Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel,nice and quiet

Posted Sep 12, 2014
We were blessed with the weather- the evenings were chilly so pleased that the heating was turned on. Must admit was disappointed with the breakfast-the bacon and sausage had obviously been cooked sometime ago and had been kept warm as both those items were hard. It would have been better to fresh cook the breakfast, we would have been prepared to wait. Would have appreciated a grab handle in the bath/shower as I found it a bit worrying getting in and out of. The staff were friendly and helpful and the animals were lovely. The food in the restaurant was outstanding. This is our second visit and we will definitely visit again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ripley, Surrey

A little disappointing

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Secluded, set back off the main road.
Cons: Decor in room and facilities dated in Room 10.
We stayed at the Crooked Inn on a whistle stop trip to the west country . Perhaps we had been spoilt by our stay the previous night at Fernside Cottage B&B in Tiverton. The accommodation was adequate but had no Wow factor. Did not experience the food at we were eating in Plymouth, but the prices looked expensive. Ok to crash in overnight, but would look elsewhere for a longer stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, Kent

Business visit

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The location and the animals.
Cons: More toast with ones breakfast would be nice (as standard without asking for some).
Location: Working at HMS Raleigh, Torpoint.
Frendly staff, nice location and good wholesome food. Nice to see a family frendly hotel along with the ducks, geese, dogs and other animals. Good parking and plenty of space for children to play safely. Rooms are clean and tidy, the twice I have stayed there I have had an excellent shower with plenty of hot water with a good pressure (some hotels have neither).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Lovely hotel close to many places of interest

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: The laid back friendly atmosphere coupled with clean tidy rooms and lovely friendly staff
Cons: From our point of view - nothing!
Location: Crooked Inn in quite area down private road. Lovely picturesque beaches/coves & villages nearby. Eden Project 40 mins. Caves/Mines nearby to visit.
Lovely friendly accommodation - we were greeted by friendly staff and shown to a lovely beautifully decorated spacious room overlooking the courtyard where we stayed for 3 nights. Our rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels provided. Breakfast was excellent with several cooked choices and also cereal, fruit, juices and yogurts. We had evening meals for 2 nights and again these were plentiful and again excellent. Overall, we had a great stay, where our little dog was also made very welcome and we also had the pleasure of meeting the resident ducks, the dogs including Bella the lovely beagle, the pony and cats! Many thanks to the owners and staff of the Crooked Inn for making our stay something to remember - we will certainly return if we are in the area. xxx
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely stop on our way to Somerset from Cornwall

Posted Aug 20, 2014
The room was great, clean and welcoming. The staff were helpful and friendly. Both our meal in the restaurant and breakfast in the morning were excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel/Inn
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Quiet & safe location.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, spacious, clean rooms. Good beer & great food. Friendly staff :-)
Cons: ... Not sure, I'll think about it for the next review
Location: Quiet location, you need transport to get anywhere.
I really enjoyed my stay here. Down on business for 10 days. I couldn't book anything in the Barbican area & frankly glad I couldn't. 2 colleagues who did had their cars broken into on consecutive nights... The staff are very helpful & friendly, the beer is really good & the food is amazing :-) I said "I'd go back again if I was back in the area..." I am, I back next week, guess where I'm staying ;-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Utrecht

Comfortable and pleasant hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly atmosphere and lots of choices for a nice meal on the menu.
Location: Daytrips to Tintagel, St Ives, Land's End, Dartmoor
We planned twee nights and stayed five nights in this hotel because of its convenient location from which all of Cornwall's attractions can be reached in a day trip. Furthermore the inn attracted lots of visitors in the evening, coming for a meal or a drink, which gave it a pleasant atmosphere. Staff was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Devon

Ideal for Exploring the Rame Peninsular

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Location, it's a pub...so husband walked the dogs ready for bed and came back with a pint!
Cons: Rooms are a good size but the decor is dated, towels and toiletries could be improved
Great Inn, very hospitable. Great value meals both evening and breakfast. Hosts very friendly. Liked the jug of milk for tea. Room just off the courtyard so not very secluded but there is a certain charm to walking up to geese!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marion from Nottingham

Pleasant surroundings

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The surroundings and laid back atmosphere and animals
Location: Not far from the Tamar bridge, convenient because we have friends living nearby
Very helpful and pleasant staff, lovely to be able to take the dog, breakfast 'belly busting' and delicious, lovely experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dean Spiller from Tewkesbury

Another excellent stay at the Crooked Inn

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have stayed at this hotel before and find it excellent. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the food is excellent and I would highly recommend the full rack of ribs. I like the fine system in place for mobile phones in the bar, as this makes for a proper bar atmosphere.