Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from chesterfield

quaint hotel near the beach

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff and quaint atmosphere.
cosy bar in the evening, the food was good particularly the breakfast, which was freshly cooked to order and the service excellent and really friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport, South Wales.

Nice hotel close to Porth beach.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: The food, the staff, the bowling, the pool tables and the location.
Cons: Attention to detail, plug chain broken, shower head could do with the holes cleaning for a better shower or am I just being picky!!
The food in my opinion was spot on, very good portions, well presented and to good to leave any even thou it hurt, we had to ask for a reduced size breakfast and the evening meals we just didn't bother eating anywhere else in case they weren't as good. All the staff were great, one character could easily be taken as rude but actually had a great sense of humor and kept us both laughing and again was so helpful, thanks Steve (think his name was Steve) for making it a holiday for us. After breakfast we had a couple of games of ten pin bowling (free to guests) to burn off a few calories and plenty of help to set up the electronic scoring. Would we return, most definitely YES.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Very close to nice clean beach

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Good friendly staff. Passes breakfast test. But the whole place needs a major refurbishment. Rooms are dirty and need a good clean. Newquay is 20mins walk along a beautiful coastal path, may need a torch at night. Would highly recommend Newquay for holiday
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach, parking, good facilities

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Good experience. Love the 10 pin bowling. Good food in restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cox from Evesham

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The breakfast and welcome service in the morning was a delight. The Reception area was being refurnished which was well managed and not a problem to any guest or public house user. The only disappointment was an old leak in the main bedroom had a large mould mark on ceiling. f they could attend to this simple removal and broken lamp shade at same time scores would have been greater than a 4.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by jack

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Emily from Cornwall

Nye night out

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Me and a friend stayed in this hotel for a night out in Newquay on New Year's Eve. Perfect for what we wanted... Friendly staff... Basic room but clean. Nice area and only a £4 taxi into the town centre. Beach in short walking distance... Lovely!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
A well located guest house with an unusual esp of a bowling alley. A less than warm welcome, especially as we have a baby. We weren't shown to our room or cases carried which was a challenge due to the narrow staircase and lack of lift. It seemed a popular place to stay but this could be attributed to the location. Service at breakfast and in the bar was generally good and the bowling alley free to residents in the morning which was a bonus. However, the place has a lot of potential but is in need of updating - eg. no toilet roll holder, towel rail, or workable shower. Needs the Alex Polizzi treatment!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fran from Derby

Friendly, close to beach and excellent breakfasts!

Posted Aug 29, 2013
Pros: Staff, location, vegan-friendly breakfasts, atmosphere
Location: Porth beach, small village atmosphere. Mermaid Inn, a family-friendly pub with good food. Estrella Morada, great tapas and wine but booking essential.
We stayed at Porth Lodge this summer on a last minute trip to Cornwall, we hadn't visited before but thought that a hotel close to but a bit removed from Newquay would be a great base to start from. We didn't expect Porth beach itself to be such a beautiful spot, or for the hotel to be such a find! Our room was great, not huge but it had space to move around and everything we needed. The walls weren't the thickest but the atmosphere of the hotel is very family friendly, so a bit of background noise didn't bother us at all. There was parking where it was always easy to find a space too. As mentioned in the title, our favourite bit of the stay was their breakfasts, properly fantastic! We're vegan and they were very accommodating, meaning we still had a four course breakfast of cereal, a fruit salad with love and attention gone into it, fried english breakfast of veggie sausages, fried bread, grilled tomatoes, beans and mushrooms, along with toast and a selection of spreads. It was delicious! The staff were friendly and informative about the local area, with maps and information to hand. As mentioned, Porth beach is also a great spot with a huge sandy beach even at high tide. It's also a ten minute walk to Lusty Glaze beach, from which you can walk all along the sand to Newquay in about 40 minutes, exploring coves along the way. All in all we were thrilled with our stay and would definitely go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Londoner from London

Mid week break

Posted Aug 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
The owners were extremely nice and the breakfast was quite good. The fact that there is a bar downstairs makes for a nice night cap..