Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Pretty disappointing

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Although close to centre, the hotel was in a rather dodgy part of town. Really basic room. Box spring had no skirt. Nothing of color in room. Sheets were very clean as was room. Carpet was iffy. Hotel itself was old and rundown. Bathroom was newish but base of stall was old plastic and mouldy. Breakfast was aweful. Staff were very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PEI Canada

Perfect b&b!

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Loved our stay here, beautiful location, owners and staff were wonderful!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Cons: Get some new mattresses.
This house was my least favorite. One of the beds had a huge dip in it and was very uncomfortable. Very tiny bathroom and overall room. No hair dryer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

A friendly welcome.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
The staff at Gabriel were most friendly, including providing detailed directions over the phone as to how to find them. My double room though small was clean and anything not already provided such as a hairdryer was readily given on the asking. The breakfast menu offered the largest choice of cooked options I've ever encountered. You would however need to be in reasonable health to walk up the hill to the guest house from the town centre though free parking is available onsite. I very much recommend this hotel and would return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A fair hotel close to cork

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Location and recommendations for restaurants such as gourmet burger and isaacs.
Cons: As above
Location is good. Hotel disappointing. The hosts were great and obliging but the hotel defin lacks the amenities it should have. Simple things like Kleenex in the bathroom have been overlooked and painting in common areas. If you do book a room then the 2nd floor rooms would be the only ones I would recommend. . The basement rooms are great if you do not mind getting up at 730 because this is the time the foot traffic starts above in prep for breakfast. You really cannot sleep through it. Not sure what they can do about this but should be considered. Not everyone on a holiday needs to get up at 730. This hotel just needs some tlc and it would be good to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel, beautiful private garden

Posted May 30, 2014
Location: A quick walk down the hill, past one vacant block, then great restaurant choices
Fantastic breakfast, great staff. That is all I can think of ... Why is there a requirement for a minimum number of characters. Some of us have fewer words than others
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne from Minnesota

Great experience, start to finish

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Loved Kathleen! The breakfast room is lovely,the food was great. The rooms were very nice and the laundry fees were much less than at other places.
Location: Convenient location to pubs, shopping, train station.
I had read reviews before we booked at Gabriel's House so we were looking forward to meeting Kathleen. She is such a delight! Very helpful with where to go and what to do, directions, laundry, you name it! Fantastic! The guest house is lovely, the food is excellent and fresh from the gardens and their backyard chickens. The rooms are clean, very comfortable. If you can handle the stairs, (no lift, three floors), stay HERE! Convenient located to pubs and downtown, all well within walking distance and "the hill" is not a problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heidi from Edmonton, AB Canada

Rebel County, Cork City

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Full Irish breakfast. Spacious bathroom. Cozy fair sized room. Comfy bed. Adequate heating. Dining area with coffee and tea. Staff availability.
Cons: The walk up the hill to Gabriel House is a little tough after a day of walking around or being on tour. Bus does go up the hill though, so try that.
Location: Flea market on weekends. Pubs, restaurants, quick marts, Fast food, shopping, Cathedrals, tours, lots of photo ops.
Ireland is absolutely magical and Cork is the cherry on top. The Gabriel House was staffed by the friendliest people I have ever met, and the building has such character and the rooms are cozy. There is so much to do in Cork City, and surrounding areas, so ask the front desk staff who are more than happy to help. They even called to book me a tour. Paddywagon tours offers the BEST affordable tours, and if you are a student bring student ID for a discount! There are brochures at front desk. Also ask which buses to take, the staff helped with that also. I did not rent a car, but I am sure they could help with that too. The area is safe, and going to a pub (LOTS to choose from) to enjoy live music is a must. The pubs have a friendly Irish, not club, vibe. I went for St. Patrick's Day and was able to walk downtown in 10 mins. to view the parade. Such friendly city people and great shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from Nottingham

Staff were Amazing

Posted Dec 11, 2013
Pros: good location, great staff
Cons: would have loved a kettle in the room!
Location: 5 minute walk from town centre
spent 3 nights here in December, all staff were amazing and my sons helped them daily with the chickens. great breakfast!