Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Geoff

Nice hotel, if you know what to expect

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and excellent location
Location: Close to the city centre and within walking distance of all the major attractions.
We booked this hotel to give us extra time in Copenhagen after the end of a cruise and overall were pleased. It's location is convenient - a 5 or 10 minute walk from most of the attractions in the city and the staff were excellent. They all spoke perfect English and couldn't have been more helpful. It makes a feature of showcasing some design pieces which won't be to everyone's taste and the room we were in comfortable but not large. We had a speciifically asked for a bath and there was one, but it was tiny (as some continental baths are) and the reception staff took a while to find a plug that fitted. There was some noise at nights from the main road and the club a few doors down, but it didn't spoil our stay. Overall we were pleased with our stay and I am happy to recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but trade off between noise or temp

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Well located in downtown Copenhagen. Nicely decorated and a decent sized bathroom. Free internet and safe in the room.
Nice size, decor and bathroom facilities in a hotel well situated in downtown Copenhagen. We were not right on H C Andersen, but just to the side. Even so, with the windows open it was very noisy and with them closed it was very warm - and this was in mid June. Nice option of forgoing maid service and receiving a resaurant voucher in return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Convenient location for guests arriving by train. Effective staff. Efficient operation. Room cluttered with chairs conforming to retro stylistic ambitions - clear space preferred. Rock band across the road killed "quiet room" request.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian

Good location, terrible manager

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Liked the art deco feel of the hotel and proximity to downtown attractions such as Tivoli gardens. All was mitigated by the cold manager at the front desk. Completely turned off by this guy!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A convenient, welcoming hotel

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: It would be nice if breakfast provision was more flexible for those of us who just require toast and coffee.
Location: See above
Central for galleries,museums etc. Ideal for trains to other destinations within the region and into Sweden. Useful cafe adjoining hotel and other sound restaurants within easy reach. Interesting hotel. Nice to be in one which is privately owned, modest, immaculately clean and has a history in the world of Danish furniture design. The staff on reception desk very helpful and pleasant. The hotel is a member of a green conservation group aimed at minimising waste. This does not intrude on ones comfort. Altogether a thoughtful and satisfying stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil from Switzerland

Surrounded by beautiful Danish Design

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Very nice and helpful staff + obviously... the great design
Cons: Damp small in the bathroom
We enjoyed a nice stay in the Jacobsen room, loved the design aspect and the view on the lively Andersen Boulevard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lesley from Sydney Australia

Charming hotel

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, very helpfull with good recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing. Well run hotel which makes you feel welcome.
Cons: All seems good
Location: Close to most transport and attractions.
Small cosy hotel close to Tivoli Gardens and main train station. Showcases Danish Design with furniture by well known designers from the past 100 years. Is within walking distance of many attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith & Jane from Lancs, UK

Very nice hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Good position, near to restaurants, close to the rail station, very good overall. We didn't eat at the adjoining cafe but it always had people there.
Cons: Can't think of anything to be improved other than having its own restaurant, but what they offer with the adjoining cafe works well.
Location: Very near to good restaurants, the railway station, walking distance to the centre of Copenhagen and Tivoli gardens.
Nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff. We requested a quiet room, we didn't have to remind them of this, they made a point of saying they'd put us in a quiet room. We would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kate from Reading, UK

Perfect location and spotless

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: If you didn't want your room cleaned, they give you £10 to spend in the cafe restaurant on the ground floor. Its all very eco friendly.
Cons: Really, nothing.
Location: As above - right in the centre. A 5 minute walk from Copenhagen Central Station which itself is 13 minutes by train from the airport.
I'm quite a hard person to please when it comes to staying away from home, but with this hotel I really can't think of anything that I would change. The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms spotless, the furnishings were 1950s and had such character, the staff were endlessly helpful 24 hours a day and the location is perfect. Don't worry one bit about it being on the main street in central Copenhagen, the soundproof windows are AMAZING and it is a quiet city anyway with most people travelling by bike rather than car. You are about 100m from Tivoli Gardens.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by chris from swansea

Hotel in the city center

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Central location to train and metro stations and restaurants.
Cons: Better wifi.
Location: Central to train stations and restaurants and shops
The hotel was right in the city center and only a 10 minute walk from copenhagen central station, so getting a train from the airport was very simple and cheap. Use google maps and you can't go wrong. The hotel is a tidy 3 star, it's clean and has comfy beds. The free wifi wasn't very fast and kept dropping out a lot. But it was better than nothing. We stayed in room 447 and it was ok but looked nothing like the pictures and seemed a bit old. We were facing the road and the double glazing kept the road noise out well. We had a problem on our third morning when we were woken up suddenly before 8am with a very loud whooshing and bubbling noise coming from the room next door. We couldn't work out what it was and when we felt the wall it was vibrating. We didn't like this so went down to reception to be told it must be the jacuzzi in the suite next door. We asked the woman on reception to come and see how loud it was it it was ridiculous, especially as we wanted a lie in. Apparently it's the only jacuzzi in the hotel. Luckily she gave us the keys to room 446 next door so we could move. This room was much nicer and looked like the pictures. Most staff were quite friendly and helpful. All in all a good hotel for the location and I would recommend as long as you don't expect a 5 star. Main point is to avoid room 447!