Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris from Cheltenham

Location Location Location AND Service

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Chilled, great staff, good food and just the best location. This is what Cornwall is all about, truly exceptional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Midland Travellers from Birmingham

Romantic escape

Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location, small but luxurious rooms. Fantastic service and great quality dining. Parking adequate and walks along coast second to none on coastal paths. Just right distance to have lunch in far off hotels and get back in 5 hours of walking. Downside was carpet stains in our room and marks on the material headboard of bed which could have been easily professionally cleaned given the cost of the stay. Best value were the meals which at £60 extra per couple rivaled prime dining nights out in Michelin star locatons. Do not eat anywhere else whilst staying there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A sweet hotel in a beautiful setting

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: The staff; the peaceful, authentic Cornish setting
Cons: We were a little disappointed with the food, but it was still very good
Location: A great location from which to explore Cornwall. We went to the Minack Theatre, Padstow, St Ives, Jamie Oliver's 15 - all within easy driving distance
The Lugger is a sweet hotel in a beautiful setting. The food is very good, but not first class (but it doesn't claim to be). The atmosphere is peaceful, relaxed and very welcoming. Rooms are tastefully furnished and very comfortable. Extra touches like cake left in your room in the afternoon, hot chocolate with marshmallows, a weather forecast, and an amusing story to greet you when you return from dinner, add to the feeling that you are a welcome guest. The staff are amazing - nothing is too much trouble. If you are expecting a 5 star hotel you will be disappointed, but if you are expecting a warm, welcoming, Cornish hideaway, you will be delighted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by phb from N.Devon

Great Location

Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
You get what you pay for. Not 5 star, but extremely good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jules from devon

romantic getaway

Posted Jul 23, 2013
wonderful location and of course wonderful weather - the recent heatwave helped to make it perfect. To sit outside with a glass of wine and watch the boats in the harbour was superb. Portloe is very tiny but very pretty and peaceful. It is also beautifully kept - every house immaculate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by KWP from Knebworth, Hertfordshire, UK

Lovely treat for our wedding anniversary

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Pros: Felt completely tucked away from every day rat race.
Cons: Made to feel bad for choosing to eat at the village pub on the second evening.
We visited for our 10th wedding anniversary, and what a treat it was. The hotel is in a lovely position, directly on the slipway, in a small village. Our room was in a separate building at the back of the main hotel, simply but tastefully decorated, plenty of room, with a comfortable king size bed, bowl of fruit, jar of boiled sweets, fresh milk and bottled water in the fridge and some shortbread biscuits. The bathroom was big, with a huge bath, which filled quickly with lots of (very) hot water (much needed after a long day walking the coastal path) There is no phone signal in the village, however the hotel have free wifi available and they were also very good at putting our children through for our morning wake up call! We ate in the restaurant on the first night. The menu is not vast, but the food was good, if a little overpriced, but the view over the cove from the table was beautiful. At night, they have a turn down service, along with hot chocolate and marshmallows, the following day's weather forecast and a joke! The breakfast consists of a nice but simple continental selection and a cooked to order menu which I didn't try. Unfortunately on our second day, they were unable to offer cooked breakfast, and the management didn't seem to be around to appease or offer apologies (probably trying to sort the kitchen issue!) As we left, we were given bottled water and boiled sweets for the journey home. The staff were all very attentive and friendly, sad to leave!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bolo from Midland

Lovely boutique hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was small and very individual ,beautiful place and great location. Will definitely return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by schlotte from London, UK

Perfect

Posted Feb 24, 2013
Pros: Log fire, wonderful breakfast, brilliant staff
Cons: having to leave
Location: Small fishing village, hotel is yards from the sea. Great pub in the village. Beware the winding lanes!
Extremely friendly helpful and welcoming staff. Special touches to pamper guests. Fabulous location yards from the sea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Romantic and tucked away.

Posted Oct 22, 2012
Pros: The staff are super friendly.
Cons: Small thing but not enough sockets in the room. Had to unplug the fridge to plug in the hair dryer.
Location: Tucked away in a beautiful location. Great coastal walk adjacent to the hotel. Probably not good if limited mobility.
The hotel is in a very beautiful location for a real getaway break. We were given an amazing room with sea view with a king size bed. After checking in we went out for dinner with friends and when we returned to our room, the bed was turned down, hot water bottles slipped between the sheets and hot chocolate and marshmallows were waiting for us. What a treat! The next day we went to the restaurant for breakfast after watching the fishing boats go out from our bedroom window. We had read on reviews that there was no hot breakfast. How wrong! We had delicious eggs benedict cooked to perfection. As we left, we were given bottled water and apples to keep us going on the journey home. We really felt looked after. The staff were really kind and thoughtful with a great sense of humour. We will definitely be returning soon. Just a note, there is no phone signal. Perfect!