Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Didn't feel welcome

Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
I had read the reviews, and was prepared for the basic standard and small rooms - and glad I was prewarned, so that was fine. Was disappointed to find owner made us feel so unwelcome, that has never happened before to us. Excellent location, absolutely beautiful and we had a lovely couple of days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by D Kemp

Quality

Posted Sep 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
Really nice surf spot, great food, nice bar!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by R munroe

beach stones throw away

Posted Sep 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
We expected a "small room" as described on site but not a 4 foot bed for two adults. The Mattress should be replaced or a cover fitted, we had to place a thick blanket (throw over) under the bed sheet so as to stop the springs digging into our backs. The first 4 nights were the most uncomfortable, then we had the idea of using the "throw over" The Hostess was nice and helpful but that does not make up for 'sleepless in Seattle'
1 out of 5
by Miguel from Kent

Bad experience

Posted Aug 30, 2012
Pros: Sea view (not from the room)
Cons: Cleanliness and comfort
Location: Fistral Beach, Newquay, Cornwall
Very small bedroom, especially for a double bedroom. Room was very cold in the first night, so I needed to sleep with a jumper on. Cups available inside the room were dirty. Shared toilets without sink and walls and doors are requiring some attention. Shower had not enough water pressure. Corridors were smelly and the floor, despite the carpet, was irregular and very noisy. Time of breakfast very limited (8h30 - 09h30).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not for me!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Jun 8, 2012
Pros: The view when sitting outside
Cons: Toilets, bathrooms, no curtains
Location: close to fistral beach
I booked last minute and had a budget room. It was very small and had to share a bathroom with a few more rooms. The toilet/bathroom had no opening window or fan. Only a blind at the window, no curtains. The sun came through the window a treat The hotel seemed more like a bedsit accommodation rather than a hotel accommodation. The view when sitting outside was beautiful across the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

Not impressed

Posted Aug 18, 2009 on Hotels.com
Room was tiny, very tired and basic there was no bulb in the shaving light and the handle on the toilet sliding door was missing you had to put your finger in a hole in the door to open and close it. The room smelt of toilets and the shower hot and cold was back to front. When we booked our confirmation said we had full breakfast, nothing was mentioned on arrival so I went to enquire the following morning and was told that there was an extra charge of £5pp for full breakfast and it had to be ordered the night before and you would be given a time when it was ready. After hearing from the owner how you only get continental breakfast and how inconvenient is was for her blah, blah, she eventually agreed to provide full breakfast, we waited 15 minutes (which wasn't a problem) then was told breakfast was ready, I would have been really angry if we had paid £5 each for this as it was a rip off . The price paid for one night in this hotel was a complete rip off, the only good point is the view of Fistral beach from the front of the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly and on the Seafront

Posted Jun 11, 2009
This is a family run hotel right on Fistral beach - so far as I'm aware the UK's no'1 surfing beach. It doesn't compete with the grander hotels on the other side of the bay or with the more modern and larger places either side of it(Germans in one, Seniors in the other...). However if you are looking for a base from which to enjoy a surfing break 1.5km to the town centre, on the front and reasonably priced then this is the answer. I took my ten-year old to learn to bodyboard and paid extra for the sea-view (best value seafront seaview room on a surfing beach I could find).