Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Somerset, KY

good location

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Location was good.
Cons: Everything.
Location: went to the titanic experience, well worth it and walked to the cathedral. Really not much to see or do except that.
It was not very clean, did not have toilet paper when we arrived. Looked like the room needed to be serviced. Dirty
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney Australia

Old grand hotel overlooking the harbour.

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Close to town and overlooking the harbour.
Cons: Food was pretty basic.
Location: Cobh is close to Cork and a good spot for exploring the regikn without being in a busy city. Lots of interesting shops and museums in Cobh.
Check in was efficient and pleasing. The lift was not working so we had to carry our bags up 3 flights of stairs. The room was spacious and clean. The hotel is quite old but pleasant and comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dublin

Don't Waste your time or money

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
I felt like I went back about 30 years to days when hotels in Ireland were not good, Food was awful, stodgy, eggs half done, room was something out of the 1950's, there was a slope in the room, the décor was appalling, bathroom was as bad, you had to hug the wall to get wet with the shower which was not adjustable, soap/shampoo cheap and nasty, curtains shocking, net curtains held up with plastic ropes/ties. All in all sleep in your car, or a park bench anywhere but here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas texas

We had a large room facing the bay

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: On the port so we saw cruise ship and other ships.
Cons: Parking was a little hard
Location: All kinds of things close by.
Old hotel but very nice and staff was great, room was perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom hertfordshire

very friendly hotel opposite espanade

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: very comfortable beds,home from home feeling in rooms,friendliness of staff who made our stay very enjoyable
Cons: curtains and hooks need replacing
Location: opposite esplanade,parks and gardens close by,heritage centre and titanic museum within a very short walk,very interesting information,newsreels etc
arrived a couple of hours before check-in starts and found that the only lift was out of order,was told check-in is not until 2pm.I explained that I arrived in accordance with plane times,and I was quite happy to go out for a couple of hours but could I leave my luggage in hotel?Attitudes swiftly changed and I was assured that lift would be fixed before end of day and a member of staff would be able to help by operating lift for me,I have respiratory problem and cannot tackle stairs..We found that heating was not working in our room on 2nd day,we were given portable heater and told it would be looked at the next morning,it was not.but another member of staff came to rescue and moved us into another room,On the whole we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the friendliness of majority of staff was second to none.we are planning to return at a later date,I understand that people can get a bit flustered when things go wrong
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom christchurch, dorset.

Great stay whilst in Cobh

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Comfy bed. Bath very hot water. TV& facilities.
Cons: Mini bar. Free breakfast!
Location: Irish bars& food outlets. Local supermarkets. Handy for rail station tiny walk. Titanic maritime experiences. Pleasure gardens. Shops. Ferry trips.
Great hotel would stay again. Oozing in character.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marettafrom Listowel

Not great

Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels
Location was great. Staff not so friendly. No hot water. Toilet didn't flush properly and water kept running long after flushing. Room was cold. Floors creaked and it was very noisy till around 2am due to bar downstairs. Breakfast was poor and food dried up. Waitress gave us two slices of toast between a couple. We asked for more. Tea/coffee was fine and came promptly. Overall I was not that impressed. I used a free hotel night voucher and only paid €6 towards the room. That's the only reason I was happy with our stay. Had I paid the full €70 for the room is have been well annoyed. We didn't spend much time there as we were are function and I got in at 2am and husband at six am. Ok for a few hours but wouldnt return. Tired hotel and in need of TLC
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovlely old style hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
I loved the history and old feeling of hotel with the key for the door and old lift. Only things disappointing was room was at back not looking at sea front and no facilities for late bar drink if needed, staff not too friendly when asked about option of this.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by geoffreyfrom charleville

great town sorry about the hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
the room was dirty and tired looking like the rest of the hotel. breakfast was ok location was great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bernie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels