luggage arrangements
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

No Wi-Fi, no Air Conditioning

Posted Jul 9, 2014
The Wi-Fi was broken, there was no AC in the room and the paper thin curtains ensured I woke up at 4.30am with the sunshine blazing into my room. There are a lot better hotels than this in Copenhagen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Malcolm from London

Basic, clean, central and quiet

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Very central, nice size room with decent amenities and free wifi (fast and unrestricted). Clean and helpful staff
Cons: real cups in the room rather than paper
Location: very central, easy to get to from the main station and easy to access the lakes (in the middle of town), Tivoli Gardens and all the other main sites.
Hotels are expensive in Copenhagen and the Best Western Mercur is no exception, but it is at the lower end of the cost scale but does not lack in providing basic amenities, with a good sized room, very comfortable bed, spacious bathroom with a good shower over the bath, hair dryer, coffee and tea (paper cups, but decent quality paper!) and nice bed linen. I had an inside facing room which was quiet (uninspiring view, but it is in the middle of the city, very close to the station so this was to be expected) and the black out curtains were effective in giving the room a semblance of night and day even in the long nearly-summer daylight hours. There was confusion over breakfast booking because the Expedia website gave very wrong information about the cost of a room plus breakfast (indeed, Expedia have a lot to answer for in relation to this trip with very badly wrong advice about luggage allowance and not responding to enquiries) but the hotel was very helpful on this point on arrival. I could not use my Best Western loyalty card either because I had booked via Expedia. Overall Expedia so far on this visit is null point, whereas the hotel scored 4 out of 5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rebecca from Cheshire

Perfect for a trip to conference, or weekend

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: It was clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and polite but not too over friendly.
Cons: Not having paper and plastic cups in the room, I would have preferred a china or pottery mug and a glass.
Location: Close to amenities, I did not have the chance as I was at conference. Perfectly near conference area, and also very close to Nyhavn shops and canal .
This was a perfectly located hotel for a single traveller/conference in Copenhagen, or for a couple staying for a few days break. The room was fine, clean and comfortable. It was good to have free wii fi, the breakfast was substantial, the coffee was good. If you are going from airport you need to get off metro train at Norreport and get on regional train line to get off at the next stop Vesteport. You come out of that station and look opposite the colourful buildings and you will see the hotel. Easy. Getting around is not a problem once you have navigated this trip. Beware of the cyclists ! they rule the city with an iron bicycle pump...If crossing the road, always wait for the green man to light up. People are friendly and helpful. Overall a lovely city and well worth a visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann from Suffolk, UK

Short holiday in Copenhagen

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: The position was good - close enough to walk everywhere and I could watch the Tivoli fireworks on Sat night from my room. Bathroom always clean.
Cons: The drinks selection in the room. Otherwise everything else appropriate for a 3 star hotel.
Location: Too much to say as it was very convenient for most things - Tivoli amusements very close if you like that sort of thing
My stay in the hotel was enjoyable although the first receptionist was not particularly friendly and didn't even say 'enjoy your stay' or ask if I wanted breakfast each morning. The lady receptionist was much friendlier (she lives in Malmo) and very helpful. Contents of tea tray in room a bit disappointing so I collected tea and milk together with a proper cup each morning from breakfast. Only paper cups in the room and coffee creamer. Hotel in a good position and was clean and quiet. Train noises blocked out when the windows were shut - there was a fan in the room for when it got hotter in the summer. It was only 3 star so not as good as the Plus Best Western I stayed in last month in the UK in Midsomer Norton.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for the city centre

Posted May 1, 2014
Hotel was conveniently situated and free wifi was handy! Facilities were fine for the price but bed was uncomfortable. Terrible smell in one of the lifts. Staff were extremely helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Paul from Newcastle

Basic budget style hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is ok: a basic budget style hotel not far from Central station. Rooms are adequate if unremarkable. Free wifi was much appreciated. Rooms facing the railway mean you can't have the window open because of the noise but that wasn't a problem for me. Only let down was the breakfast which was very basic indeed and did not seem to be replenished so if like me you dropped by after 9am there was little left. In the end I decided to trap a bite to eat outside each day. Real shame given the high quality produce available in Copenhagen,