Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Nettes Kinderhotel

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Freundlicher Empfang, großer Gratisparkplatz, 10 Minuten zum Strand. Zimmer groß, allerdings ziemlich spartanisch eingerichtet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Gorgeous beach front hotel with great food & staff

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: The View and the food were the best.
Cons: You have to pay a small fee for the gym which think should be included for the rates you pay. not many Breakfast options after 9.
Location: Tintagel is a must; it is about a 45 minute drive, you could spend around half a day there and I would say it is the most beautiful place in UK!
We stayed at the Sands for our anniversary weekend and couldn't have had a better time. The hotel was lovely, our room was huge, the staff were very friendly and the view was great. I personally didn't like the town centre however it is so easy to get around to other towns and villages that this wouldn't stop me recommending to others. There is a lot to do within the hotel however as our weather wasn't great we didn't try this out. Also, we don't have children however the facilities for kids looked great and I noticed a babysitting monitor in our room.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel mit schöner Aussicht

Posted Apr 17, 2015 on Hotels
Das Hotel liegt etwas entfernt vom Ortsausgang und hat den Charme der 70-ger Jahre. Das Personal ist hilfsbereit aber nicht sehr professionell. Im Haus gibt es keinen Fahrstuhl für Gepäck etc. Die Zimmer sind einfach eingerichtet. Das Hotel ist hellhörig und ein Spielparadies für Kinder. Der Blick aufs Meer ist super. Es gibt ausreichend Parkplätze.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Brilliant family short break

Posted Apr 11, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect for families, with lots to keep the kids occupied.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Great, family-friendly hotel near the beach

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: The large comfortable rooms catering for families, the food, the indoor pool, the softplay area for little ones, and the staff.
Cons: Some of the facilities and rooms could do with an upgrade, for example the tv was very small. Although we enjoyed our stay felt it was quite expensive
We stay at Sands for 2 nights in March. Unfortunately the weather didn't permit us to enjoy the beaches but I can see that they would be normally wonderful. The hotel is great at accommodating for children - they have a soft play area, indoor pool, playground, kid's mealtimes, a baby listening service (which we didn't get a chance to use), etc. Being a "resort" I kind of expected it to be a little nicer in general but nevertheless enjoyed our stay. We ventured over to the Eden Project one day which was only a 30 minute drive. I read that there are lots of other fun things to see and do even closer, though we didn't get a chance with the limited time and weather. I also recommend booking dinner in advance, the food was great and it's much cheaper than paying on the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

lovely break, just look out for the hidden extras

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was fantastic apart from the evening meal menu choices. We paid for the 3 coarse meal in advance, there was not much to choose from so we had steak and then was told we had to pay a surcharge for the steak (an extra £27 in fact, and that was on top of what we had already paid) there was also suppose to be a free glass of wine with the meal and we also got charged for them as well. But the food was stunning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Madaline from Nottingham

Lovely Stay

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Great staff and facilities! Wonderful view from our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Sands Hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed at the sands resort for a long weekend as a family during Autumn half term. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The staff were all freindly and helpful. The food was slightly disappointing and the service over dinner a little chaotic. Overall though, the hotel makes a very good base for exploring a wonderful area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton

A 1-star faking it as a 3-star at 4-star prices!!

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: A list of nearby sites of interest was provided with telephone numbers. I visited a recommended restaurant and had a good meal there.
Cons: Guest comfort, food quality and general hospitality need a complete overhaul. Proper training along with improving the experience (noise reduction).
Location: Newquay gave me access to the Cornwall peninsula and provided enough pleasure to make the 5-hour trip from Northampton to Cornwall worthwhile.
As a constant traveler, I have stayed in some 40 hotels across Europe this year, and this establishment was one of the worst I had stayed in. Upon arrival, Reception staff started off with apologies for advertised amenities not available. Full payment was demanded in advance and my leaving one day early explains why. Upon checking out, Reception staff were discussing credits for other guests. In the early hours of my first night, I seriously contemplated going to sleep in my car.The shower over the bath did not flow and seemed like a member of staff was standing at the bottom floor with a hand pump squirting short blasts of water onto you. No heating in room, a thin too small duvet and hard pillows made for a very uncomfortable night. If loud flushing toilets during the night, noisy corridors and paper thin walls with screaming kids are your fancy, this establishment is for you. Breakfast was inedible. No glasses for juice, and when glasses were finally supplied, the Orange juice tasted like dish water. The Bacon tray was empty and people had to queue for about 10 minutes. The Pork sausages tasted like cardboard.The utensils were so hot one could not handle them and the coffee tasted like it was brewed about a year ago. The good reports/ratings this establishment has been credited with, escape logic, which is why I thought it would be a good hotel. A HUGE mistake and an awful experience. I simply could not continue to enjoy my long weekend and returned home on Saturday.