Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor

Posted Aug 17, 2013
I would not recommend staying here. Hotel was unkempt and dirty. We had a double bed that was advertised as a king size and incredibly uncomfortable. The mains water pipe went through our room so everytime someone showered or went to the toilet we had very noisy water rushing down the pipe! The room needed a proper clean as did the dining room (especially the tablecloths which were literally just swept down daily with a tea towel). We left a day early despite having paid for the night. I just wanted to leave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Idyllic location, character hotel needs de-clutter

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel has a long, private drive and is set in lovely grounds with peacocks roaming and large fish ponds. Upon entering the building I found it a little disappointing as it is very cluttered with a cheese plant taking over part of the bar. It has gone beyond character trinkets and desperately needs a de-clutter! I get the feeling that the owners have had it a long time and have lost interest, which is a real shame! With some TLC this property could be amazing! The saving grace were the room rates. If they spent some time tidying this place they could create a much better first impression and get much more for the rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vijfrom London, UK

ok but not for families

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: food in resturant
Cons: showering facility
Location: quite and peaceful but out of way for families
good place to rest for a night though overall place can do with a coming with an update most annoying was the bathroom, really tiny with the so called shower had no pressure at all thus almost impossible to have a shower media e.g tv can be upgraded to more modern flat screens tea and coffee making facilities in room need to be better no spoons or stirrers
4 out of 5
Recommended
by richfrom birmingham

Great location with fantastic food quiet and great

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Was down on business and was happy with my stay everything needed was available
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

per chi ha spirito d'adattamento.

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Abbiamo pernottato in due nei primi giorni di luglio.Una struttura interessante, con un discreto parco, un'antica pianta di Tasso e svariati splendidi pavoni che si aggirano liberi lanciando sonori richiami fin dalle prime luci dell'alba e anche se un po` si salva la parte "di facciata" è decisamente poco curato. All'interno si va da uno stantio stile old England al kitch con una punta di atmosfera da rigattiere; la nostra camera sotto tetto è molto piccola con letto troppo stretto e le molle del materasso che si fanno sentire,nessuna tenda atta a riparare dalla luce esterna, polvere,ragnatele,il cadavere di qualche insetto, gli asciugamani sporchi e cigliegina sulla torta: dopo aver fatto espressa richiesta di una stanza silenziosa, eravamo cullate da sinfonie di sifoni e autoclave oltre a quelle dei pittoreschi sunnominati pavoni. Tanto per non farci mancare nulla, il personale non brilla in simpatia e la colazione non smentisce l'andazzo generale; fate voi!!! Gix
4 out of 5
Recommended
by The Pugh family

Beautiful location, relaxing atmosphere.

Posted Oct 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay especially the log fires and olde worlde style. If there was one thing that needed attention in our room it was the cleanliness of the building, we had dirty windowsills, under the bed and also the lampshade were very dusty. However everything else was splendid and we would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Warrington

Fabulous Great Trethew Manor Hotel Liskard

Posted Jun 26, 2011
Fantastic Hotel with 30 acres of grounds, wild life in abundance and just loved the peacocks. The food is excellent and I will certainly be going back.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Worcestershire, UK

Great Trethew Manor Hotel - in need of a facelift

Posted May 4, 2011 on Hotels.com
We had booked 2 'superior' double rooms and on arrival were told that only 1 was available but that we were lucky that the Bungalow was free and we would be able to have that at no extra cost. This was a bit of a joke as it was tatty and very dated accommodation with a very old bathroom, many lights not working and although there was a tired looking kitchen there was no tea/coffee or milk. We had booked the superior room for a king sized bed but ended up with just a double bed. The breakfast was quite good but overall we were a little disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Southampton

Great Trethew Manor Hotel - great location

Posted Oct 8, 2010 on Hotels.com
The hotel has a lovely setting with wonderful grounds to walk in. Very olde worlde and although our room was quite small and did not have a view we were happy with the general atmosphere and found all staff members very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is well situated to visit the Lost Gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project as well Mevagissey and Newquay. The food in the restaurant is great and good value for money.