Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Emily from Cornwall

Nye night out

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Me and a friend stayed in this hotel for a night out in Newquay on New Year's Eve. Perfect for what we wanted... Friendly staff... Basic room but clean. Nice area and only a £4 taxi into the town centre. Beach in short walking distance... Lovely!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
A well located guest house with an unusual esp of a bowling alley. A less than warm welcome, especially as we have a baby. We weren't shown to our room or cases carried which was a challenge due to the narrow staircase and lack of lift. It seemed a popular place to stay but this could be attributed to the location. Service at breakfast and in the bar was generally good and the bowling alley free to residents in the morning which was a bonus. However, the place has a lot of potential but is in need of updating - eg. no toilet roll holder, towel rail, or workable shower. Needs the Alex Polizzi treatment!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fran from Derby

Friendly, close to beach and excellent breakfasts!

Posted Aug 29, 2013
Pros: Staff, location, vegan-friendly breakfasts, atmosphere
Location: Porth beach, small village atmosphere. Mermaid Inn, a family-friendly pub with good food. Estrella Morada, great tapas and wine but booking essential.
We stayed at Porth Lodge this summer on a last minute trip to Cornwall, we hadn't visited before but thought that a hotel close to but a bit removed from Newquay would be a great base to start from. We didn't expect Porth beach itself to be such a beautiful spot, or for the hotel to be such a find! Our room was great, not huge but it had space to move around and everything we needed. The walls weren't the thickest but the atmosphere of the hotel is very family friendly, so a bit of background noise didn't bother us at all. There was parking where it was always easy to find a space too. As mentioned in the title, our favourite bit of the stay was their breakfasts, properly fantastic! We're vegan and they were very accommodating, meaning we still had a four course breakfast of cereal, a fruit salad with love and attention gone into it, fried english breakfast of veggie sausages, fried bread, grilled tomatoes, beans and mushrooms, along with toast and a selection of spreads. It was delicious! The staff were friendly and informative about the local area, with maps and information to hand. As mentioned, Porth beach is also a great spot with a huge sandy beach even at high tide. It's also a ten minute walk to Lusty Glaze beach, from which you can walk all along the sand to Newquay in about 40 minutes, exploring coves along the way. All in all we were thrilled with our stay and would definitely go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Londoner from London

Mid week break

Posted Aug 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
The owners were extremely nice and the breakfast was quite good. The fact that there is a bar downstairs makes for a nice night cap..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sumit from Greenford, London

Amazing stay..

Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
When i booked this place i was little worried that we would be far away from town centre and all the beaches in Newquay but it was in perfect location as everything was in walkable distance and one of the beach was just down the road from the hotel. when we arrived we were welcomed by the friendly staffs, we were way too early than the check in time but they did everything they can to make us feel comfortable and we checked in two hours earlier. The room and the bathroom was well furnished and fitted with modern equipments. The breakfast was amazing with their warm service in the morning and place with its old cornish decor felt i was lost in time. I definitely recommend this great B&B to all who are visiting to Newquay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by dave1o

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rich from Torquay

Very friendly service

Posted Jul 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel had a really nice olde worlde pub with great ales and ciders and friendly service. food was well priced and of a high quality and the breakfasts were fantastic. Very attentive service at breakfast and once youve finished you can go on to the free bowling! Great location for the beach and an easy walk into Newquay. We would definitely stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by K from Wiltshire

Breakfast

Posted Jun 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Unfortunately, as we had to be away early each morning for business reasons, we were unable to try the breakfasts. Instead we were offered sandwiches to take with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Helix from Hull

Nice room and staff.

Posted May 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was a bit of a walk to Newquay. A breakfast when a menu would help speed up service and ensure items were included which neighbouring tables were offered. it was quite unusual proceedings. Would you like yogurt, how about some cereals (which were brought to you in the bowl, rather than self service), oops would you like a cooked breakfast, oh and coffee? It didn't run smoothly perhaps because breakfast was between 8:30 and 9:30 only on a bank holiday so everyone arrived at 9:30. All tables were reserved and you had to wait to be seated and couldn't choose where to sit even if you arrived early. First impressions at check in were poor as the pub was noisy but once in our room it was lovely and quiet although people dining could see us in bed. The room was made up whilst we ate breakfast but I couldn't find a do not disturb sign. I didn't like this as I wasn't keen on my stuff being moved. The room also connected to a room with bunk beds which couldn't be locked but it was hard to tell if someone else could rent it separately. The light over the sink has a sensor, it is really annoying. I would have liked a later check out and breakfast as I was on holiday and wanted to go surfing (the main Newquay activity) and return for a shower before checking out. It was nicer than I was expecting for the price and as a last minute booking during a bank holiday. Overall they were good and staff were friendly. They could however make life easier for themselves at breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by jo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2013 on Hotels.com