Ratings based on 343 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Staff & position near the canal
Cons: Air conditioning
This is a very nice hotel. Excellently positioned on a main canal. Very good staff, professional and friendly. Good breakfast, generous, plenty of choice and nicely presented. Our only quibble was our room had no air conditioning, it was very hot weather and so difficult to get cool air.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Local friendly hotel in quiet location

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location & interesting old buildings.
Location: Many interesting tourist attractions locally, some local eateries also off the main tourist trail.
Enjoyed time in this quiet location on the canal and in walking distance to Nyhaven and the centre of town. Lovely breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location, breakfast, decent sized room, clean, friendly staff.
Cons: Usually not needed, but it would be nice to have air conditioning for the hot days. The rooms can get a bit warm during Copenhagen "heat waves".
Location: Perfect location by the water in Ny Havn. Easy walk to the nearby attractions... Amalianborg Palace, Rosenborg Castle, Strøget, etc.
I have stayed at this hotel many times during each stay in Copenhagen during that past few years. Good breakfast, staff, and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel near to Nyhaven

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Clean and well furnished
Cons: More fruit at breakfast e.g. bananas
Location: Near Nyhaven, Royal Palace and little mermaid. Longer walk to Tivoli gardens and high street shops. Lots restaurants nearby, good Jazz club opposite
This hotel is very nice. Comfortable, clean and quiet. Staff were also very helpful. It is near to Nyhaven and not far from the Royal Palace. However Tivoli gardens are a bit of a walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C.

Loyal Fans

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The spaces are tastefully furnished; the staff is extremely accommodating; the breakfast is a marvelous array of fruits, cereals, breads, meats & chee
Cons: The computer in the lobby was in need of replacement -- the mouse barely made connection and the keyboard was no longer legible.
Location: This hotel is optimally situated for restaurants, shops, walking, biking, and people-watching.
We love this hotel. We stayed there on route from Sweden to Holland and opted to return there later. It is perfectly situated; it is clean; it is tasteful; and the staff are friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. It may not be for everyone, however. Though comfortable and tasteful, it is a budget hotel. The rooms are not terribly big and in our second room the hot water alternated with cold. The computer in the lobby was in need of replacement -- the mouse barely made connection and the keyboard was no longer legible. Having said all that, we find it a marvelous place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen from Australia

Good location and good value for money

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Stayed here for 4 nights and found the location near the harbour and a short walk to the main shopping and tourist sites was excellent. Only complaint was the bathroom floor flooding every time you had a shower and the staff not overly friendly but nothing really to complain about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from near Seattle

Best location in Copenhagen.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
We loved our stay at The Strand. The hotel is typical of centrally-located older buildings in Europe. Small, but not too small. But very nice, clean, not worn or faded, and the best location in town. Quiet too.
3 out of 5
by rachel from bath, uk

Really good location- very average room

Posted Jun 16, 2014
I arrived to stay for a weekend with my son who was also staying at a hotel nearby for a month. His was two star but much newer and very modern. My hotel was tired and the lobby/ breakfast area was down from pavement level with low ceilings and airless. I asked to change from my first room as it was so dark and looked out onto dingy walls. Thankfully the room was clean and bed comfortable but its in serious need of an update.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DeeDee from vancouver bc

Hotel on the waterfront

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Rooms updated with nice carpeting, granite floors & countertops in bathroom, very comfortable bed with duvet. Decent breakfast. Nice quality overall. Very close to Nyhavn & shopping. Definitely would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vicky from Dorset, England

Very nice hotel close to Nyhavn

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Good location, friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere & very comfy beds.
Cons: Some areas of the room needed a bit of TLC: minibar fridge needed cleaning, flakey paint & bare patches on carpet.
Location: Nice quiet location very near Nyhavn. Easy walk to shops, restaurants & general sightseeing. Easy access to buses & metro.
We have stayed at this hotel a number of times, both for short breaks and business trips. The staff are really nice and will go out of their way to help you. On this occasion we were travelling with our young son (age 6) so we booked a family room. This was fantastic as it was two adjoining rooms. Our son thought it was great having his own hotel room, bathroom and more importantly a proper bed rather than a sofa bed (which is the case in the majority of other hotels).