Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gloucestershire

Good venue to explore South Cornwall.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above re heating. Disappointing that our requests to 'boost' the central heating resulted only in a temporary solution each time.
Location: Plenty to see and do in this part of the country. Walking, N.T property visits, good restaurants, pretty town, lovely art galleries.
Higher Faugan is in an ideal position to explore S.W. Cornwall. The house is lovely and well maintained. The suite we were in was clean and well looked after. We appreciated the breakfast arrangement and noted that care was taken in providing a variety of content over our stay. Slightly disappointing was the reliance on an oil-filled portable electric radiator to supplement heating arrangements.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester

Not easily accessible but it is a nice place

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Nice family hotel. Very polite staff. You need to get instructions in advance how to get there. The post code and the Sat Nav are not helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Outstanding, secluded get-away.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Wonderful hotel in an out of the way location. Doug was a perfect host and the room was outstanding. We booked through Expedia, which did not adequately describe the unique breakfast arrangements, although they were perfect for us. Directions to the hotel should be more clearly stated in the Expedia booking information.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit inflexible

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Nice rooms and location
Cons: Rooms hot. Heating hard to control.
Location: Beautiful coast line and small fishing ports.
Very nice location. Manager a bit rigid / inflexible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lucyfrom London

Beautiful B&B just a shame about Penzance

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
First of all it's not a hotel. It's a B&B as there are only 4 rooms. The rooms were really big with its own kitchenette and comfy beds. Was all very modern and clean. Owner was friendly and gave good advice on what to see and where to eat. Lovely garden for you to sit out when it's sunny. Served a continental breakfast in your room which was nice. Penzance itself is not up to much a good place to base yourself and drive to places in south west Cornwall from there. Don't expect much if anything from the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bobfrom Retford

VERY PLEASED

Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
A perfect place to stay. Beautiful room with Continental breakfast. Well recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ronfrom Australia

Large room

Posted Jul 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, very quite and very clean. We arrived there at 2.45 and the owner made a point of pointing this out to us. Check in was at 3pm. Not the best welcome. However, superb accommodation overall. 5 mins drive to harbour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Howellfrom Buckinghamshire

Absolutely first class room

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great welcome, accommodation first class with nothing spared,excellent breakfast, they deserve 5 star rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barriefrom Sydney, Australia

Great hotel of historic importance.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
The hotel stands in its own grounds and was the home & studio of a local artist. Our room was spacious, scrupulously clean and well furnished. A continental breakfast with fresh fruit was provided daily and the room had a small kitchen, sufficient for preparing light meals. The hotel is situated on level ground at the top of a steep hill and accessed via a long narrow, private, driveway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location away from any noise

Posted May 30, 2014
Nice home, lovely room. Bathroom was very squashed but adequate.